We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, it makes the difference”
Review of Hotel Riu Lupita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Lupita
Ranked #80 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

First impression, not so good, the room was tiny, the hotel is old, the bathroom was dirty but we changed room and were pleased. Despite the fact the hotel is nowhere near the beach (40-45min walking distance, shuttle bus every 30 minutes), I think the hotel is well located. It's close to playa del carmen and we enjoyed not being locked up in our resort. The service at the hotel is very good, food is okay (as good as a buffet can be), and the beach is amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EloMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 3,033 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a perfect little resort. Little to nothing to say bad about this place. Check in was a breeze to say the least. The front desk staff are always willing to help with whatever questions you have. Free wifi in the lobby everyday for 90 minutes. You pick the time, the 90 minutes has to be used at one time, not broken up. They will help you log in the first time. The food was the best I've ever had at a resort. Lots of options and of course they serve mexican food...you are in MEXICO! I'm baffled by people who complain that there isn't enough American food. Aren't we there for the food/culture? I was worried about not being right on the beach but it turned out to be a nice change. We would walk to the beach (takes 30 minutes if you go one way, 45 minutes if you go the other) or the shuttle comes every 1/2 hour which is only a 10 or 15 minute ride. In addition, the shuttle drops you off and will pick you up near downtown playa del carmen...how convenient is that?! You can also walk the beach from the Lupita beach club to playa del carmen which is maybe a 10 minute walk. We did the Xel-Ha full day excursion to get our snorkelling fix. It was good also. We drank Mojitos most of the week...so refreshing! They keep your fridge stocked with large bottle of water, i think there are 4 or 5 in there at all times. You also get Pepsi, 7-up, Beer and soda water in addition to the full bar of alcohol in every room. It's an alcoholics dream! lol Keep an eye out for the coatis, cats & bats flying around at night. Interesting wildlife at this resort! I know this all probably sounds to good to be true but it really was an awesome time at the Lupita. I would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mich204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We prefer a smaller, friendly resort and the Riu Lupita was perfect! The staff was wonderful; the entertainment team was hardworking and incredible. Food was very good--and I am a picky eater. Boreli was a great waiter--having our table ready with our drinks on it. Oh, and the beach. Like a postcard. We didn't mind the short bus ride to the beach at all. Bus was always on schedule. We loved this place so much we are returning in April with our daughter and new son-in-law for their honeymoon. We can't wait to be back at the Lupita!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank anniemylove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have never written a negative review of a hotel in my life, but after both my wife and I getting food poisoning I think its time. We stayed there at the end of November and were both so sick for one day we couldnt even move from our bed. I met at least 15 people suffering from the same symptoms. Some were even hospitalized. I contacted Riu's head office and they told me there was nothing they could do unless we could prove it was food poisoning. This response also took them 30 days to deliver. It's a shame because the hotel is nice and the staff are amazing, but I would avoid it because it's not worth the risk of getting sick. They also sprayed our room with some mosquito poison and it was unbearable so we had to move rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jay185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place to relax, the two pools they have are great. Food was good. Room was clean and stocked well.The staff were so nice and made the stay a real pleasure. The drinks were some of the best i have had so far at an all inclusive resort and i loved the bartenders full of personality. It was the perfect place to just relax. The massage i recieved at the spa was a slice of heaven and was worth every penny i went back for another before i left.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sonyadolanshular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoyed our first stay at this hotel so returned there Dec 2012. Seems more family friendly than the other 'Riu's' in Playacar. As stated in previous reviews upon arrival we were told that we could no longer use the other 'Riu's' - Yucatan/Tequila which we had previously done (Contary to Thompson holiday staff in UK who told us we could and the Thompson rep at resort who didn't even know about change of policy), but talking to people from these hotels at the bar it seems these holidaymakers could still use the Lupita?
Food excellent as previous and enjoyed improved beach club.
We stayed there for 10 nights but 5 out of the 10 the evening entertainment was provided by the 'Riu' chains own entertainment staff which has to be said was very poor.
Also no Corona anymore...all Dos Equis but think this is common all over resort as not found anyone selling Corona.

Just a footnote. We stayed on the ground floor and constantly saw the wild Coatis roaming around, unfortunately we also saw a large male Coatis attack a baby Coatis and kill it within a few seconds outside the back of our room. I cleared the body away and took it to the 'director' of the hotel to explain what happened, but he seemed less bothered when i explained my concern about a baby or small child being attacked than the fact i had bought the dead animal into his office.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms best, as we found previously after rain the wooden outdoor steps to upper rooms c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I mean, the architecture itself is not that great, feels like a hotel that was planned to be huge a couple of years ago, but it stood the same with the years, no improvements in that sense.

Food is ok, the hotels disco is not good at all, but the pool is pretty neat, and they offer good drinks with the open bar, the shows at night are a plus, but nothing special

As i said, its ok...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliecer_507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#128 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
652 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#54 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
8,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#49 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#66 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#88 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Lupita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Lupita

Address: Avda. Xaman-Ha, Manzana 20, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#81 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $158 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Lupita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Lupita opens all year round and is surrounded by 25,000 sq.m. of tropical gardens. Complimentary shuttle bus operates between the hotel and beach, approx. 3.5 km away. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal due to its proximity to Cancún Airport CUN (50 km) and Cancún (60 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 300 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa area or get in shape at the gym. 3 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool. RiuLand Kids Club (ages 4-7 & 8-12 years) and for adults, day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha Discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Mexican and Italian restaurants, Steakhouse, as well as 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Lupita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Lupita Resort
Riu Lupita Mayan Riviera
Riu Lupita Mexico
Hotel Riu Lupita Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing