We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality, Classy, and Accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lunata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lunata
Ranked #84 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality, Classy, and Accommodating”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

On our way to and from Belize, my fiance and I stayed here. On the night of our return stay, we were warmly greeted and welcomed back. It meant the world to know that they remembered us. I cannot say enough about the hotel aesthetic. Very stylish, with traditional Mexican decor. The location is outstanding if you want to be in the heart of Fifth Avenue. Yet the peaceful courtyard is a beautiful escape from the bustling street. If I were to return to Playa, this place would be where I would stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gottogo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    110
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
185
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex. uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Looked at this hotel in 2012 and decided to stay for 4 nights this May. Definitely a good choice. Lunata is in the heart of 5th Ave with an amazing choice of restaurants and shops. The staff could not be more welcoming especially Louisianna & Erika always on hand to answer questions and recommend places to eat. Good breakfast and the best orange juice ever. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Calypso, overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jaz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel, beautifully designed in colonial Mexican style, gets just about everything right. Wonderful, helpful staff; nicely appointed rooms that feel spacious and gracious; clean, beautifully appointed common areas, including a lovely garden in back. One enters an oasis entering Hotel Lunata, although it is right on Fifth Avenue - the main drag of Playa del Carmen. If you want a huge beach resort catering to your every whim, this isn't it. If you want a small, impeccably-run hotel that is a respite from Playa's more annoying aspects, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CaptainTutix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Lunata during our honeymoon. We initially stayed at a different hotel upon arrival to Playa. It was terrible! The hotel was far from the beach, the air conditioner wasn't working, the bed was not very inviting, and the food wasn't great. We took a loooong walk around Playa in search forbthe perfect hotel. We thought we were doomed, until... we walked past Lunata. You can't really tell it's a hotel since the entrance is rather small and there are small businesses around- since it's on Quinta Avenida. Well, we took a few steps backward to get a better look. I fell in love with it within seconds! The receptionist was super nice, and when we asked if it was possible to look at an available room, she immediately took us to a few that were available. There are only 9 or 10 rooms- that was one of the things I loved about this Hacienda style hotel. We looked at several, but the one we loved was the Ofelia. The rooms don't go by numbers at Lunata, they have names of stars :)
The room was SUPER clean, air condotioned so it felt like a lil freezer when w walked in- which was great!- andthe smell- I will never forget that smell of cucumber each time we opened our door!!! The king size bed, a mini frigde, small dinette table, our own balcony overviewing the garden, and the bathroom--- oh, everything about Lunata is perfect!!!!! And we were just a block's walk away from the beach!!!! And about 7 minutes to the ferry's terminal...It truly couldn't have gotten any better than that for us. I couldn't rave about this hotel more- you have got to experience it yourself!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilianaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We had last-minute reservations and stayed at this hotel. I am very impressed on the location and cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff. I would recommend staying there if you were want to stay on Fifth Avenue

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellswins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was a really great experience at a reasonable price. Hotel Lumana is a buried treasure amongst the hub-bub of every day touristy (dis?) attractions of The Playa. If you want to rustle around enjoying the local attractions and then just chill afterwards, this is exactly for you! Enjoy the beautiful beaches, stroll the Avenue, sip a few cold drinks, get lost wandering and you will be ready for the quaint retreat Lumata freely enjoys. A quiet courtyard, clean rooms, exceptional staff AND a breakfast, this is by far a hotel worth staying at.
We ventured into Playa del Carmen from our resort hotel (not worth mentioning) and just by wandering around 5th Avenue, we found the narrow entrance to Lumata. This narrow yet elegant entrance opens to a serene and quiet courtyard. After stopping and viewing this, we decided to stay overnight here. This was so relaxing compared to the hustle of a resort, only 10 rooms and yet you almost felt like you were alone here. We enjoyed this first encounter with the Lumata so
much that we decided to stay another night. It really was that attractive!
We still enjoyed everything Playa has to offer but we also felt that we had a very private retreat to return to. And if you have been to Playa del Carmen, you understand how nice a quiet retreat can be. Quiet, quaint, relaxing and so intimate, the Lumata is by far a sparkling jewel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclingHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Lunata February 26- March 6 and had a fabulous time!!! Beautiful Mexican style 10 room hotel on 5th avenue. Rooms were very clean. Great bathroom with hot water and wonderful water pressure. I absolutely LOVED the daily free breakfast that included toast, cereal, fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice!! It was served in the beautiful garden area!! The receptionist, Erika, was absolutely the sweetest! She always had a smile and made us feel at home. We will definitely be back. Our room faced 5th avenue and I had no trouble sleeping! Noise was not an issue. Great trip at a good price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jswcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#96 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#107 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lunata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lunata

Property: Hotel Lunata
Address: Avenida 5 between Calle 6 and 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lunata 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lunata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunata Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Lunata Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Lunata Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing