We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice, Great Value, no Sand”
Review of Hotel Riu Lupita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Lupita
Ranked #78 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

End of January/ February we spent 2 weeks at this small resort. The buffet food was very tasty, so for us there was no need to make reservations at the restaurant. The staff was very friendly and honest, no worries to leave stuff at the pool. Mostly European clientele in this resort, down to earth and well behaved. The 2 and 3 story buildings are surrounded by a beautiful park- like garden with a semi private smaller pool, a chess area and a Kids' club for baby sitting. Saving many hundreds $ over the neighboring Rio Resorts make this quiet, well kept resort a great choice for people who do not like beaches with noisy Seadoos. Because of the international visitors, the bar offered rare drinks like Pernod and other specialties along with a great coffee.
They offer free half hour interval scuttle bus, first stop close to downtown, then private beach with a small pool and a bar / restaurant. We mostly stayed at the pool (I hate sand), went to town, to the public beach and the hourly ferry to Cozumel, all a few minutes walk. Massages are offered at $20/hr, but silver jewelry are offered at a high price you can haggle down to 40% of the asked price. Cigarettes, are a bit cheaper, but more than at the airport duty free. Food is extreme expensive at the Cancun airport. Most sightseeing reminds of Disneyland style attractions, but for nature lovers, there is a beautiful nature reserve just south of Tulum. We went to Coba, which had never been conquered by the Spanish. This trip requires a bit of waling (or bicycling taxy) and you can climb on top of the pyramid. The following swim in an underground cave with blue 24 degree water was awesome and the tour finished in a colonial style town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,847)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Lupita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 2,848 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is off the beaten path. If you are looking for a hotel that you check in and stay by the pool most of the time, then this may work for you. Entertainment is cheesy- they try hard though. They try to make people from the audience join in. Food was disappointing. If you go to other Rui hotels, you will see a BIG difference in quality. (although, you are not allowed to eat and drink at other locations -fyi) Taking the shuttle in to town was not difficult, but I didn't realize how far away the hotel was from the beach and downtown Play del Carmen. Not really convenient. We visited friends staying at the Rui hotels right on the beach in Playa Del Carmen. The quality of the alcohol and food was far superior then what they give you at the Rui Lupita. I would say save up more money and spend it on one of the Rui's right on the beach in Play! Worth the upgrade.
The staff was great at the Lupita. The room was quiet and ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravel7998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this cozy little hotel twice in the last two years, since our former favorite The Reef had gotten way too expensive. We will probably go there again, maybe as soon as this November. It's located in the middle of the inner side of the Playacar's loop road, away from the beach. if you enjoy walking, that's the place for you. Skip the shuttle to the beach and walk - it's about 40 minutes to the beach club entrance either way - the entire loop will take you 80-90 minutes.
There is one unwelcome change this year - you can no longer share amenities between the 4 less expensive Riu hotels: Playacar, Yucatan, Tequila and Lupita - they use different color bracelets now. That will affect Lupita the most, since it's farthest from the beach. I expect Lupita's prices to go down.
Try their spa - they usually have promotions on Swedish massage, and it's very good.
They also have tennis courts, and we had no problems booking them the same day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tankhimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The positives about this Hotel are the excellent staff and the fantastic beach. However, I have to say that the Hotel is in need of refurbishment - our room had various faults, air conditioning cover fallng off, door knob dropping off everytime you opened the door, large crack in the bathroom mirror, bathroom tiles and bath in poor condition to name a few. We had to complain after 7 days as our sheets had not been changed - they were not changed again in two weeks! The food was very often cold, was bland and repetative. Many of the salads contained food that was left over from lunch, The beach/bar restaurant food was of a slightly better standard. The entertainment staff worked tirelessly but the shows were poor - four shows were the same dancers doing different styles of dancing! The shuttle bus to the town and beach was always on time and the fact the hotel is not on the beach is not a problem. To sum up I do think that this Hotel falls far short of being 5* and would struggle to compete with some 4* hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Lupita from February 7 - 21, 2013. This trip was our second to the Riu Lupita. The Riu Lupita is off the beach but does offer a free shuttle service that stops near 5th Ave to drop off people and then continues to the Lupita’s beach club (in all it’s less than 15 minutes). Since our last visit in April 2012 they have added a small pool down at the Beach Club as well as full bar service there. In exchange for these new services, access to the other Riu properties has been removed.

Flights
After a less than impressive trip with Sunwing last April I have to say that I was quite pleased with them this year. The crews on both flights were very friendly which is a change for charter airlines. Oh, and the Elite Premium package – well worth the cost!

Check In
After the 50 minute shuttle ride, which was just our group, we arrived at the resort. As there were 8 of us checking in, it went really fast. We filled out a registration form, and were given our room key, safe key and towel cards.

Room
I had emailed ahead and asked for ground floor in building 18. We were not able to get rooms in building 18, or even in the same building. Those of us staying for 2 weeks were in buildings 16 and 17. The rest were in 12 and 21. The rooms have the typical set-up, double beds, dresser, TV, safe, etc. The rooms were clean and ready to go. In addition to the Air Conditioner (which works well), the rooms also have a ceiling fan. Our fan had 2 settings, on or off.

Our housekeeping person was good. The room was clean every day and that’s what matters the most. For some reason they flipped the main power switch each day after cleaning, but luckily the AC wasn’t tied to it so the room stayed cool.

Our rooms had a patio that looked back towards the golf course. Very quiet and provided an excellent place to watch wildlife that’d roam around out there.

Food
As with last years trip, the food was delicious! The buffet is a bit smaller than some other Riu’s but there never was an issue finding something good to eat. The staff were constantly refilling dishes at the buffet. A couple times we had to wait a minute for something but they were on top of things for sure.

Supper was always a different theme each night at the buffet so that was good. We got reservations for the Mexican restaurant once (we could have booked again but were too lazy). You need to book it the day you want it. There were 2 seatings, 7PM and 9PM. The food at both the buffet and Mexican restaurant was delicious.

Snacks – The snack bar is open and stocked between meals and after supper till midnight. We had a few things from the snack bar and never had any issues.

Beach Club – We ate lunch a few days at the beach club. Not a big selection but good enough. The one thing that is a negative is that I found the food didn’t stay hot, but I suspect it’s due to the winds on the beach.

NOTE: Supper at the Buffet: Men can wear shorts but must have a shirt with sleeves but we did see some men in tank tops – for some reason no one was turning them away. For the a-la cartes men are to wear pants.

Bars
There is one main bar and the Disco (at night) plus one at the beach club. By default they serve the cheap brands, just ask for Bacardi if you want the good rum. The beach club has been expanded to include full bar service now.

The Beach
We spent 4 days at the beach – it would have been more but day trips and self-inflicted injuries prevented us from doing so. It was the white sand, the water was clear and the breeze was refreshing. Loads of loungers around to make use of, though towards the end of the trip they were getting fuller.

Pools
We made use of the main pool each day of our stay. The pool is a good size and while the towel game is in use, we normally never had an issue getting chairs at around 9AM so we didn’t worry.

The resort also has an Adults-only pool next to the in front of the Disco plus a kids only pool in the Kids Club area.

They have also added a pool on the beach for Lupita guests to use. It’s not big but it allows you to use both the beach and a pool at the same time.

Entertainment
The resort offered live singers each night between supper and the evening show, they did a great job. We did see many of the shows and they were good. The Mayan show was the best by far – it started off slow but then it got quite interesting.

Activities
The Animation team posted a schedule of activities going on throughout the day outside of their control booth. Between us we took part in the dart tournaments, horse-shoes, bingo, bracelet making, and “Crazy Games”.

Trips
The resort has the shuttle that will drop you off near 5th Avenue – it’s about a 5 minute walk from the drop off. If you’d rather taxi it, it’s $7 USD each way. We spent a couple afternoons on 5th Ave doing some shopping and visiting one of the bars for a drink.

We also did a trip to Cozumel for an afternoon. The ferry was $13USD each way per person.

General
Signature Vacations advertises this resort as a 4 Star resort. I’d say it’s about a 3.5 Star.

Summary
We had another great time. All the staff were friendly and those who spoke English would often stop and chat with us. As mentioned above, the Lupita guests no longer have exchange privileges with the other Riu’s and in fact are not even able to walk through their properties – which is wierd.

Room Tip: Ask for buildings 16, 17 or 18 - close to everything but quite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bryanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel was good value for money - have stayed at many Mayan Riviera hotels and other Riu properties and this smaller property suited our vacation with friends just fine.

Stayed in Block 1300 which had been refurbished - somewhat firm king-sized bed, remote controlled air-conditioning - no problems with room or services offered (mini fridge, safe)

Buffet a little repetitive after 2 weeks but good selection of well prepared foods - all staff great and work very hard - good music at pool - one a la carte restaurant

Beach Club is the hidden jewel of this resort - free shuttle every 30 minutes to and from club which has pool, bar, grill and buffet, clean 'air-conditioned' bathrooms, chaise lounges with palm tree shading if desired and full access to beautiful beach - able to walk along beach to ferry dock at Playa del Carmen in 30 minutes - great breeze at beach

Golf --> Playacar course on hotel property - twilight rates $96 US all inclusive (after 1 PM) with lunch, carts, beer, drinks included in price - very challenging, reasonably narrow course in fabulous condition - greens well protected, multiple sand traps and water - beautiful design, visually very pretty - greatly enjoyed - book thru hotel and take shuttle bus to clubhouse
--> Grand Coral Course just north of Playa del Carmen on the property of the Grand Coral Resort - 20% discount to Riu guests $130 US between 6AM and 7 AM, $140 US between 7AM and 1 PM, twilight round about $120ish US - new since 2010 - .greens slow, fairly wide open, not good value for price - cab was paid by course for transportation to and from hotel - book thru Riu hotel front desk

Perhaps this hotel might be better suited for the over 30 age group - younger crowd seemed to head into Playa or to disco each night

Would return for relaxing budget friendly holiday destination again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lindaLLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

i have stayed at the riu lupita three times the last time in 2012. this hotel is a lovely tranquil hotel. there are two pools one of which is very quiet. also why is it a suprise to some reviewers that this hotel is not on the beach. do you just book a holiday without checking the hotel out first.the staff are fabulous and would do pretty much anything to help. i needed an iron and as the hotel ones were lent out the receptionist bought hers from home for me to use and insisted i keep it for the whole time i was there incase i needed it again. the food is very good with lots of choice. as for people moaning they cant go to other riu hotels why would you book a holiday in a hotel of choice just so you can visit other hotels and then get upset when this isnt allowed. go and visit some of the surrounding area instead its much more fun. yes the bar can get busy sometimes at night but you have to wait a very short time to get served as the bar staff are hot at their job.you are on holiday chill out and wait a while. i will always go back to the lupita in my opinion for the money you really cant beat it.

Room Tip: i like peace and quiet at night so ask for a room away from the pacha disco it can be a little noisy...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank motherrnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.6 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
677 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.4 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#85 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,716 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#56 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Lupita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Lupita

Address: Avda. Xaman-Ha, Manzana 20, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#81 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $141 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Lupita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 2 km / 1.2 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Main building and 1 and 3-story bungalows * Surrounded by 25,000 m2 / 29,900 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 3.5 Km / 2.1 Miles from the beach (complimentary transportation) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2.5 Km / 1.5 Miles from various shops * 50 km / 31 miles from Cancun Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Lupita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Lupita Resort
Riu Lupita Mayan Riviera
Riu Lupita Mexico
Hotel Riu Lupita Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing