We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Nearby Hotels
$293
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$301
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$297
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$486
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (14,471)
Filter reviews
14,471 results
Traveler rating
6,593
4,596
1,800
834
648
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,593
4,596
1,800
834
648
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubman made beachfun clubpacos tacosel pescadorsonora grillle buffetfirst clubtime shareseafood restaurantunderground riverbeach buffetfun poolmain buffetswim up bareco parkbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
6,813 - 6,818 of 14,471 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Impressively designed hotel within extremely large site but beach would be too small for many people. On the other hand there were plenty of excellent swimming pools, including one with a swim up bar. Choice of foods in the main buffet restaurant was very good and there were in addition a selection of themed restaurants to choose from. Accommodation excellent but some rooms were without lift access. Our air conditioned room had a very large double bed and the bathroom had an excellent shower. Towels were very good as were the face flannels (don't use your own as this will be replaced). There was plenty of space to store clothes and ample recharging points for electrical appliances. An iron, ironing board and hairdryer were provided, also an umbrella for those walks through the rain to the buffet restaurant. After a downpour the walkways in all the buildings were very slippery and the hotel laid down carpets etc to assist guests but not always 100% effectively. Staff were friendly and helpful but the time share (sorry vacation club) salesmen were too intrusive. Some wild life within the grounds eg monkeys butterflies and coatis The hotel was situated right next door to Xcaret Theme Park. Access to this was directly from the hotel grounds and you could return from the park for hotel meals during the day. Customer services at the hotel were very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m1000c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed with my friends for a week in the resort. From ALL INCLUSIVE option you definitely expect more.

PLUSES:
- Beautiful place comprising wild life, pools, chilling zones
- Very friendly people with rare exceptions
- Shopping are was very useful since you are far far away from Playa del Carmen

MINUSES:
- Paid internet (15$/hour!!!!)
- Awful food - We tried all restaurants except Oriental one and unfortunately all of them were very average.The fish restaurant was the nicest and in fact the only one together with the buffet when afterwords i had no problems with my stomach. Everything super salty. The staff from Los Olivos was so rude! We were waiting for our food an hour. Arrived cold and not eatable.
- Coctails also not good quality
- Room was nice and comfy although we had no hot water for the first 3 days and no working fridge.
- Management issues on every step. Getting an invoice takes ages with the eventual mistakes on it. You are confused by getting different information dependent on who you ask.

CONCLUSION: With a hotel choice offered by Playa del Carmen and surrounding I will definitely stay somewhere else. For the money you pay you have a right to expect WAY MORE.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlaPerpetua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay primarily due to the proximity of the Xcaret Ecopark next door.
It was great to be able to walk for 5 minutes and be inside the Park to enjoy all the activities that it had to offer. We are not beach sitters and I would say that you should not go here if all you want to do is lie in the sun. The beach area is small basically just a little cove off the ocean but there is some good snorkelling in this cove when the sun is out and the fish are in. We really enjoyed the restaurant by the ocean where you could go for lunch or breakfast buffet and night time sea food by reservation. The Mexican restaurant was also great.
Buffet food is much the same as every all inclusive. Just say no to the timeshare pitch when you have your meeting with the Concierge at your building. Watch out for the friendly people in white shirts at Cancun airport they are also Timeshare sellers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jlgHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I booked to stay here with our 1 year old son for just 2 nights as we were keen to visit the Day of the Dead festival at the Xcaret Park directly next door. It was a simple 45 minute drive from Cancun airport. We weren't expecting much from the hotel really as we had paid very little for our room. We were in fact pleasantly surprised - the hotel itself was very large but didn't feel busy or crowded. The grounds were very well kept and we loved the beautiful walk through the trees and jungle down to the small but perfectly formed (although man-made) beach. Staff were very friendly and keen to help. Rooms were simple, but very clean and large. Ours had a great view off over the jungle and we woke to birds hopping around on the balcony. Food was okay - big buffets which were more quantity over quality, but we found if you stuck to eating the Mexican dishes everything was good. The beach bar and restaurant overlooking the bay was great for lunch.

We would certainly recommend a short trip here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharkymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been going to Mexico, Cancun area for over 20 years. This was my 12th time there and first time at this property.

The grounds are enormous and there is so much to see and do right there but the best part is the snorkeling that is available to you with out an additional fee.

About 20 years ago, a local guy took my husband and I on a day trip and we walked along the rocky shore from a sand road to the very bay this hotel is on now. I remember back then thinking what a paradise it would be one day if there was ever to be a hotel there. Although the beach area is not huge, it is amazing.

Right there, there are tons of fish of many varieties. We even saw an eel in the bay. The water in the bay is a bit blurred because of the streaming fresh water, but still an fantastic experience. For an even better experience, go the far end of the south side of the adult area, and there are step to walk into the ocean. You must have proper fins and mask and snorkel, you can not do this area without.

It was here that we did a ton of snorkeling and even had the amazing experience of large sea turtle that insistently swam with us one morning. It would come so close that a couple of times I got a bit nervous and had to push it away.

There are tons of things to see in those two bays rendering it unnecessary to pay for a snorkeling trip. I have been on many in the area, and for the savings....you see exactly the same.

As for the hotel and services, be sure to make dinner reservations at the lobby of the hotel as soon as you get there otherwise you are almost out of luck. They have four restaurants with different flare. I really liked the seafood one. El Diablo and also the Steak house. The other two were not as stunning. The Buffet at the main building in the evening is different every night nearly so some what interesting although not stunning.

The staff of the hotel are exceptional other than those that stalk guests to get them into a "timeshare" presentation. In my opinion, not worth giving up a good portion of one of your mornings for a fee pass, but hey.....your time.

The property boarders on the Xcaret park. The Xcaret Group owns the hotel, Xcaret, Xplore, Xenotes, and Xhelha and they sell them hard.

We have been to all of them. Before we left home this time we purchased the Xcaret unlimited pass for our entire stay and it was well worth it. There are two different entrances to Xcaret right from the Hotel property and we were back and forth many times taking in different shows and events. Between the hotel property, Xcaret and a day trip to Tulum and Coba, we rarely just sat on the beach during the 10 days that we were there.

Thanks to all the great staff that took care of us. I certainly loved this property more than any other I have ever stayed at and will most likely consider staying there again.

Jodie and Rand Smith of Calgary

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JodieofCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews