We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis near the hustle and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Ranked #88 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis near the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Originally booked a room for 2 nights and ended staying about 1 week.

Hotel: Very good location. On calle 2, between 5th avenue ('the main') and the beach. Only a two minute walk from the bus terminal.(practical for those travelling by bus from/to Cancun/Airport) and a five minute walk from the Ferry to Cozumel (good for day trip). Pool is small but other than for kids, not sure who would want to spend time in or around it instead of lounging on the beach. Premises are relatively quiet. Expect some noise during the day (nothing out of the ordinary) but it gets quiet in the evening (maybe a little too quiet for those looking for entertainment - thankfully 12th street with all the bars is not too far away).

Rooms: Decent size and clean. Water pressure is hit and miss but this is only relatively inconvenient. Beds are a little stiff but still comfortable.

Services: very good, although service at breakfast can be very slow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UtazasViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    106
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
132
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The best of Playa del Carmen is to have a beach day and a night walking on Fifth Avenue. This is a nice boulevard with some kind of magic of people from different parts of the world walking around in a relaxed environment surrounded by different kind of restaurants, shops and night places.
Therefore you want to be in a hotel close to the beach and close to the avenue. It is not easy to find a good hotel with a good price. My wife and I stayed some days in Cancun but we also wanted to enjoy Playa del Carmen and made the reservation with little time in advance and we only found this place at a reasonable price (95 usd/night). We arrived at night and it was difficult to find access to the hotel due to streets repairs. I was angry for this and later I was not supposed to be able to live the rented car at the hotel because they have not that service. I finally convinced the lady to live the car in their personal parking place. The best: half block away from 5th avenue (but you can sleep well without noise) and half block away from the beach. Average: rooms/facilities, food, service. Bad: no parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmolina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed here mid Jan 2012. Location - Excelent - 1/2 block from beach, 1/2 blk to 5th Ave, 1 1/2 blocks to bus depot. Hotel- quiet, clean, comfortable, well kept grounds. Breakfast included with room rate, varied daily and all were very good. Rooftop sun deck is great to stargaze and sip your favorite.

Cons - Ice is not available on site nor is there an ice bucket/cooler supplied. The glasses(tumblers) are glass(a+) not plastic but are not freshly supplied each day. Tap water is not potable, but this is common in Mexico.
Outlets are scarce 1, under desk with t/v plugged in(other half used for laptop) and 1 in bathroom. There is no outlet near the bed, if my wife wanted to use her heating-pad she had to lay on floor or sit up in desk chair.
All considered I rate this as a 4.5 out of 5

Room Tip: There is an elevator in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in January, and this hotel didn't disappoint. The location was perfect, we could leave our hotel barefoot with just swimsuits and towels and be on the beach, or get dressed up and be in a nice restaurant, both within 2 minutes of leaving our room.

The complementary breakfast was delicious, with a vegetarian and non-veg option every day. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with everything. They let us leave our bags at the hotel while we waited to go to the airport on our last day and answered any questions we had. I sent them an email with a question after booking and received a response within 15 minutes.

The roof top balcony had a nice view of the ocean and the sunset over PDC. The pool was small but clean. Overall I recommend this hotel, its the second small hotel I've stayed in while in PDC and its my favourite so far, even tho it was about $50 a night cheaper than the other one I tried. I would stay here again.

The AC kept the room very cool and comfortable. The Housekeeper did a great job every day. Altho the restaurant next to the hotel was very loud in the late evening, I didn't notice it from my room. The only thing I found a bit loud was the cenote waterfall on the property. Our room was on the second floor right in front of it and I would have liked to sit with the balcony door open while we watched TV but it was too loud. They turned the waterfall off at night somehow tho so it wasn't that big of a deal. I imagine if your room was further from it or higher up you wouldn't notice it as much. And yeah, yeah, no one comes to Mexico to watch TV, but if you've been out in the blistering sun all day there is no shame in laying in your room for an hour in the afternooon watching an old CSI rerun with spanish subtitles while you recharge for the evening!! The TV was nice by the way, a little flat screen with several english channels.

Ignore the photos from 2009 and before, the main building of the hotel and the pool don't even appear to have been built yet in them.

Room Tip: check what is in your room carefully before booking, not all rooms have the same stuff. I thought th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikii44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTTAWA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in October and were very pleased. The rooms were modern and comfortable, Good Mexican breakfasts were included. We loved being in close proximity to the beach and restaurants.

The office staff were very professional and helpful. We will be returning in February.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank statboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel is convenient to everything in Playa Del Carmen. The facility is clean and secure. I had a single deluxe room and it was huge. The maid service was super and every morning they offered breakfast in the courtyard. The pool is cleaned daily and the water is cool and refreshing on a hot day. The price is very reasonable and the staff always helpful and friendly. Airconditioning worked great and was very quiet.

Room Tip: I had room 206 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We spent 5 nights here in June of 2001, and wished we could stay longer. Grounds are beautiful, staff was excellent, and location was perfect. We enjoyed the stay so much we are contemplating a return in the fall. This is the second time members of our party have stayed here, and the experience just keeps getting better. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: All are nice. If you wish an oceanfront view, get the 4th floor rooms. The older building near the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#142 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#107 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#74 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#118 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#87 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an

Property: Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre 5a Av y Z.F.M. 141, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'An Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing