We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Lunata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lunata
Ranked #82 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New Hyde Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

my stay at hotel lunata was nothing short of amazing. the room had a great view of the lively 5th ave below! (with double glass doors so noise isnt an issue when you're trying to sleep!) the room was clean and huge, and a steal with the price we paid. i cannot say enough how thoroughly compassionate, helpful, and pleasant the staff are. Erika in particular was just fantastic, she was beyond helpful and sweet and such a joy to be with! we will most definitely be returning, and so will some of our friends at the rate we rave about you!!!
-katherine murray and jamie mckay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    111
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
187
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After arriving in Playa del Carmen to what was a terribly disappointing hotel (Hotel Cielo) we were walking to dinner on our first night trying to decide what we were going to do and called in to Hotel Lunata on 5th avenue to be greeted by the most lovely Fabriola who offered us a room at discount price and a tour of the hotel, after looking at the rooms we jumped at the opportunity to spend our remaining 8nights at Hotel Lu ate as opposed to our dive Hotel Cielo, we even forfeited 2 nights at the other hotel for the sake of a beautiful and clean hotel. the staff were kind enough to let us check in the following morning at 8am with full access to rooms and facilities at no extra cost! Furthermore to the above:

ROOM: room we have is very spacious, facing the courtyard with balcony, two twin beds and beautiful bathroom. Rooms are decorated beautifully as is the rest of the hotel, giving a really authentic feeling to the Mexican hotel. Housekeeping do a brilliant job which cannot be faulted. Beds are firm but I find comfortable, safe is available and room contains a fridge and kitchen sink plus tv and air conditioning. The too. Feels very safe and secure with reception open until 11 and security guard at the front gate overnight.

PRICE: if you are wanting to experience an all authentic mexican experience without the all inclusive resot deal this place is amazing! You definately get what you pay for plus a bit more and very friendly saff to go along with it. We were visiting in low season so perhaps price might be a little higher during peak but we were very happy.

LOCATION: perfectly located on 5th avenue so close to shops, restaurants and beaches, they also provide free chairs and discounts at two of the beach resorts just down the road (both of which are really lovely with comfortable chairs, kind wait staff and beautiful views.)

BREAKFAST: breakfast was included in the price and is held downstairs under a cute little hut, everyone sits at a big table and is a great opportunity to meet people and share tips on places to go. Breakfast includes fresh fruit plate (cut and prepared when you arrive) fresh juice, toast and cereal, tea and coffee, perfect for the hot weather and an added bonus.

PARKING: we did not have a car so are unsure.

RESAURANT: hotel does not have taurant, however there are several restaurans next door which offer a and of food.

Overall, we loved this place, the location, hotel and mostly the staff made the experience amazing, it made our trip unforgettable and authentic, would holy recommend.

Room Tip: From recommendations rooms at the back are quieter, but rooms at the front is great for people watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was on the bus heading from Puerto Morelos to Tulum and decided at the last minute to spend a night in Playa del Carmen. I knew there were enough hotels in PDC that I wouldn’t have to worry about not having a reservation anywhere. The bus station is conveniently on the main street in PDC (5th Avenue) so I just started walking in search of an inexpensive but interesting hotel. After a few blocks I noticed the discreet but inviting entrance to the Hotel Lunata. When you walk through the entrance you come to an enclosed garden area with a palapa and some tables…it’s literally like a little oasis off the very busy street. The desk clerk offered a good rate due to it being the slow season, and showed me the room before I made the decision to take it.

The hotel is simply a charming, warm and comfortable place to stay. I had a single room with a queen sized bed, refrigerator (equipped with snacks and drinks that will be added to your bill if you take anything), central air, flat screen cable TV, and a tiny balcony that overlooks 5th Avenue. The wood textures and warm colors offer a soothing and relaxing atmosphere, and the tiled bath and shower with the wood sink was beautiful. The only small downside to my experience was that I couldn’t get an internet connection in my room on the third floor and had to go to the lobby area to get one. That was really no big deal because the rest of the hotel and its amenities made up for it.

My one regret was that I was only able to stay for one night because I had reservations in Tulum the next day. I honestly didn’t want to leave. If I ever go back to Playa del Carmen, I would definitely stay here again because it is convenient to all shops and restaurants and is only a block away from the beach. I would highly recommend the Hotel Lunata to adult travelers who want a quiet retreat after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isladeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent their 10 night and we love everything in this place!
The rooms are big and very clean.
The staff is great, very nice and always want to help and to give u the best service !!
We will come back to lunata

Room Tip: all roome are good!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_k_d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 11 nights and really enjoyed our stay !
The ocation is perfect , its close to the beach and all the other attractions.
The rooms are very big and clean .
Its a walking distance from the bus central.
For this price its Most recommended !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EitanKoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I love this place. The name is beautiful, the grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are soooo pretty and clean! The breakfast is nice, the employees are super nice. The location is perfect!! I will come back here one day!!!

Room Tip: I had a street side room, there were some noisy people staying near me but that wasnt a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflyxoxoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel lunata is a great litlle hotel with the best location walking distance from all the hot spots from playa del carmen.
We stayed in a room with a small balcony viewing the hacienda style garden you also have the option of the view on 5th avenue but we chose the garden view wich was verry nice and quiet great for a romantic escape o just a few days to relax....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank will cun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#87 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#70 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#108 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lunata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lunata

Property: Hotel Lunata
Address: Avenida 5 between Calle 6 and 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lunata 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lunata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunata Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Lunata Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Lunata Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing