We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Pescatore da Ileana - CLOSED

Il Pescatore da Ileana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten here a couple of times in the past. Always an excellent experience and the food is homemade, delicious, and
Nicely presented. Since it is not on Playa's 5th Avenue main public walkway it doesn't get the attention it should. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for the mouth watering italian taste Momma used to make.

Helpful?
1 Thank Airglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    11
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is the Authentic IL PESCATORE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and I have been to ILeana's several times. It is a wonderful Italian restaurant with homemade authentic cuisine. Not to be confused with the OTHER restaurant in a corporate hotel setting. Interesting to read the mixed reviews on their site which seem good when referring to ILeana's location by some confusion and critical of an unauthentic sterile environment when referring to the hotel location.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tbone91148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply the greatest italian food in Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We've been coming to playa for over 10 years now, half of us are actually Italian, and I can garantee you that Iliana's food is simply the best I've tried, not only in Playa but in Mexico. Her truffled gnocchis, lobster pasta and "parilladas" are by far my favourites and without joking, one of the main reasons to come back to Playa 3 times a year at least. On top of her food, Iliana is great person who will make you feel at home!

it's off the traditional 5th avenue, that's why few people ever find this gem, but walking the extra block away from the hassle and touristy menus of the 5th is definitely worth it, seriously.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabellllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorette
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Someone advised us to try this restaurant and although it is a little off the regular path we were not dissapointed. In fact we went back a second time and it was still great. The pasta is light and melts in your mouth. Ravioli dishes were well presented, gnocci was great and the spagetti with meatballs, well you definetly won't forget the meatballs. The menu has a large selection which includes fish but we stuck to the pasta and weren't dissapointed. Atmoshere is quaint and airing, the owner is delightful and is always talking to her customers. Overall it was great and we will be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Il Pescatore da Ileana- another terrific example of Playa's tasty Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Friends in Playa told us they always enjoyed Il Pescatore da Ileana and urged us to give it a try. We did and were glad we did. My partner's pasta and meatball dish met his expectations and my penne and red sauce combination hit the spot. The homemade tiramisu capped our dinner perfectly.
The restaurant is warm, welcoming and comfortable. The proprietor and hostess, Ileana. adds to everyone's enjoyment by visiting tables and sharing her food knowledge and humor. We will definitely return
One difficulty with reviewing this restaurant is that the name is similar to another Playa establishment that is part of an all inclusive. Tripadvisor needs to sort out the two restaurants' reviews and give this very good place, Il Pescatore da Ileana, its own review section.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pescatore da Ileana also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing