We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Club Potentially Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Ranked #71 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

There are two sides to the Occidental, the holiday camp side and the Royal Club. I will only comment on the Royal Club.
First impressions were not good, You get dropped off at the main reception to be told you have to check in at he Royal Club, ask the porter for directions. The porter takes you to the rear of the main building, points to a bus sign on the wall and then down to some area below ( we later found was a bus stop). We set off walking with hand luggage and the clothes we travelled in which were a bit warm despite it being dark. We stop three times on the way looking at maps and getting our bearings when two Americans help us but tell us they had checked into one of the rooms in the main building and had to be moved, they said was a 3 star place with 5 star potential.
We got to the Royal club and what a difference. A glass of champagne while you check in is always welcome. We had an upgrade to a suite which was very roomy. The best part of the Royal club is the restaurant. The staff were outstanding and could not do too much for you including many items not on the menu. It was our wedding anniversary while there which we mentioned to a waiter. The following evening they had prepared a special table and meal for us which was a typical Mexican feast and truly wonderful. The Royal Club would easily have a 5star + rating, just a pity they don't have transport ready to take you there from reception

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exportopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,914)
There are newer reviews for Occidental at Xcaret Destination
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,274 - 5,280 of 12,914 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

I booked a wedding at the Occidental in May 2011. In August 2011, a few weeks before our departure, the wedding coordinator contacted us with a list of menu options for the wedding. Each course consisted of about 4 options. We emailed back our choices and that was that. 3 weeks later 9 of us left for Cancun. When we arrived we had quite a long walk from the lobby to our building. Fortunately, it was absolutely stunning. There was wildlife everywhere, it was quiet and VERY hot! Our room was nice. Big bed, big bathroom, sitting room with a big tv and mini fridge with pop, water and beer. We showered and headed to the buffet. The room was gorgeous. Tall ceilings with big, tall windows you could see the trees and lemurs out the window. It was beautiful. There was a lot of food all of it just okay. I was looking forward to some seafood but unfortunately, during our 7 day stay, not once did the buffet serve anything other than the occasional fish dish and prawn dish. They didn't offer "slushy" drinks and no straws!! I even asked and was told, nope. After we headed over to see the entertainment. It was karaoke, kids playing around, very mediocre. And EVERYONE was smoking. As a non-smoker it was awful! The next day, My fiancé and I met with our wedding coordinator. She sat us down and asked very simple questions. "what kind of flowers" we wanted white lilies and stargazer lilies."what kind of cake-- round, square, heart shaped?" We wanted round. "What flavor?" We asked what options we had. She said "anything!" so we said white cake infused with baileys irish cream. "what music do you want?" we got to choose a "walk down the aisle" song, a "signing papers" song and a "now youre married" song. they has the traditional songs and a couple current songs on hand. I wanted 3 specific indi songs so its a good job I brought my ipod (which I handed over the morning of the wedding) "where would you like to get married?" we said the gazebo over looking the ocean. "what time?" we said the latest we could (4pm) she then told us that after we were married we got to choose a day to have a private dinner in the wedding gazebo catered by the seafood restaurant. we chose 6pm the day before we were scheduled to leave. she gave us each an itinerary of where we will be picked up and at what time by a little decorated golf cart. it also said what time I could go get my hair and makeup done by the salon.
The following day, everything was absolutely perfect. my hair, makeup, dress, the flowers, the food, the music, the cake it was all perfect. I couldn't have asked for anything better. my husband had a bit of trouble understanding the officiator but we giggled through it. when we got back to our room, they had rose petals on the floor and bed.
the rest of the trip was wonderful. we basically had the pool to ourselves, the sun was shining. a man came around to the pool with a monkey on a leash. we could have our picture taken with him and then go to the photography booth and purchase the pictures the next day if you want. As a member of PETA this made me soooo sad! but that's besides the point LOL
The day before we left, my hubby and I made our way at 6pm to the gazebo for our private dinner. it was empty. there was no one in sight. we walked back to the lobby (and by the way since the resort is huge I was already mad that I had to walk so much) when I got to the lobby the wedding coordinator wasn't there. her assistant apologized profusely and arranged for us to head over to another restaurant to have dinner there. again, no seafood for me. the waiter was very nice though and made it a special evening.
All in all, I had a wonderful time. it was a lot of walking and nothing special about the food but I had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courtney g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My friend and I took a 5 night trip to Cancun on April 3rd and stayed at the Occidental. First and foremost. If you are into walking along the beach, this hotel is not for you as they have a man made beach which is very tight with beach chairs everywhere. The beach, does not have a lot of shade so you need to go early (7am) if you want a chair with a shade (which you have to find and save with your beach chair). The huts and beds are minimal so don't even bother trying unless you go down at 6am. Same with the pools, their are always chairs but just not in a good spot or shaded area. The hotel rooms were fine, our room was 10208 which is a building right off the lobby, which we found great as we had a bit of a walk in the morning to beach or pool but then we were right in the same building of all the stores/vendors and restaurants. The entertainment crew was really good, they really tried to keep things grooving but the entertainment in the theater wasn't that great. They had a movie every night at 7pm for the kids followed by a kids dance party. The discotheque doesn't open till 11 so once the entertainment ends at 10, there wasn't much to do unless you wanted to go play pool with the young kids in the sports bar that smelled. And the WIFI .. you have to buy it, there is an internet shop which closes at 6pm, otherwise their is no internet, whatsoever. And even after you purchase it the best place to use it is at the lobby bar. The food was good, the buffet always had a variety and the smoothies are awesome. You can have breakfast and lunch in the main buffet and their is also a buffet at the beach restaurant which is nice. Hammocks everywhere for a quick snooze and the drinks are awesome. The restaurants were very nice, my favorite was the oriental, the portions and options were great and El pescador is actually located at the beach. You can catch the little cart that travels thru the resort thru out the day and night. Overall the hotel was very nice. I would of appreciated an orientation of the hotel showing us the location of the pools and restaurants as you spend quite a bit of time looking for everything and possibly speak more English.

Room Tip: Buildings off lobby were nice, had a balcony and close to the restaurants.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Really large hotel with lots of flora and fauna! You have to walk a lot: to get to the beach or the buffet area. Food was average, typical all inclusive stuff with themed buffet nights and themed restaurants. Best ones were the Mexican restaurant and the Steakhouse! The private beach is gorgeous with helpful waiters and the pools are really lovely with good music. If you are planning to spend the day at the pool/beach, get your towels and reserve loungers at 7am, otherwise you're walking around for ages finding a great spot. Also the beach have parasols and sun shade cove things but the pools don't at all, so when the sun is blazing- its blazing full force and you have no shade to hide under! The waiters no how to make a lot of cocktails but SOME of the waiting staff in the main buffet restaurant are a little distant (they only tend to you if you tip or call them over).
The disco was hilariously empty but after a few drinks you let loose and make new friends with the only other 2 people in there! The beds are really firm, which I found uncomfortable. And balconies are small, you literally have 2 steps to take.
Overall was a nice hotel with lots to see: parrots, monkeys, iguanas, deer etc. Great for families and bonding time with friends too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Food was not very good. That includes the buffets and specialty restaurants. I did not find the food fresh at all. The beach area is very small. There is a lot of pressure to attend their Vacation Club presentations, Really annoying. Smoking is allowed outside everywhere on the property. Should be special areas designated. Was there to attend a wedding which was handled very well and was beautiful. Very convenient to Xcaret which was great. All in all just so-so.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

By far, the most amazing vacation experience in the Royal Club section of the Occidental Grand Xcaret. If you want to be treated like royalty, this is the place to be! The bad part, it has set the bar very high for our future vacation destinations.

Room Tip: Suggest 2nd floor in the Royal Club
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHL321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The bar staff, waiters, maids and bell boys make this resort, the management and reception staff really let it down. The service on a day to day basis is excellent and the food and drinks of a high standard. However I do not belive the management care at all about whether their guests are happy or if they can do anthing to improve a guests stay, I think this is very much a case of we have your money so lump it. I was also dissapointed to see the sections of the resort which have been given over to the First Club and the Virgin Holidays areas, this is pure greed on the part of the Hotel with not a care for the normal paying guest who now gets access to less of the resort for the same money! Sadly to come away from a hotel feeling let down by part of the team does leave a bad taste especially when paying so much to stay there, looking forward to returning for such a long time and leaving feeling very dissapointed.
I would like to say a big thank you to the team of bartenders, waiting staff and chefs who looked after us and a special thank you Joel Vazquez our bell boy who was friendly and helpful on our last day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simba3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.5 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
15.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,721 reviews
17.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,542 reviews
22.2 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental at Xcaret Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 282 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $159 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Occidental at Xcaret Destination 4.5*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Occidental at Xcaret Destination in Riviera Maya is a perfect combination in a natural setting with preserved cultural landmarks and an all-inclusive resort with a unique array of rooms, services, and state-of-the-art facilities. Choosing among the many possible activities is the most complicated part of a stay at this resort in Playa del Carmen. Swimming with dolphins, attending a Mayan Indian ceremony, enjoying all types of water sports at the beach club or sailing down the beautiful rivers and canals that surround the hotel are just a few highlights. The Xcaret eco-archeological park offers one of the most unique and exciting park, especially for families, by guaranteeing over 40 cultural attractions and expositions on art and traditions in Mexico. However, as people normally say at the hotel: "Do it all...or simply do nothing." Choose from a list of diverse activities such as strolling through the lush gardens at the resort, enjoying the sun while lying on a hammock, or taking a refreshing swim in one of the resort's five pools or private beach. Anti-stress remedies at the resort are endless. Regardless of how you plan each day at the resort, the hotel's choice of culinary selections is designed to satisfy the demands of every kind of guest. With 10 bars, including the one at the club, and 11 restaurants, guests have the freedom to choose a snack, an informal meal, a gourmet feast or a candlelight dinner, among many other options. The key to this resort is balancing between modern facilities and the marvelous Mexican rainforest that is filled with stunning local wildlife. Entertainment, relaxation and nature coexist at the Occidental at Xcaret Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental at Xcaret Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Xcaret Hotel
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Xcaret Grand Occidental
Occidental Xcaret
Hotel Xcaret
Xcaret Playa Del Carmen
Grand Xcaret Occidental
Xcaret Hotel
Grand Occidental Xcaret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing