We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Ranked #95 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We loved it.Everybody was so friendly and helpful.The location is perfect, 1 minute walk from the ADO bus.Getting out of the hotel on your right is 5th av.and on your left is the beach.The rooms are big,clean, modern,flat screen TV and breakfast included.We had an easy check in even at the early hour we arrived.The hotel has beach towels available and free WiFi in the lobby. Why complain? We were in MEXICO having a wonderful time and everything was fantastic!! Certainly come back to Posada Sian Kaan:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    100
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
122
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is set back from the street just a half block off Quinto Ave. in Playa Del Carmen. The room was modern, clean, had a comfortable bed and was quiet. It was a good size and had clean linens and a flat screen TV. I would stay at this hotel again if in the area. It is just a half block from a wide part the beach and several inexpensive beach clubs that rented chairs and had good food right near the hotel. The hotel has beach towels available for use at the beach or in their pool while staying there. There was an included local breakfast and free WiFi in the lobby and restaurant area. They also had a sun deck on the roof that had great views over Playa at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, RI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is well located, very clean and updated. We spent 3 nites here prior to checking into our condo up the coast. We wanted to be in the center of Playa Del Carmen. This hotel fit the bill nicely. It was an easy check-in even at the early hour we arrived, the front desk was very helpfull with all our needs. My only complaints on this property is that by day 3 my back was bothering me due to the hard mattress. I am used to sleeping on a Memory Foam mattress and the change from so soft and giving to so firm was probably to blame. The pool was a nice feature for a quick cool off dip after a long day at the beach. Being a half block from the Beach and La Tarraya was awsom... The chairs at La Tarraya were only 80 Pesos for 2 for the day, the food was awsom and is still the same price as it was 5 years ago. 5 Th Ave is only a half block in the oposit direction and Carboncitos was only a block away, what more can you ask for.
I would use this place again for a short stay due to the mattress, but that is not to say it would bother everyone. For a no frills, clean and well located hotel this is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Pay for a room in the tower, they are more up to date and have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPMechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, BCS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

On our last night in Playa after returning from Belize, our biggest priority was finding a decent hotel situated near the ADO terminal on 5th. Posada Sian Ka'an fit the bill and on the surface it seemed to be all that our fellow "conTriputors" had raved about.

The property itself is perfectly situated just 2 locales from the beach and a half block from the ADO bus terminal. The slightly cheesy Mayan façade of the hotel gives way to a charming, lush courtyard offering guests a pool, common Wi-Fi areas, beautiful rooftop terrace (with great ocean & beach views) and even an on-property "cenote".

Unfortunately, what detracted from our experience, was also the easiest to provide and control... the service. The front desk attendant's deflating lack of cheerfulness was a poor start. It was, however, her complete lack of common sense regarding room placement that demoted our review of this hotel from "very good" to "average". Despite the obviously low occupancy rate during our 1 night stay, we were placed in a room (the walls of which we soon discovered were paper thin) directly neighboring that of a family with two young children.

I should mention that we too have 2 young boys (who were not traveling with us at the time) so we are used to the noise that children can make, and we are more than understanding when traveling around other families. That said, it would be simple common sense not to place a young couple beside a family when there are clearly many other rooms available.

While the rooms were obviously updated and more than sufficient for the price, I don't think we would ever return to Posada Sian Ka'an considering the plethora of options available in the area (note our much more positive review of nearby Hotel Cielo).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaboChinito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

In previous visits to Playa we had walked by the entrance to Sian Ka'an many times and always thought it looked interesting. It wasn't until we needed someplace to stay for 2 nights before our timeshare week began at Playacar Palace that we decided to try Sian Ka'an. Wow ! Wonderful grounds, wonderful room, clean, fresh courtyard and their very own cenote right next to the pool. Don't worry, it was separated by a fence. Top it all off with a great breakfast included! Two choices every day and plenty to eat. Their location is also great right on Calle 2 Norte... so 1/2 block from 5th Avenue and 1/2 block from the beach. The staff and service were great also. We had a tiny rental car and they let us park it right next to the office to avoid having to pay one of those near-by parking lots. I would recommend this place to anyone and the price can't be beat for the quality and location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

it's like i never left from my first visit in february. it was too soon after another visit in march to write another review and just returned from another stay this month. the staff is amazing!! i love the simplicity and quiet i get during my stays that keep me coming back! thanks for everything!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serrano930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

After all reviews and their website, we decided to stay 7 nights till last week.
Though we have stayed more than 50 hotels in US and Mexico, this is one of the best.
We appreciate for all reviews here, first. Posada Sian Kaan has everything on our list.

Withn min walk to beach, 5ta avenida, bus terminal, ferry terminal, colectivo's stops, hundsreds restaurants from nice sit down to taco stand.

Tasteful breakfast daily from 2 choice. It comes with room rate, but not buffet.

They offer very quick service and the staff are all wondefully helpful.

We know we will back to Posada Sian Kaan.

Room Tip: Their webiste shows details on rooms. We stayed one with mini bar, but the fridge did not work very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#102 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#126 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
813 reviews
1.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#125 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#84 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an

Property: Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre 5a Av y Z.F.M. 141, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'An Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing