We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Ranked #32 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I booked this little hotel on our last trip to PDC from 6/6/14- 6/1-/14. The hotel is small and nicely located. Overall we loved the hotel. The staff was great. Yanina was by far the highlight of our stay. She was so caring, friendly and polite. Her attitude made us feel incredibly welcome and comfortable. When we arrived to the room we were blown away! It was beautifully decorated for our honey moon. They put local flowers and chocolate on the bed, and they even had placed a bottle of champagne right beside it.

Pros:
- Yanina at the front desk was AMAZING!
- Small and cute little hotel, everything was neat and clean
- Delicious breakfast was included
- The room had a ceiling fan which we loved
- They gave us coupons to get a free beach umbrella and chairs at Mamita's Beach, which was at a walking distance from the hotel
- Mamita's beach was great

Drawbacks:
- There is no parking, so you have to find a street spot around the hotel (particularly hard at night when all the few spaces are taken).
- The hotel location was very good, as it was near the 5th avenue and close to the beach. On the same coin, since that are is so busy most of the time, you will hear some music in your room. Just make sure you close the door and the balcony and turn on the ceiling fan, then you should be fine. The noise did not bother us at all.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Playa and will come back to it in a heartbeat. Having a parking lot would make this hotel just perfect, as every time we go to Playa we do have to rent a car.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank msgarciamayorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 452 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The staff were so helpful with any questions we had and activities we wanted to book and we entered the room on the first day to find rose petals on the bed and a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us. It was such a treat after travelling all day. We also got massages at the hotel which were very relaxing. The location of Riviera del Sol is really handy to 5th ave if you like shopping and only a quick stroll from the beach. The breakfast each morning at the hotel was great and it was great not to be locked into an 'all inclusive' deal and to have the freedom to try the different food options in town. We found walking to 30th avenue meant we got a more 'authentic' mexican food experience and at half the price of the 5th avenue eateries. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone going to Playa del Carmen. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viverama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here May8-12, 2014. Nothing but great things to say about this hotel. Service, location, and rooms were spot on. I'm glad we didn't we didn't go the 'conventional' all-inclusive route. The beach is only a 5 minute walk and the staff is very good with recommendations.
Gabriella was simply amazing and exceeded all of our expectations.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in PDC. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcons727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Gabriella greeted us with a warm reception, personally showing us to our beautiful room on the first floor. The room was spacious, clean and wonderfully air-conditioned, a welcome relief from the heat outside. Complementary water was provided daily and an inexpensive mini bar was a convenient touch.

Our balcony view looked out onto the pool which was well looked after and a refreshingly quiet spot away from the crowds at the beach. In the evening the hotel was decorated with numerous candles around the pool and looked really attractive.

The staff at the hotel couldnt have been friendlier and provided excellent service. The buffet breakfast that was included was substantial with fresh fruit, eggs, beans and pastries and was available from 7am to 11am which meant that we were accommodated both for our early starts and lie-ins.

The hotel provided pool/beach towels, together with vouchers for Mamita's beach club for free use of their sun-loungers and umbrellas which provided an alternative option to the pool at no extra cost.The hotel bar served reasonably priced drinks which were good value too.

At no fault of the hotel, the surrounding bars started playing loud music between 5pm-8pm which we could hear in our room and occasionally the surrounding traffic was slightly disturbing during the night, but to be honest I think that is the nature of staying in Playa del Carmen and would probably be noticed no matter where we had stayed.

There was nothing that I could suggest to make our stay better and the 6 nights we spent here were very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open out straight beside the pool so for a bit more pricavy ask for a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have to start by saying that the complementary breakfast exceeded my expectations! It was simple but very delicious. I wish I had more time to try the brasserie. The rooms were nice and simple. The bathrooms could use an upgrade. There was almost zero water pressure and basically stood under the dripping shower head. The bed was a bit FIRM. Other than that I loved the spot. Great location. Near the beach and affiliated with Mamitas Beach Club. Also just across the street from Almirante Pech, one of my favorite restaurant/bar/lounge. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Try a rooftop terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scro830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

After a week in Cancun we really enjoyed staying at Hotel Riviera del Sol for two nights. The hotel is charming and well maintained. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was quite good considering it is free. The location is great, only a couple blocks to the beach and a five minute walk to the hub of Playa.

Would definitely recommned this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dblang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We just returned from Playa Del Carmen, stayed at Riviera del Sol. Usually we stay on the beach, so were a little hesitant to try this out, but we were pleased overall. Beautiful hotel, lush grounds, the rooms were exactly as pictured on the web site, very clean, pleasant staff. A huge bonus was the daily breakfast buffet, it was exceptionally good, many choices, and different offerings every morning. Loved the fresh fruit and juices! They will give you passes for Mamitas, its about a block away, not far to walk at all. You have to leave your room key at the front desk when you leave the hotel which seemed a little strange at first, but actually it was kind of nice one you got used to it, a form of security, plus not having to keep track of it all the time. We didn't use the pool, but its a nice option to have. A couple of the nights there was loud music coming from the bars nearby, but it really was never a huge issue for us, although if you are wanting peace and quiet this probably wouldn't be a good choice for you. Overall we would probably consider staying here again, we got a good price with early booking this year.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are more private, first floor opens directly into the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaverlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#61 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#27 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera del Sol

Address: 1a. Av. Norte | and Calle 30 Nte., Between 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $92 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera del Sol is an outstandingly beautiful hotel located in Playa del Carmen. Here you will enjoy a peaceful atmosphere accompanied by the warm, friendly, and courteous service the Mayan Riviera is famous for. Riviera del Sol is designed exclusively with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Each room has a private patio or balcony overlooking the pool and stunning garden area. Whether it’s just the two of you or your entire family, you will find that staying at Riviera del Sol is a truly exceptional experience - Welcome to the magic that is Riviera del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Del Sol Hotel
Riviera Del Sol Playa Carmen
Hotel Riviera Del Sol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing