We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Set in lots of natural area, small beach area, many neat pools to enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Ranked #73 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,271 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Set in lots of natural area, small beach area, many neat pools to enjoy”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for a week on an all-inclusive package. I had never been on such a package, so maybe some of the items I encountered are normal - if so, sorry for writing them. Our room - what they call a junior suite - was certainly spacious enough for the two of us. The grounds are 'ecological'. Pretty much anywhere they could have left native trees and/or jungle-like land - they did. which made for very pleasant walking and cool shade. There is a short nature trail. But nature is everywhere around you. And so are drinks! It is hard to work up an alcoholic [or otherwise] thirst around this place. The staff was hit and miss. People in the restaurants were nice and service was good. People at front desk [and those where you reserve restaurants] need some customer service training. Speaking of restaurant reservations - here you need to be sure you know what you are buying in your package. We found out we could only book four meals [the rest we had to eat at the buffet]. As far as the food - the buffet was not bad at all, Mexican restaurant was average, Italian/Mediterranean [though we both ate beef] was good,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,060
    3,783
    1,490
    693
    516
See reviews for
3,729
4,664
140
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,707)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is clean, excellent staff members and they know how to treat their guests and attend to their every need. They have an amazing lazyriver with water rafts, which in my case makes it sooooo much fun. The ocean smells and looks great, this hotel has the most amazing food, and is in very tip top shape!

Room Tip: Next time though I shouldve been upgraded, am a VIP guest, we kinda own a portion of the company sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

That's right, I came home from this recent trip with bedbug bites and they are really ugly! That's the worst but not the only problem. Would you believe there were three dead rats in the ladies room by the pool? How about a flooded floor in our room after a heavy rain that soaked our bedding and shoes? We will not return to this resort.

Room Tip: stay away from this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terriznp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Terriznp,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please know that we take all feedback very seriously as it helps us to enhance the experience for our guests. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel your experience met your expectations on your recent stay with us. While you did enjoy the location and the accommodation, it seems you experienced some opportunities to improve upon service.

We would like to confirm that there have been no complaints or evidence of bed bugs in any of our rooms as you mentioned. We take the prevention and treatment of bed bug infestations very seriously.

Should you choose to return, we look forward to the opportunity of making your next stay much better than the last.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Impressively designed hotel within extremely large site but beach would be too small for many people. On the other hand there were plenty of excellent swimming pools, including one with a swim up bar. Choice of foods in the main buffet restaurant was very good and there were in addition a selection of themed restaurants to choose from. Accommodation excellent but some rooms were without lift access. Our air conditioned room had a very large double bed and the bathroom had an excellent shower. Towels were very good as were the face flannels (don't use your own as this will be replaced). There was plenty of space to store clothes and ample recharging points for electrical appliances. An iron, ironing board and hairdryer were provided, also an umbrella for those walks through the rain to the buffet restaurant. After a downpour the walkways in all the buildings were very slippery and the hotel laid down carpets etc to assist guests but not always 100% effectively. Staff were friendly and helpful but the time share (sorry vacation club) salesmen were too intrusive. Some wild life within the grounds eg monkeys butterflies and coatis The hotel was situated right next door to Xcaret Theme Park. Access to this was directly from the hotel grounds and you could return from the park for hotel meals during the day. Customer services at the hotel were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m1000c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed with my friends for a week in the resort. From ALL INCLUSIVE option you definitely expect more.

PLUSES:
- Beautiful place comprising wild life, pools, chilling zones
- Very friendly people with rare exceptions
- Shopping are was very useful since you are far far away from Playa del Carmen

MINUSES:
- Paid internet (15$/hour!!!!)
- Awful food - We tried all restaurants except Oriental one and unfortunately all of them were very average.The fish restaurant was the nicest and in fact the only one together with the buffet when afterwords i had no problems with my stomach. Everything super salty. The staff from Los Olivos was so rude! We were waiting for our food an hour. Arrived cold and not eatable.
- Coctails also not good quality
- Room was nice and comfy although we had no hot water for the first 3 days and no working fridge.
- Management issues on every step. Getting an invoice takes ages with the eventual mistakes on it. You are confused by getting different information dependent on who you ask.

CONCLUSION: With a hotel choice offered by Playa del Carmen and surrounding I will definitely stay somewhere else. For the money you pay you have a right to expect WAY MORE.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlaPerpetua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay primarily due to the proximity of the Xcaret Ecopark next door.
It was great to be able to walk for 5 minutes and be inside the Park to enjoy all the activities that it had to offer. We are not beach sitters and I would say that you should not go here if all you want to do is lie in the sun. The beach area is small basically just a little cove off the ocean but there is some good snorkelling in this cove when the sun is out and the fish are in. We really enjoyed the restaurant by the ocean where you could go for lunch or breakfast buffet and night time sea food by reservation. The Mexican restaurant was also great.
Buffet food is much the same as every all inclusive. Just say no to the timeshare pitch when you have your meeting with the Concierge at your building. Watch out for the friendly people in white shirts at Cancun airport they are also Timeshare sellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jlgHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I booked to stay here with our 1 year old son for just 2 nights as we were keen to visit the Day of the Dead festival at the Xcaret Park directly next door. It was a simple 45 minute drive from Cancun airport. We weren't expecting much from the hotel really as we had paid very little for our room. We were in fact pleasantly surprised - the hotel itself was very large but didn't feel busy or crowded. The grounds were very well kept and we loved the beautiful walk through the trees and jungle down to the small but perfectly formed (although man-made) beach. Staff were very friendly and keen to help. Rooms were simple, but very clean and large. Ours had a great view off over the jungle and we woke to birds hopping around on the balcony. Food was okay - big buffets which were more quantity over quality, but we found if you stuck to eating the Mexican dishes everything was good. The beach bar and restaurant overlooking the bay was great for lunch.

We would certainly recommend a short trip here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharkymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,572 reviews
16.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,178 reviews
15.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,141 reviews
26.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,794 reviews
16.5 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental at Xcaret Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Property: Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 282 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental at Xcaret Destination 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Occidental at Xcaret Destination in Riviera Maya is a perfect combination in a natural setting with preserved cultural landmarks and an all-inclusive resort with a unique array of rooms, services, and state-of-the-art facilities. Choosing among the many possible activities is the most complicated part of a stay at this resort in Playa del Carmen. Swimming with dolphins, attending a Mayan Indian ceremony, enjoying all types of water sports at the beach club or sailing down the beautiful rivers and canals that surround the hotel are just a few highlights. The Xcaret eco-archeological park offers one of the most unique and exciting park, especially for families, by guaranteeing over 40 cultural attractions and expositions on art and traditions in Mexico. However, as people normally say at the hotel: "Do it all...or simply do nothing." Choose from a list of diverse activities such as strolling through the lush gardens at the resort, enjoying the sun while lying on a hammock, or taking a refreshing swim in one of the resort's five pools or private beach. Anti-stress remedies at the resort are endless. Regardless of how you plan each day at the resort, the hotel's choice of culinary selections is designed to satisfy the demands of every kind of guest. With 10 bars, including the one at the club, and 11 restaurants, guests have the freedom to choose a snack, an informal meal, a gourmet feast or a candlelight dinner, among many other options. The key to this resort is balancing between modern facilities and the marvelous Mexican rainforest that is filled with stunning local wildlife. Entertainment, relaxation and nature coexist at the Occidental at Xcaret Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Barcelo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental at Xcaret Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Xcaret Hotel
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Xcaret Grand Occidental
Occidental Xcaret
Hotel Xcaret
Xcaret Playa Del Carmen
Grand Xcaret Occidental
Xcaret Hotel
Grand Occidental Xcaret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing