We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, what a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Ranked #89 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow, what a place”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Amazing hotel, very charming, excellent location. Steps away from the beach, 5th ave and a bus stop, which is perfect and cheaper than taxis. Every day they serve you nice breakfast and it's different choices daily. Nice pool in a shape of the fish that changes colors at night time. Very friendly staff. Rooms are very specious and clean, so bright. It was nice to open the balcony door every morning and listen to the birds. The view from the sundeck is beautiful. The only negative are the beds. They are like rocks, very hard, after 4 nights we still didn't get used to the beds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazol2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    103
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
55
125
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly helpful staff.

Walking distance to beach 1 min and basically the same to the busses, diving centers and all the nice restaurants, bars and shops. My first night was at a not so nice hotel but when I found Sian Ka'an it was perfect for me and I stayed all week.

I have stayed at more fancy hotels but Sian Ka'an is very nice and well worth the money. Towel for the beach, ok internet on the room and decent breakfast included in the reasonable price.

I can easily see myself spending some nights there next time I visit Playa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterfromstockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed for 1 night before going to our all-inclusive hotel. It was great to be so close to the ocean and 5th avenue! Our room was very clean and bed was comfortable.
We were given a delicious breakfast in the morning and had a choice of 2 items. This was a lovely touch that we did not expect. it saved us about $15USD.
The room was very reasonable, we felt safe and would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: May have ocean view from higher level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Yes, as says the title, It is our preferred hotel in Playa del Carmen, why? it has it all. The perfect combination value - service - facility - location.

Well done Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an.

See you next year!!!, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

It has really exceeded my expectations. I have read a number of negative reviews so wasn't sure what to expect (the photos also didn't do much justice) but having now visited this place I think these are clearly comments made by overly spoiled travellers. Don't expect any luxuries, however, this is the best value you can get in a place like Playa del Carmen without compromising the quality. Our room was simple, spotless clean and very big which was great. we had a beautiful, large balcony overlooking the gardens and the pool. The complementary breakfast had two choices (eggs or yogurt with fruit and granola, toast, jam juice and coffee etc) but they were nicely done and plates were filling. The posada is literally next to the bus station (so very handy for day trips) and off 5th avenue where all the nightlife action is. Nonetheless, the posada itself was very quiet and not affected by the nearby bars and clubs which is usually the case for most hotels located on the 5th avenue. It had lovely gardens where breakfast was served and a natural cenote which made it more special. It also had a sun terrace with loungers and gorgeous views over the caribbean sea. Last but not least staff has been great, very accommodating and friendly - both at the reception and at the restaurant.

Overally, I got a 'special feeling' from this place which admittedly didn't expect to (mostly down to the low price I paid but it just proved once more that you don't always need to pay premium to get good service)

Having read a few comments from dissatisfied customers I can't resist but to comment on a few things :-) 1. unless you go to a very swanky hotel, generally there are no soft beds in Mexico! 2. a traditional posada won't have plenty of breakfast choices, if this is the objective I think 'Cancun all inclusive' would be a more suitable option 3. I don't understand expectations for high speed wifi accessible in all areas of a hotel at an area dominated by small traditional posadas and boutique hotels unless you are on a business trip. If it is a business trip I would expect people to book at a business oriented hotel for uniterrupted internet excitement! But when you are on vacation at one of the most beautiful countries in the world, ask the locals for entertainment suggestions, make a call if something urgent comes up and then just go out and play!

Room Tip: Get a room at the main building of the posada if you want more modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UKbliss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

stayed here again in september and have nothing but great things to say. i've reviewed this property several times and it's been very positive since day one. the location is perfect for what i do outside the hotel. i came unannounced a day early and literally booked a room when i arrived at the airport. they were able to accommodate me in the tree wing section which i've never stayed in and it was cozy cute. my reservation in the main building started the next day. yes the beds are firm, but with enough spring to give me a good nights rest and does wonders for my lower back scoliosis! i can't wait to see what they've done to the other side of the stairwell as they were working on it during my visit. bottom line: the staff is wonderful, the property is small and intimate, the room is clean and modern. location location location! all an A+ in my book.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serrano930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed three nights at the end of October, 2013 and were impressed with the value and cleanliness. Quiet at night and a great free breakfast with two choices including juice and coffee to start the day. Close to the ADO bus station and on the block between 5th Ave and the beach. It couldn't get any better!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#102 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#131 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#69 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#130 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#81 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an

Property: Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre 5a Av y Z.F.M. 141, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'An Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing