We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret hideaway with 5 star service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Ranked #70 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Secret hideaway with 5 star service!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I arrived early and were immediately walked to our suite by one of the owners. This boutique hotel is beautiful, romantic, quaint and quiet. It's also family owned and operated so we recieved 5 star personal and accomodating service for our entire stay. The rooms are spacious up to date and clean. Walking distance to Momitas Beach and one block to Avenida 5 is with many restaurants, bars and shopping. We would definitely come back this this hidden paradise!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2LOVEandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    121
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
100
152
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at Riviera del Sol for 10 days in Playa del Carmen. It was a perfect location for us. A short walk from the beach, a short walk to Avenida Quinta, where all the action is, plus it was quiet and beautiful.

The owners were so kind and helpful. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and there was a commom room upstairs that was very inviting. We went fishing and caught a HUGE barracuda and the hotel kitchen staff cooked it for us "en pappilata"! That was a highlight. Also the food at the hotel was excellent, a great price and the menu changed each day! The dining room was beautiful and the complimentary breakfast saved us lots of money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I have been staying at Riviera del Sol for years, starting in 2003. This is a great small hotel, very convenient location to both the beach and 5th Avenue. The hotel provides passes to Mamita's beach club which covers the cost of 2 chairs and a palapa. We stayed in room 105 this time, which is right next to the restaurant area. The restaurant turns on the music at 8-ish in the morning, which you can hear in the room if you are a light sleeper. You can definitely hear the music later in the day. Did not bother me, but if you wanted to get in an afternoon nap, you might find it disturbing. My husband slept right through it. The room itself was clean and comfortable, the bed was firm, but not rock hard, like some you find in Mexico. Our one gripe was the room had a distinctly musty smell. The A/C dripped onto the bedside shelf, and I assume this was the cause. The pool area is nice. I ate breakfast at the hotel in the morning, but we did not eat lunch or dinner there. This is the first time that I've been there that they have had a fully functioning restaurant. Overall, I recommend this hotel, and we will likely continue to stay there on future trips to Playa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurelHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We often tack on a a day or two in Playa del Carmen before or after we spend time further south on Soliman Bay near Tulum. This spring we spent both the first and last nights of our extended trip at the Hotel Riviera del Sol. This was our third stay there, and it remains my favorite *relatively* inexpensive hotel in Playa's North End. Note that prices have gradually crept up in the last couple of years. It remains a great value.

We like the included continental breakfast, which is just enough to get you going in the morning, as well as passes to Mamitas. The rooms have been lately spruced up quite nicely, as has the bar/restaurant area. It's bordering on chic! My son loves the pool and its recently redone deck. The people who work at the Riviera del Sol go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Juan Jose is a most gracious host.

But my favorite part of the Riviera del Sol experience is the location. It simply can't be beat for easy access to the beach, La 5ta and all the dining options in the North End. Plus -- and this is huge -- it's easy to find free parking in the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

This hotel has just 23 rooms. The rooms are quite big and very (!) clean. Nice and personal service. Just a few steps away from the beach. Next to quiet part of 5th Ave. Small pool. Nice restaurant, meals are delicious and good value for money.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gelegentlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We chose the Riviera del Sol for our accommodation while on vacation for two weeks in January 2010. This was our second trip to Playa del Carmen; our first time at this hotel. From the very moment we set foot in this charming hotel we were pleased with our decision to stay here; it is truly a ‘gem’ to be experienced.

Many thanks to Juan Jose and Melina for their help with our reservation and providing information about local interests and activities to make our vacation memorable. Juan Jose’s map of Tulum was our favorite souvenir – we took it with us when we visited this beautiful historic site.

What we appreciated about this hotel:
Most importantly, the friendly and helpful staff - they are the people who made this a wonderful experience; the hotel is very clean and well maintained; the rooms are comfortable, spacious, quiet, with good A/C and ceiling fan; the restaurant serves good food; and the location is superb – just a short walk to the beach, or a short walk to all the activities on Fifth Avenue.

Our stay included breakfast served in the lovely restaurant area by the pool. It consisted of coffee, fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, sweet buns, and toast. You can also order from the menu for a small additional charge. Alberto and Roberto were the waiters who provided excellent service and were very helpful with our limited Espanol.
On two occasions, after very busy days, we chose to have our evening meal here. It was so relaxing. We had the risotto and lasagne; both were very good.

Also included with our accommodation was a pass for lounge chairs and a palapa sombrilla at Mamita’s Beach Club, which is located on the best stretch of beach in Playa del Carmen. It was worth getting up early to watch the sunrise from here, then going for a long morning walk on this beautiful beach - very peaceful.

The following businesses in the area are worth noting as they contributed to making our vacation fun:
Mexico Blue Dream - a dive shop located on the way to the beach - be sure to check it out. My husband and son had such a great experience with their all day snorkeling adventure that they went on a second excursion.
Renzo’s Pizza - for a quick snack (and/or a game of chess) located a few blocks away on Fifth Ave.
Ambasciata D’Italia Ristorante - on 5th Ave is definitely worth a visit – good food and service.
Chango Internet Café - one block away on First Ave (request to hear Elizabeth’s cd – she has a beautiful voice).

We will stay at the Riviera del Sol on our next trip to PDC. Thank you to the management and staff who made us feel at home while we were guests in their hotel. We had a great time! Enjoyed our stay immensely!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We have stayed here 16 nights and it's so nice, clean and quiet. The 5th avenue is only 50 m away, but you can sit on your balcon and enjoy the peace. The beach is just one street away and you get a beachtowel and a cupon every day from the hotel, so sunbed and parasol is free on Mamitas Beachclub. The hotelpersonel is also so helpfull and if you need anything they will gladly help you. You also have free internet and it works fine.
We had a great stay and would love to come back another time ;o)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#39 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#54 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera del Sol

Property: Hotel Riviera del Sol
Address: 1a. Av. Norte y Calle 30 Nte. | Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera del Sol is an outstandingly beautiful hotel located in Playa del Carmen. Here you will enjoy a peaceful atmosphere accompanied by the warm, friendly, and courteous service the Mayan Riviera is famous for. Riviera del Sol is designed exclusively with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Each room has a private patio or balcony overlooking the pool and stunning garden area. Whether it’s just the two of you or your entire family, you will find that staying at Riviera del Sol is a truly exceptional experience - Welcome to the magic that is Riviera del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riviera del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Del Sol Hotel
Riviera Del Sol Playa Carmen
Hotel Riviera Del Sol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing