We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Lupita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Lupita
Ranked #80 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the Luptia this October for 2 weeks an I must say its the best holiday I've being on, the staff there were very well mannered, friendly an couldn't do enough to please you, our hotel room was very clean an tidy an always stocked up for the full 2 weeks we was there, they had entertainment every day an evening an the entertainment staff was superb could not have asked for nicer people, food wise was excellent also they had a selection all day an night to suit everyone so you never went Hungry nor thirsty :-)
My only negative is our holiday rep from Thompson, we booked trips through him an when we asked for our money back cause we found them elsewhere cheaper he would not give us money back, so in the end it took us 3 days to get it all sorted through calling the head office an getting a manager to help us... Aside him though I would recommend the holiday to everyone I know best experience all around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    1,040
    415
    152
    100
See reviews for
594
1,234
68
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at the Lupita Dec 1-8, my experience there was fine.

I am 50 years old and not that fussy, I expected a well run, clean operation and I got one here.

The accomodation was good, the room was a bit dated, but clean with a well stocked fridge. The pool area was good and there was always a spot to lay in the sun.

The food was okay at the buffet, it only got a boring after 3-4 days. But what do you expect, people have to get out and try the other restaurants in town to experience other types of Mexican food.

The shows at night were ok, but given the choice I would have rather seen a more exciting show some where else. The shuttle bus worked well, the only issue was having to get a taxi back later in the evening (70 peso's).

You will meet lots of nice interesting people whom you can share holiday stories with, it's quiet and relaxing, a good place to base yourself from when doing day trips around the area.

For those people who have to be right on the beach, pay a little more and stay with one of the other RIU's closer to the water. They are a good hotel chain and they will treat you right!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitebearComox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel should be billed no higher than 3 stars. The buffet restaurant was not great, although there was alot of choice, the food was geared more towards the local clientele rather than the North American palate. We experienced some serious stomach upset after eating in the buffet for dinner on the second night. After that, we booked the Mexican a la carte every night. The food there was freshly prepared, and we had no problems. Menu was small, but the meals were very good, the Stuffed chicken breast in molé sauce was particularly good. The staff in this restaurant were very attentive, and your water or wine glass were never empty. They had some good alcohol at the bar, but for coctails, they usually just used the cheap stuff. You could ask for the better brands specifically.

The rooms were clean and had a safe, but they were in need of a total re-do, although it looked like the bathrooms might have been renovated lately. TV's are the old style, not flat screen. Closet was huge, big enough to hang all your clothes and store your suitcases. Our room in the 2200 block was extremely quiet, and we were greeted every morning with the sight and sound of colorful songbirds, and the morning arrival of the couties and peccaries (the small furry animals that inhabit the area, and are abundant at the hotel). The stairs leading up to the rooms are getting rickity, and some steps were actually loose. The screen on the patio door was broken, and had a big hole in it. The liquor dispenser in the room held only the cheap no-name booze. Water, beer and pop were regularly re-plenished in the mini-bar.

The shuttle to the other Riu hotels and Playa del Carmen was very prompt. It was a quick trip over to either stop.The Lupita beach club was closed for renovations, so they dropped off at the Rui Playacar and the Riu Yucutan instead. I recommend going to the Riu Yucutan during the day as there are alot of chairs available on the beach.

All the staff were very personable and friendly. They get top marks.

I did expect better from the Rui chain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SunnyDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just returned from a 7 day stay at this hotel and this is an honest opinion of a seasoned traveller.The hotel is in need of a complete make over.The rooms are old and tired and still have the original furniture and bed spreads,curtains ect.,towels are all getting threadbare,and it's time to replace it all.The room was properly cleaned every day.The staff is friendly and attentive,but thats the way it is supposed to be.The food quality is poor for a RIU hotel and it is true a lot of guests including us got a one day type of stomache ailment.It seemed like the hot buffet food sat too long and I don't beilieve the glassware and cutlary were cleaned properly.All the drinks are served in re-useable plastic cups that were just rinsed out.If this was a hotel in Europe or Canada/US the health inspectors would shut the kitchen down for many violations.In all it was just ok staying there.The saving grace was being able to use the three other RIU hotels.My advice would be spend a little more money and stay at the RIU Yucatan.Before anyone says but it was good value,think about this, RIU is huge chain and could fix this place up and give guests a better experience but with them it's profit over people!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and i just returned 9 days early from our 2 week holiday in Playa Del Carmen Mexico.
Every year for 6 years now we spend 2 weeks vacation in this area which we both love.
If you read my reviews on the Ocean Maya by H10 and also the Reef Playacar you will read how much we love this part of Mexico and had a wonderful time.
However this year was nothing short of a nightmare.
I am not going to write my full review at this time.
We were both in Hopital in playa for 2 days hooked up to a IV, plus drugs glore.
One issue we do have with the Riu Lupita is the animals called coatis.

They are very where, yes they are up on your chairs, tables, about 20 of them followed us up the stairs to our room. They are in the garbage cans eatting old food then up on your table.

I also notice at breakfast and lunch the table cloth was soiled and i did not have a coffee cup but my husband did. Once i used my fork and spoon i noticed they were used.

There were other people very ill at this resort which were living on clear fluids and waiting to be checked out from their Dr's at home.

I have attached photos of the coatis outside our room.

We have been home now 2 days and still have dierrhea. We both have seen our own Dr's and have been given a prescription.

My review will follow at a further time.

Sherry and Steven

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank Sherrydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the lupita between the 31 october-15th November. small hotel on the skirts of the resort. Lovely rooms spacious and spotless cleaned every day and we never ran short of towels a safe is in the rooms. The hotel wasn,t on the beach but we didn't find that a problem because the hotel ran a shuttle bus every 30 minutes from reception 1st stop playa carman (shops) then the beach it took about 10 minutes in total to get to the beach. the hotel does have its own beach club on the beach where the bus usually stopped, just for Lupita guests to use with a palmed tree area,beds and restaurant area for your all inclusive although this area was closed for refurbishment the second week we were there.( I was informed by reception that a pool was being installed). No problem the hotel changed the bus route to stop outside one of the other riu hotels on the beach(yukatan) and pick you up(6.45 is the last pick up from other hotel back to lupita) so we could still enjoy the beach/pools and use their all inclusive facilities., There are another 3-4 riu's in the same area that you can use for breakfast and dinner but not your evening meal, you can even use the other hotel pools and go to their entertainment in the evening (starts at 9.45pm). If you do go out in the evening to watch the entertainment you will have to get a taxi after 6.15pm we paid 70 paso's each way (£3.50) we were getting about 19 paso's to the £.Lupita is the smallest Riu hotel in the resort with a small reception a bar area (shuts at 12.00 midnight),restaurant and Mexican Restaurant which you need to reserve at breakfast the day before in the main restaurant, There's an out side stage for entertainment 2 adult pools one quiet with no bar(unusual) the other adult pool is the one we used close to the bar. pool games were on offer each day.I found the water quite cold but that might be just me. There is one childrens pool in the enclosed childrens area but to be honest I never seen any children in it but i did see it being cleaned on a regular basis there is a night club but we never used it so can not comment.We arrived right at the beginning of high season so the first week was a little quiet on the entertainment side but did pick up the second week.The entertainment wasn't as good as the othe riu's so i would definatly recomend that you try the other hotels a few night a week its nice to feel like your going out for the evening and only paying taxi fares even better if there's 2 couples so taxi fare can be shared which is what we did. Food was good quality really tasty and plenty to choose from yes it is a little repetative but there was always something new you could try( no tummy upsets). Red/white wine was offered in the evening and tea/coffee at breakfast/dinner if you would like a cappucino with your meal just ask the staff in the restaurant we found them friendly and very helpful they will even go over to the bar for you in the evening for your favourate tipple if you tip now and again we gave 20 paso's. out of all the Riu hotels in the resort we found the Lupita a much more civilised place to eat than the others when we did try the other hotels ( lunch time) yes sometimes there was a little more choice but we had to que for food and it sounded like a canteen all we could hear was cuttelry and it was very busy! give me Lupita anytime.We did experience a couple of problems that did let the Riu name down a bit at the time but to be honest we were impressed once the problem had been highlighted to management how quickly they were corrected it was just a shame it needed to be mentioned in the first place.I would recommend if you have children to go to one of the other Riu in the resort as we didn't see many children at this hotel and know how important it is when you have a young family that other children are around to make friends and have fun with ( there was a childrens club on offer) I would recommend this hotel for couples and friends.I would recommend you visit xplor expensive but well worth the money don't book it through holiday rep get a tax from the tax rank just round the corner from reception we paid 150 paso's one way and there's loads of taxi's outside xplor when you leave. Entry into xplor cost about £80.00 but by getting there yourself you get to spend the whole day there and not have to leave early.The all inclusive at xplor was excellent we didn't expect it to be as good. We went to cozomel for the day again we just popped on the shuttle bus to playa de carmen went to the ferry port and bought a ticket only get a single ticket so you've got more flexability on your return.It cost about 150 paso's each way per person. The jurney on the ferry took about 40 minutes once there we hired a taxi for 2 hours( we paid 600 paso's after haggling) to take us around the island the coastline is beautiful and there's lots of shops and places to have a drink and eat. Coba is worth a visit its a mayan temple just like chitzen Itza only you can still climb it a fantastic view once at the top. We had hired a taxi for 1500 paso's for the day we also visited a cenote on the round trip an absolute must whilst in Mexico beautiful cavens and caves with beautiful crystal clear fresh water a turquoise color,stalactites and stalagmites form inside the cenotes, We paid 200 paso's each which sound a lot but that was with a guide and all equipment and because we organised it our self we had our own guide (for four people) snorkling through these caves and cavensis is a wonderful experience.I Would recommend the Lupita its a lovely hotel but could be improved by offering the same alcoholic drinks in the all inclusive package as the other Riu hotels in playa de carmen and up grading the entertainment. but don't let that put you off visiting this hotel because it is a lovely little hotel offering a warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janet_hamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

this is not a five star hotel. It was very nice but with a few things needing to be done to reach 5 star.Quite a lot of people went down with sickness and tummy upsets. I think it was down to cleanliness rather than food. I dont think the cuttlery was changed fully between covers. If you book trips make sure that the rep puts the right pick up point, ours put us down for a iberostar hotel miles away. The good points- really nice staff in hotel and animation team especially. The rooms are good size and very clean with large beds and a bed settee, table and chairs with small patio. The drinks fridge was topped up every two days, no problems there, not that we used it much. Four optics in room all inclusive, again we did not use these. Only two eating places,did not try the mexican restaurant only the general one. Food was not brilliant but edible.The pudding section was poor,good job I like ice cream. Good shuttle bus service to 5th avenue and the beach. This hotel is the oldest and smallest of all Riu hotels on site but overall we are glad we stayed here, it was more friendly than the big hotels. Two days of rain in the two weeks but still enjoyed the atmosphere at the poolside. Very good pool games, nothing too dangerous or boistrous,perfect for all the family

Room Tip: most rooms are in blocks of 3 levels,no lifts,so book a ground level room if you have difficulty wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allansussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.6 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
11.2 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#46 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,280 reviews
11.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Lupita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Lupita

Property: Hotel Riu Lupita
Address: Avda. Xaman-Ha, Manzana 20, Lote 1, Condominio Playacar | Lote Hotelero No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#81 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Lupita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 2 km / 1.2 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Main building and 1 and 3-story bungalows * Surrounded by 25,000 m2 / 29,900 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 3.5 Km / 2.1 Miles from the beach (complimentary transportation) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2.5 Km / 1.5 Miles from various shops * 50 km / 31 miles from Cancun Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Riu Lupita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Lupita Resort
Riu Lupita Mayan Riviera
Riu Lupita Mexico
Hotel Riu Lupita Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing