We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Hotel in a Superb Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riviera del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Ranked #74 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel in a Superb Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

We chose the Riviera del Sol for our accommodation while on vacation for two weeks in January 2010. This was our second trip to Playa del Carmen; our first time at this hotel. From the very moment we set foot in this charming hotel we were pleased with our decision to stay here; it is truly a ‘gem’ to be experienced.

Many thanks to Juan Jose and Melina for their help with our reservation and providing information about local interests and activities to make our vacation memorable. Juan Jose’s map of Tulum was our favorite souvenir – we took it with us when we visited this beautiful historic site.

What we appreciated about this hotel:
Most importantly, the friendly and helpful staff - they are the people who made this a wonderful experience; the hotel is very clean and well maintained; the rooms are comfortable, spacious, quiet, with good A/C and ceiling fan; the restaurant serves good food; and the location is superb – just a short walk to the beach, or a short walk to all the activities on Fifth Avenue.

Our stay included breakfast served in the lovely restaurant area by the pool. It consisted of coffee, fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, sweet buns, and toast. You can also order from the menu for a small additional charge. Alberto and Roberto were the waiters who provided excellent service and were very helpful with our limited Espanol.
On two occasions, after very busy days, we chose to have our evening meal here. It was so relaxing. We had the risotto and lasagne; both were very good.

Also included with our accommodation was a pass for lounge chairs and a palapa sombrilla at Mamita’s Beach Club, which is located on the best stretch of beach in Playa del Carmen. It was worth getting up early to watch the sunrise from here, then going for a long morning walk on this beautiful beach - very peaceful.

The following businesses in the area are worth noting as they contributed to making our vacation fun:
Mexico Blue Dream - a dive shop located on the way to the beach - be sure to check it out. My husband and son had such a great experience with their all day snorkeling adventure that they went on a second excursion.
Renzo’s Pizza - for a quick snack (and/or a game of chess) located a few blocks away on Fifth Ave.
Ambasciata D’Italia Ristorante - on 5th Ave is definitely worth a visit – good food and service.
Chango Internet Café - one block away on First Ave (request to hear Elizabeth’s cd – she has a beautiful voice).

We will stay at the Riviera del Sol on our next trip to PDC. Thank you to the management and staff who made us feel at home while we were guests in their hotel. We had a great time! Enjoyed our stay immensely!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    118
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
97
150
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

We have stayed here 16 nights and it's so nice, clean and quiet. The 5th avenue is only 50 m away, but you can sit on your balcon and enjoy the peace. The beach is just one street away and you get a beachtowel and a cupon every day from the hotel, so sunbed and parasol is free on Mamitas Beachclub. The hotelpersonel is also so helpfull and if you need anything they will gladly help you. You also have free internet and it works fine.
We had a great stay and would love to come back another time ;o)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOCAL
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

I recently completed a 10+ day stay at RDS, I was familiar with this property from a previous visit, but didn't stay until this past trip. The staff is very personable, friendly, and aware of there surrondings. The rooms are spacious, but very clean, efficient, beds are firm, but, still comfortable. have a small pool, but, if you want a relaxing day, instead of the techno/electronica beach action, this is relaxing alternative. Close proximity to several restaurants, lounges, etc. Most things are within a short walk anyhow. I've stayed in many different properties throughout my travels, budget, highend, all inclusive, etc. I even have 10+ years in the hotel biz- this place is perfect for an intimate getaway! The hotel is between 5th ave, and 1st st, they offer beach passes for Mamacita's beach club. The rooms are very quiet, very little traffic, street noise. I would personally give it aleast 3.5 rating to 4.0 for the overall value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbumvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a week in May for my best friends wedding. They had a small wedding party of only 50 people and everyone who traveled from the US and Canada was able to stay here. We booked all the rooms for the week except one, which was occupied by an older couple who spent the entire season there every year. We received an excellent group rate off of prices that were already reasonable.

My experience started with the hotel about six months in advance. As the maid of honor, I was responsible for booking rooms for several of the other guests as well. I started email correspondence with Alex, and then we began to talk on the phone the closer we got to the date. Check in was not a problem and rooms were clean and comfortable. My BF's dad lives in Playa and we've been traveling there on vacation for years. The hotel is located on the north side of 5th avenue. This is the newer side of the town that is still seeing a lot of development. It's just a block from the best beach, Playa Tucan, and you get complementary chairs at Mamitas beach club while staying here.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They accommodated all of our needs. We had a welcome pool party for all the guests one afternoon and allowed full access to the kitchen and breakfast bar. We also had a small bridal shower one night in the same area before heading out for the bachelor and bachelorette parties. The after the wedding it rained and we were too exhausted to move, so the front desk gave us some menus and we ordered food from a nearby restaurant that delivered.

The hotel is lovely and we spent a lot of time in the lounge on the second floor recovering from the previous night's partying, watching television, using the free internet, and gathering to make plans for the night when it was time for more partying. All the rooms have air conditioning, some have kitchenettes and they have spacious balconies that overlook the courtyard and pool. What was also great about this hotel is that north side of 5th avenue has a more laid back vibe. Staying in hotels on the other side of 5th Ave puts you right in heart of the beach clubs and party scene. It's pretty impossible to sleep at night down there!

Rivera del Sol is the perfect location for young, active people who want to have a good time in Playa, not stay in an all inclusive and get a fair rate for a clean, comfortable room with good service.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canwegoalready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

My fiance and I spent 6 days at Riviera Del Sol and LOVED IT!!!! The grounds are beautiful and the staff is so friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and always very clean. We had free access to Mamitas beach club which is one of the best spots along the entire strip (Great food also). The area the hotel is located on fifth avenue is great because it's where a lot of the local trendy people tend to hang out and has awesome restaurants and shopping. If you're not sure what's good or may be overpriced the staff is more than willing to give you the real deal on what's good and cheap. We didn't spend very much money and it was all thanks to some great tips from the staff. There are a lot of repeat guests at this hotel and I now know why. Another cool thing about this hotel is that you can walk up to the rooftop which has a great view and some chairs to sun tan (Although you will surely take the one block walk to the beach). We were in Playa for my sister's wedding and the majority of my family stayed at the Royal, but after seeing our hotel they all wished they would have saved the money to stay there. We aren't huge drinkers and surely can't eat enough food to justify staying in an all inclusive. With all there is to do and see on Fifth Avenue it's a waste of money in my mind. I'm so happy I searched Trip Advisor and found this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhoudek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

We went to PDC as a group of 6 people (all family) and wanted somewhere non AI, not too expensive but close to the beach. After some web surfing I decided on Hotel Riviera del Sol and emailed them and got detailed replies back fast. We booked three rooms for four nights at the hotel and got a nice discount.

The hotel was nicely decorated (Mexican style), fresh, no mildew, cracked tiles in bathroom, it felt like a new hotel, they must have renovated recently. The place was very clean and quiet. It's location is OK, one long block from beach and one short block from end of 5th avenue (restaurants and shopping for tourists). Normally we prefer hotels directly on the beach but they all charged more than double what Riviera charged us so not worth it.

Breakfast is simple but fills you up enough until lunch time. The hotel gives you coupons and towels for Mamitas beach club who has lounge chairs. Lunches at Mamitas were cheap and excellent. Try the fried fish.

If we were to go back to PDC we would stay at Riviera again. If you go to PDC, stay away from the restaurants on 5th Avenue, they are all tourists traps. Restaurants further away are better value, see my restaurant reviews here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g150812-i23-k2430143-Trip_report_with_reviews-Playa_del_Carmen_Yucatan_Peninsula.html

  • Liked — Price, rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pjsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
108 Mile Ranch, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

We just got back from Playa del Carmen yesterday and in my 13 times there i have never been moved to write a review. We found a really good deal for us on a flight and the usual place we go only had room for t he 1st night, so we took that and because we have been the Playa so many time we thought we could take our chances and find something.... It was poor weather on the 1st day so it worked out well for walking around and we checked out nearly 20 places some were very nice and some were not. From a purely Value standpoint the Riviera del Sol was the best value i have ever recieved for my Holday Dollar. The price is average to slightly less than average and everything else about the place is 1st Class. We met Alex on our 1st day of walking around and he was more than happy to come out from behind the counter and show us a few of the rooms...we later came to realize he might do just about anything you ask him to do. We then met Molina at the front counter and she was every bit as accomodating. Riviera del Sol is on Calle 30 which is near the North end of 5th Ave but it is only 1/2 a block off 5th near some of the best restraunts on the strip,just turn left when you come out the door. If you turn right you are headed to Mamitas beach, Alex or Molina will give you a coupon for 2 chairs and a Palapa and 2 towels before you head out about 500 yards to the beach which makes them the closest Hotel to Mamita's. Breakfast isn't fancy but the quality is excellent 3 or 4 cereals a couple types of toast and spread 3or 4 kinds of FRESH Fruit and Fresh Juice and i mean Fresh!!! and very decent Coffee. When you get back from the beach they have a central room on the 2nd floor with 3 or 4 couches and chairs and a TV overlooking the courtyard an excellent place for Happy hour before heading out on the town. We are lucky enough to be going back in Jan 2009 for an extended stay when i asked Alex about a possible rate for a long stay he introduced me to the manager Fabiana she was very appreciative of our current stay and more than happy to try to make us return. We booked our stay with them... The question you are asking by now How clean is it. Spotless they have some of the best cleaning crew in the business and it is obvious they all work as a team to do ANYTHING to make sure you enjoy your stay and i couldn't help but take a few minutes to share with anybody who is interested this is a FOR SURE on your list! While we were there all rooms were upgraded with brand new 32" Flat screens.
Cheers, Andy

  • Liked — Freindly Service
  • Disliked — Firm Beds
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#42 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera del Sol

Property: Hotel Riviera del Sol
Address: 1a. Av. Norte y Calle 30 Nte. | Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera del Sol is an outstandingly beautiful hotel located in Playa del Carmen. Here you will enjoy a peaceful atmosphere accompanied by the warm, friendly, and courteous service the Mayan Riviera is famous for. Riviera del Sol is designed exclusively with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Each room has a private patio or balcony overlooking the pool and stunning garden area. Whether it’s just the two of you or your entire family, you will find that staying at Riviera del Sol is a truly exceptional experience - Welcome to the magic that is Riviera del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riviera del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Del Sol Hotel
Riviera Del Sol Playa Carmen
Hotel Riviera Del Sol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing