We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest Hotel on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Lupita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Lupita
Ranked #81 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendliest Hotel on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My best friend and I (we are 22 and 23) stayed at the Riu Lupita for the final week in June/first week in July 2012. This was our first time in Mexico but it will not be our last. As soon as we arrived we were given a warm welcome and a cocktail and helped with our luggage to our rooms. The room was very clean and we were happy to discover contained a mini bar which stored tequilla, vodka, rum,various soft drinks and bottled water. This was re-stocked every two days.
The staff in the Riu Lupita were amongst the friendliest people I have ever met (particularly the restaurant and bar staff). Nothing was too much trouble and we were always chatted to with a smile. The reps were happy to recommend places to go at night, Coco Bongo and Mandala being the two popular clubs in Puerto Del Carmen (a five minute taxi ride from hotel). We were slightly worried that as we were not staying in Cancun there may not be a lot to do at night times but the great thing about staying at a Riu hotel in Riveria Maya is that you can use the other Riu hotels within the complex all inclusively also. The Riu Tequilla hotel has the liveliest disco at night which opens at 11pm. The entertainment seemed great for children and the adult entertainment was good fun.
The hotel's private beach is about a forty minute walk from the hotel or you can use the free shuttle bus which stops at hotel reception and operates every 30 mins. The beach is what can only be described as paradise.
The hotel puts a lot of effort into the food, dinner takes a different theme every night, my personal favourite was Carribean night.
There are two pools, one where you can join in with the reps and diffrent activities and another that is much quieter if you just want to chill out and not be disturbed.
Ask for a 'tequilla boom boom' or a 'sticky bikini' at the bar!
I will hopefully be returning to Mexico next year and will definatley be staying at the Lupita again. Quiet hotel ideal for couples and families but not quiet enough to be boring!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reviewer004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    1,064
    420
    152
    100
See reviews for
609
1,258
68
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Riu Lupita is a lovely place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is varied and its presentation well thought out and attractive-they tend to theme the cuisine nightly so there is plenty of variety alongside mexican favorites such as nachos and chilli.
Coati's run free around the grounds(an animal that looks like a racoon with a long nose and upright tail) which is fascinating. We were struck by how many Mexican families were staying at the hotel-a positive sign of how good the place is.
Entertainment on an evening was varied. For those with children there is a great kids club and for those who really like to party the hotel has its own disco but the entertainment team also arrange outings to local venues as well..apparently Coco Bongo is the place to go.
Its not an up market Rui like most of the other Ruis in the area but its facilities are good, clean and pleasantly landscaped. You need to get on a bus to go to the beach but they run every 30 mins and it is only a 15 minute trip to a private beach with its own restaurant, toilets and beds...make sure you go to the beach-IT IS STUNNING!
Hotel is a 20 minute walk from Playa del Carmen or 5 minutes by bus if you are feeling lazy.
A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

first let me say what a great job all the staff do nothings to much trouble they all work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. all the rooms seem quite a good size with everything you need even optics the food in the buffet is good and plenty of it ate once at the al a carte to be honest i wasnt that impressed the service in the bar was great never having to wait to long god knows how many cocktails are made a night they have a dark beer which is stronger than the lager the shuttle bus drops of 1st at 5th avenue if you fancy a walk round the shops or you can go to the beach there the second stop is the beach club the beach is great and the sea is warm all in all it was a great holiday and will definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevejeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our family of four spent 10 days in July at the Riu Lupita. Upon arrival we were offered a cocktail and were brought to a table in the lobby. Great another timeshare pitch. But no, it was Julie explaining the resort amenities and letting us know that she would personally take care of any needs we had. She greeted us everyday; it's a shame that she is probably back in France as her stage was set to end in August. It is the best of both worlds. You can stay at the resort during the day and basically have the place to yourself as most of the guests take the shuttle to town or the beach; or you can go to the beach and enjoy the beautiful ocean, sit under palm trees and enjoy the facilities.
The beach club was okay for one day, with decent food and self serve beer and wine. We walked 10 minutes further and were able to use another Riu resort. The food was awesome, and was different each day.....There was something to please every palate. The beach was absolutely amazing. The water was calm and there was very little or no seaweed.
What was so great about the Riu Lupita was it's tranquility.....You can go to the beach and then come back for a quiet and relaxing evening. Something to consider....this is the only Riu resort that ofers a shuttle to Playa del Carmen and the beach.
The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and supper. The food was excellent, it was hard to make a choice sometimes. Each night the restaurant has a theme, showcasing different foods; carribean, asian, italian......Thanks to Roberto for looking after us....
The staff was generally great. Most spoke english, french, and spanish. However, I found that those who didn't understand english or french (my spanish is awful) would tend to nod in understanding but nothing would be done...it took 4 requests and 24 hrs later to get a couple of extra pillows.......Julie was off that day.
Rooms are clean, the a/c is really efficient, and your room bar is restocked every second day. Very quiet at night for sleeping didn't hear a peep; unlike Cancun.
My wife found the bed hard; I found it was okay.
We met Mathias at the dive shop. He offers many excursions and we chose the snorkling/cave swim. 96 us/person for the day. Outstanding...swam with sea turtles, rays, over a reef with gorgeous fish and came within a foot of a 3 ft long barracuda. WOW. The cave swim is very cool. The freshwater is much cooler than the ocean yet refreshing. Our group, no more than 10, chose to enter the bat cave; and yes the bats are flying around or having an upside down siesta.
The entertainment staff work really hard and are a great bunch of people. Always saying hi and not pushing you to participate if you don't want to.
Overall, what was really enjoyable was the peace and tranquility that the Riu Lupita offers. Unlike other resorts, where the music is so loud until the wee hours of the morning, here the music is used during the day and evening with the entertainment team and otherwise is set as background music. Everyone is laid back and you were able to relax and enjoy everything; from the beautiful birds and wildlife within the resort, the beach via the shuttle, or the town of Playa del Carmen for a little shopping. We hope to be back in March.
If you are hiring a shuttle to get to and from the resort we chose Cancun Shuttle. This was our second time using them. Great service and price both times.

Room Tip: The only Riu resort with shuttle service to the beach and thetown of Playa del Carmen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you were to look for a modern day eden then playa car in the yukatan peninsula is that place - the rui yucatan, tequilla and lupita are outstanding and from the moment you arrive hot and tired the staff bend over backwards to ensure your stay is outstanding , the complex is safe , clean and the food is excellent my only complaint --- I had to come home !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bluefairyStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalwhinnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Spent 14 nights at Riu Lupita. 5 out of the 15 days we were there, they fed us lobster. How can anyone complain about that?!
We had a car so we were able to enjoy both worlds: The beach with its other Riu hotels and the peace and tranquility of Riu Lupita. During the day you have the place to yourself, it is deserted, people go to the other Riu hotels to spend the day by the beach.
I can't fault this hotel, the holiday was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CarolinaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just came back with my boyfriend from Playa del Carmen. We stayed at Riu Lupita and let me tell you,,, we loved it. I had never write a review before and I've been in different hotels but this place and the staff exceeded our expectations!!! They welcomed us with a fresh orange juice and a very nice receptionist who explained all about the facitilies without trying to sell us anything!! The entertaining staff was great... we were approached by Enrique and he was very nice to us and made us feel at home. The place was a paradise, the beach was beautiful, the food was delicious and all the facilities were very clean. We are looking forward to come back next year...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MsBeautyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.6 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
11.2 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#48 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Lupita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Lupita

Property: Hotel Riu Lupita
Address: Avda. Xaman-Ha, Manzana 20, Lote 1, Condominio Playacar | Lote Hotelero No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#81 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Lupita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 2 km / 1.2 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Main building and 1 and 3-story bungalows * Surrounded by 25,000 m2 / 29,900 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 3.5 Km / 2.1 Miles from the beach (complimentary transportation) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2.5 Km / 1.5 Miles from various shops * 50 km / 31 miles from Cancun Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Lupita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Lupita Resort
Riu Lupita Mayan Riviera
Riu Lupita Mexico
Hotel Riu Lupita Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing