We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to See and be Seen”

Mamita's Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mamita's Beach Club is undoubtedly the Mexican Caribbean beach club par excellence. With 650 ft. of the best beach in Playa Del Carmen, Mamita's Beach Club provides services and comforts of first quality to their guests: modern restrooms equipped with air-conditioning, showers, kids pool, an area with massage service, and 300 deck chairs and 100 beach umbrellas for rent, towels as well, a boutique where you can buy beach accessories and souvenirs (Mamita's Store - Gift & Clothes), parking lot with valet parking, Wi-Fi service and private security. You can have breakfast and/or lunch at Mamita's Restaurant which is open 365 days a year and can host 100 dinner guests. Our menu offers an important variety of meals for all tastes, and a bar with delicious drinks and cocktails, national and imported drinks.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Go to See and be Seen”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is for the glamorous set. I had fun watching everyone on the beach but it is definitely touristy. It wasn't my thing but I can see that for many this would be the place to be. There are loads of beach chairs and a pool and parking and drinks. If you spent money for food or drinks or a chair there was no charge to park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stephany38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    357
    183
    104
    107
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crap”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Your money and they are way to dumb to know it. Day one go have a ok time for 100 us no big deal expect to pay. Day two sit at beach chair no one comes for over an hour to get a drink or collect for chair. Have to go use the bathroom and gonna get charged 20 pesos. What a joke thanks you just lost 100 bucks a day for next 10 days. Found service rude and slow more worried about a tip than if your enjoying yourself.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgeS778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Playa Mamitas!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Playa Mamitas is a Hotel, Restaurant, Bar and everything else you would want from a Beach club. You can't miss this place on the beach, It has all white umbrellas, beds, and there will probably be A LOT of people hanging out having a good time. I have only been here during spring break so I can't speak for year round but March-April is CRAZY.

Be sure you get there early in the morning if you want an umbrella and some chairs. Sometimes they require minimum consumption when it is super crazy or when they have special guest dj's.

Be sure to bring your flip flops, cash, and a smile because you will surely have a good time at playa mamitas. The drinks and food weren't overly priced for being such a nice place and on the beach. I think beers were like 3 bucks.. compared to a dollar on 5ta.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank elCubanito305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to find chairs/umbrellas/service on the beach”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'm used to $20 USD chairs in Miami, so when Mamita's asks for 30 pesos per chair and per umbrella - it's a bargain! (we have been going on the weekdays so far... the weekend was just a zoo)

Yes, maybe the chairs are a bit older, but you're bringing your own towel anyway to lie on! The man who collects the fee for the chair and umbrella is a no-nonsense sort of guy, part of the job I guess. He needs to crack down on the freeloaders and whiners and collect the fees.

This part of the beach around 28 ave is really nice, and the surf is very even, not a choppy break so swimming is easy. We tried a bit further up the beach, but some of the private beaches and hotels won't let you rent chairs/umbrellas from them. The music at Mamitas is good, and the buildings are new, and washrooms are very clean. There is parking for your car, small pool for kids, and an outside shower too. We thought the service was good, but I guess that depends on your server and the crowds too. Beer is 44 pesos I believe, but if you're dying for a cheaper drink you can walk up 28th to a taco stand for beer there - 25 pesos. The fajitas are good, not plentiful, but it's a convenient snack for 120 pesos.

Remember, you're at a beachclub to enjoy your time at the beach! I wouldn't fuss over slow service or paying a bit more because, well, life could be worse!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JandMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 days on the beach”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited Mamita's Beach Club for three days. The service levels were very good. The food is excellent and the drinks were very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 934TomE934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamita's Beach Club also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mamita's Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing