We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and exceeded my expectation”
Review of Hotel Riu Lupita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Lupita
Ranked #80 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value and exceeded my expectation”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

22-29 September 2011

Very very clean. Very safe. Delicious food at the buffet restaurant. Bar tender is quick. Shuttle bus on time. Staff very helpful. Waiter/waitress very friendly. I tipped and everyone was pleasantly surprised. I don't see others tipping so I guess it's not expected. The bed is super comfortable. The cleaning staff did forgot the face towels a couple times, but it's OK. Internet at the lobby is fast. Fridge re-stocked every 2 days but I didn't need much from the fridge. Restaurant at the beach has nice food and friendly staff as well. Also VERY clean at the beach restaurant. There is a cleaning lady standing by next to the washroom. She cleans the washroom almost after every single person who used it.

Improvement: internet in the room; minor update in the bathroom at the hotel.

Overall extremely good value. Calm crowd. Nice for relaxing. Will be staying at Lupita again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gelman173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    1,102
    432
    159
    102
See reviews for
657
1,311
71
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Riu Lupita for one week to celebrate our 7th year wedding anniversary. I will start by saying that this isn't the best party hotel so if that's what your looking for, stay in Cancun.

Food:
The food is excellent at the buffet with different themes every night. We tried the a la carte which was ok but found that the buffet was better so we ended up eating there every night.

Room:
There are rooms that were renovated but mostly the ones on the ground level. Our room was one of the older ones which we didn't mind as it was clean and comfortable. When we got to our room the A/c sounded like a bulldozer so we let Charlie from the reception know, the issue was resolved within one hour (Thanks again Charlie ;). Now for the beds, please don't expect super soft beds as they are very firm. We are used to a softer mattress and were able to sleep well on them but if you prefer a soft mattress I do believe they can provide you with a soft mattress topper but I cannot guarantee that as I heard it from someone else.

Drinks:
Drinks were excellent and the variety is good too. The drinks from the other Riu are a little better i.e bacardi instead of basic white rum and stuff like that but we still liked the liquor they had at the Lupita.

STAY AT ONE ENJOY ALL 4:
I'm writing this in bold because a lot of people don't know about it. Basically you sleep and eat at the Lupita but you can have drinks and snacks at Riu Yucatan, Playacar, Tequila which are closer to the beach. So you get to pay less to stay at Riu Lupita and still enjoy the other resorts except for the other buffets as you can only eat at the snack areas like around the pool or at the beach restaurants at the yucatan but we thought that, that was great because we only paid 600$ Per person instead of 800-1000$ to stay at the other Rius.


Hotel in General:
I would like to start by saying that this hotel including the grounds should be rated more like a 3.5-4 stars hotel. I believe that Riu purchased this small hotel to slowly bring it up to a 5 stars standard but that will take awhile. The main reason they rate it as a 5 star is that they almost have the same food and drinks than the other Riu’s but don’t FORGET...You’re not paying the same rates so please keep that in mind.

Beach:
Not much to say about this, it’s pretty self explanatory....JUST LOOK AT MY PICTURES ;)


Resort Beer (I'm a man, this is really important lol):
For those that went to these resorts a few years ago and had Corona in their room fridge or served at any Rius, don’t expect that anymore as they changed their beer to Dos Equis which is a very good beer and similar to Corona (I almost preferred dos equis over corona). My wife isn’t a beer drinker and even her liked that beer.

Please look at my pictures for further information and sorry for any grammar mistakes I’m not the best speller ;) Please feel free to e-mail me as I have pictures of almost everything but couldn't post them on. I should be able to answer any questions within a day.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms near the tennis court are almost all renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank luckyluc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Well, I'll start with the good stuff first.
Food was very good. Front desk service was very helpful. Rooms very very clean and everything worked.
Wifi in the lobby was pretty sweet!

Now the bad stuff:
Toilets have windows and are facing the walkway. Anyone walking by the room can hear/smell anything that is happening there. I find it pretty disturbing. When it's dark it is possible to look inside the rooms(windows are not very high) and see what is happening there! You can also see that from the stairs as you are walking by. Seriously, a major design flaw!!!

Additionally, staff does cleaning every day from about 9:30-3pm and they would put their clothing bags,carts all over the buildings and outside of the rooms. Sometimes they would also just stand and talk very loudly. If I don't shut the door from the toilet to the room then you can hear it quite well(remember,the window...?) Because of those garbage bags and dirty laundry bags, it all didn't look very nice. I am sure there's a way to make it a bit tidy!! I travel a lot and never seen that before!

Also, they tend to enter your room even if you have a DO NOT DISTURB sign. And THAT"S pretty disturbing!

There's also no beach nearby. This hotel only good for business travlers,but I noticed a lot of couples and families who would have to take a shuttle bus every day to another hotel to use their beach. I was there for business,but I can't understand why would anyone book a hotel in MEXICO with no beach??!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gsxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Drink , Food , Room no complaints
Drink - you ask the barman for a certain cocktail he will make it - never a long wait to be served
Food - Buffet Restaurant Exellent I have put on a lot of weight after this holiday
I checked out the Al a Carte because of all the bad references on this site and believe me they are ALL correct its ROTTEN stay clear!
No need to reserve sunbeds as there is loads
We were there 13th - 27th of September for my 50th Birthday we asked for Champange and a cake no help from the tour operator (Thomsons) but all was delivered by the hotel (at a price)
I also got a bowl of fruit and the room was decorated which was a nice touch
There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach and 5th and 10th Avenue it runs every 30 minutes, the beach was quiet but this suited as i had a jumping headache when we went (Food there is also great)
My main complaint was the Thomson Rep i have been all round the world and have never come accross someone earning so much for doing nothing she arrived at 08.30 had breakfast with other tour reps sat at her seat for thirty minutes made no interaction with the people paying her wages then left! In Goa in December and Minorca in August the reps came round and asked if everything was fine and answered any questions, both these reps mentioned they would love to go and work in Mexico - if i was in charge there would be an opening.
The Entertainment Team worked hard with not a lot resources for a chain like the "Riu" this should be sorted sooner rather than later
Entertainment at night was hit or miss the Mexican themed nights went on too long but the Micheal Jackson Tribute was spot on
Take plenty insect replent - okay they dont carry any diseases but they do itch - LOTS
Thats a small amount about the hotel any questions i will be happy to help

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor that way no animals use your balcony for sunbathing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Riu Lupita is a nice hotel with friendly staff and a nice pool area. It's relaxing and a good deal for the money. I do have 2 issues with the hotel but it's more with the site I booked through than the hotel itself. The website described the Riu Lupita as Beachfront, with a buffet and multiple restaurants, and a gym and sauna. The hotel is neither beachfront nor has multiple restaurants: there is a buffet and a mexican restaurant. As for the gym and sauna, it IS available at the sister hotel Riu Yucatan. The food at the hotel is good overall and there are always plenty of options in town (just jump on the free beach shuttle and get off at Playa del Carmen instead of paying $7 for a taxi - it's literally a 2 minute walk from where the taxis drop you anyway). I had a nice relaxing time with my husband but next time I'll book on the beach. Last thing (and this is a hotel issue) : the beds are VERY hard, not firm: hard! The Riu Yucatan looked great from the beachside - if the Riu Lupita isn,t for you then maybe try this one.

Room Tip: see if you can find out about the firmness of the beds - from the people we met they all had issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Service and Food was very good en general. Friendly Staff also. Room was clean and nice for a standard one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank the_traveler_69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Riu Lupita is far from being a 4* hotel compared to the other RIU's but the hotel is safe, nice and definetily friendly. The staff was fantastic and always willing to help. The food was OK. The rooms and the pool fairly clean. THe shuttle bus to the beach was always on time and not over crowded. The nigth animmation was great. lots of dancing and acrobatics. I was mostly impressed by the level of professionalism of the staff and kindness. If you have extra money and prefer a higher class hotel stay at the other RIU's in Cancun. This is not the place to go fancy but rather to be at home. It is a family hotel. We just spent a week there (Sept 10-17, 2011). Would be back anytime. THis is the hotel if you want to save money to spend in other outdoor activities (they are expensive) but still get a good night sleep and decent food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YEG-AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.6 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#89 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,785 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
11.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Lupita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Lupita

Property: Hotel Riu Lupita
Address: Avda. Xaman-Ha, Manzana 20, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#81 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Lupita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 2 km / 1.2 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Main building and 1 and 3-story bungalows * Surrounded by 25,000 m2 / 29,900 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 3.5 Km / 2.1 Miles from the beach (complimentary transportation) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2.5 Km / 1.5 Miles from various shops * 50 km / 31 miles from Cancun Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Lupita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Lupita Resort
Riu Lupita Mayan Riviera
Riu Lupita Mexico
Hotel Riu Lupita Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing