We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good! but could've been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Ranked #70 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

loved the grounds! beautiful hotel quiet. The Buffet restaurant by the Lobby is amazing! compared to others it had a lot of variety. I stayed in Bldg 16 which is closed to both the beach, pool and lobby. There are some trails with ruins. Loved the views. As other reviewers have stated the beach is pretty small but the entertainment there makes up for it and right behind the beach restaurant there is an adult only area for sunbathers. Love how you can walk trails in the hotel and see birds, etc. There are some litle huts by the shuttle stops where you'll get a welcome present and you can book the restaurant and excursions as well.let's start with the bad. I booked my reservation in the occidental website.According to the website I was paying for Xcaret extreme which allows unlimited access to the Xcaret park next door. I called twice before getting there to confirm and everything was fine. Once I arrived they had overbooked the hotel and that the reservation was just on hold. Please take note that if you book on their website "prices are subject to change" once you arrive. I was given a different price $10 dollars cheaper than the reservation due to exchange rate and told that I did not have the unlimited access. Btw once I got home my credit was overcharged by $40. I disputed it and they refunded me. After check-in we were sent to Blue Bay in Playa del Carmen for a night (transportation paid RT).Once I checked -in the next day at Occidental Xcaret I was compensated with 2 half hours massages at the spa. Great service. I stayed for four days. No complaints with the food, very relaxing place but if you are looking for some beach bumming time this is not your hotel. I do recommend it if you are doing excursions as it is very closed to many of the attractions. Tip: Book your Xcaret and Xplor experience on the Xcaret park entrances by the the beach restaurant and the entrance in the front of the hotel by following the river trail.

Room Tip: Do not book your reservation on their webiste, bldg 16 has easy access to everything.Book your Xcare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shisell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,112 - 6,118 of 13,053 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although I have not visited yet, I arrive on 10th August, I have found the customer service so far absolutely fantastic and hope it continues on my stay. I had an issue with Virgin holidays with regard to some tickets to the Xcaret Park and Virgin were not quite sure how to deal with the issue. I thought maybe I should see if The hotel could help and within 6 hours a decision was made and the hotel has made me and my family so confident in the service to be that I had to write this review.
P.S. I never write reviews or compliment companies normally but in this instance I have.

Room Tip: Haven't been yet but will let you know for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank DougBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This resort was amazing overall. Me and my boyfriend went in the middle of February 2013 which is usually "spring breaker" time but there were next to no young people, we were among the youngest tourists there (mid twenties). It was perfect, was a more mature crowd/ family oriented resort so you didn't have the annoyance of young drunk kids. But don't get me wrong, it was a really fun atmosphere... and those bartenders DON'T cheap out when they make you a drink!!
The rooms were stunning.. they really went all out on the decor. The bathrooms were a gorgeous stone from floor to ceiling with beautiful furniture in the room.. and yes it was VERY clean!!
The beach is a bay which is still amazing because the fish get swept in and you are literally swimming among hundreds of fish within 5 steps into the water.
The buffet on the ocean is a MUST, breakfast and lunch is something you must experience. Hearing and smelling the ocean as you enjoy GREAT food is something I recommend.
Lastly, the staff was great. Friendly, attentive and seem to be happy. The only thing is as soon as you arrive some staff try to sell you time-shares. They don't tell you this right away and ask for 5 minutes of your time which turns into 3 hours.. I kid you not. Unless you want to buy in, say you're not interested right away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Asked for and got rooms that are refurbished in blocks 20, 21 with forest views.

Thanks trip advisor for the advice as there are some dodgy rooms on to the pool areas (never seem to close) and fun club is fun and noisy. Good when you want that and a pain when you don't!

The sea water pool beyond the beach bar is stunning and peaceful. The view over the Caribbean was top draw and the snorkelling is very good too. So good that day trip boats moor just off and paying punters get a look at the other side of the reef.

Sea food and steak restaurants are the best by far - but you have to book. Oriental restaurant is the lowest. Men must wear shoes and long trousers to the speciality restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandhurst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon/family holiday (as we have two young children) our room was dark and dingy and had mould all over the ceiling and all in the bathroom! You couldn't dry anything on the balcony as the sprinklers would flood it every night!
The staff seem to take really good care of the grounds and lobby's! But the rooms are awful we didn't see any of the pools being cleaned during our two week stay there full of dead flys cigarette butts and empty drinks from the drunks that like to sit in the pool n drink all day! Our daughter got an eye infection from the pool and my husband an ear infection!!

The Buffett food was appalling cold and always the same boring stuff the steak house and the oriental restaurant were amazing very good staff!

There was nowhere to sit on rainy days as everywhere is outside except the sports bar but u have to be over 18! There was the lobby bar but drinks didn't seem to be served there in the day plus it closes at 12am which to me was shocking for a holiday resort!!

The best part of our holiday was xal Hal this is a must beautiful place we also took our two children to swim with the dolphins at dolphin discovery they loved it!!

You couldn't just take a stroll out to anywhere as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere (which it didn't say in the brochure) so u have to get taxis which u get ripped off with and even then the only place to go is a shopping mall (who wants to go there on ur holiday??) but to us any time out of the resort was a bonus!!

We did have a massage which was lovely no very cheap though as ud expect on holiday!

We got absolutely eaten by the thousands of Mosquitos that are there it's AWFUL not even the sprays worked and you couldn't sit on your balcony as it was covered with them!

My husband was also very ill for the last 4 days so just had to stay in the room I can only think it was the food as a few other people we met there had also been ill and did not enjoy this holiday!!

I would defiantly not recommend this holiday it is the worst place I have ever been I have stayed in better 2*!! It only good for the Americans that just want to get drunk all day n cause arguments (which we saw a few times) awful awful time!!!

We haven't been home long but are already booking our next holiday as we feel we haven't had one!!!

Please don't be fooled by the lovely pictures of the resort like we were we could not wait to come home!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItzeSocialMedia_Ctor, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Elbell86,

We appreciate the time you took to sending us such a detail review, we are very glad to read you enjoyed the service provided for our staff at the Sonora Grill restaurant and D’oriental. Also the Tour to Xel Ha and the experience to swim with dolphins.

We sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems.

The issues that you had in your room are not at all typical of the standards of service and housekeeping that we provide to our guests, and we regret you’re disappointed. We regret that your room was not properly cleaned before your arrival we discussed this point with our Housekeeping management for a review and I assure you that we will take measures to correct it.
We work with an international high hygiene standards company Preverisk, which certified our cleanness standards. For guests security the pool receives maintenance when the guests are not using the facilities.

We are very concerned by your experience at the restaurants as we haven’t received any reports of guest falling ill at the hotel. We work with an internationally recognized food and quality standard company, which certifies that our food and beverages follow the international requirements of food hygiene and sanity. We also thoroughly test our food and water and have strict controls in place to ensure our guests’ safety. We shared your husband's experienced with the food and beverage manager to verify their procedures.
We understand about our entertainment options, this is our rainy season and we need to improve our indoors activities. Thank you for your comment. Currently our team is working on it.

Also note the summer at the Caribbean you can find different kinds of insects, we have a pest control constantly working, we suggest use repellent also, please remember Occidental Grand Xcaret is an ecological hotel and we strive to protect the environment and fauna in the hotel.

We sincerely hope you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to restore your trust and confident.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Actually travelled in July/Aug 2012. The hotel was very full. We kept being asked to move hotels but as we had so many trips booked it was too complicated.
Booked this hotel for the wildlife and were not disappointed as it seems you are in the middle of the jungle.
The pools were very hot, you cannot cool down and the main one has a very noisy bar and it is full of leaves. The beach is far better.
Our room was Ok but rather dark. Food in the beach restaurant was very good however the main restaurant was a bit bland. The steak house was good and so was the Mexican. Italian not so much as the waiters were a bit surly. One night my son was really sick so I went back to the room with him and my husband and other son went for dinner and had to literally beg to be able to bring some food back for me, he was told it was not allowed and only when he asked to speak to the resort manager was it ok for me to have a ham sandwich. There are many places to go and explore and I would recommend you do as many as you can as it was awesome. The park next door was fun but go early it got very busy. XE ha about 30 mins away was definitely the best park by far. Tulum beach is also a must, about an hour away. We also went and swam with the whale sharks up in Cancun, we booked this independently and the tour company were superb. We went into Carmen one night and the food was great. So if you want the jungle and animals and like the beach go here and go and explore what Mexico has to offer the places and people are amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelqueenred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Royal last Dec. (2012). We did not feel Royal. We didn't even feel welcomed. I have waited to write this because I was soooooooooo disappointed. We had stayed at the OXG March 2009 and were pleased with everything. Had met folks the last night we were there that had done Xcaret and their reviews of Xcaret and the ease of coming and going made staying at the OXG a perfect match. I decided to surprise my Husband by staying at the Royal Club. I think the surprise was on me. We were greeted at the drive up, asked about our reservation and sent on our way...walking... no "let us take you and your luggage out to the Royal". We waited for the cart for over 1/2 hour. Royal Greeting??? Once there it took over 1/2 hour to check in... and we were the only ones there.
The next morning, we got our pass and headed off to Xcaret, came back to shower before the night show and never made it. The water was brown with dirt. When we called they sent someone out to look at it and they said YES it is brown and dirty, and told the front desk to go ahead and move them. An hour later we hadn't heard anything from the front desk... went up to find out what was going on. The girls at the front desk looked at us like we were from Mars and said you really want to move? As if staying in a room with brown muddy water was acceptable. "We will send someone to help you". An hour later my husband went to get the key in the office (the new room was in the building across the courtyard) and we moved ourselves, went to dinner (waited for 1 HOUR for the cart back to the Royal Section) and said screw the shower and missed the show. Got up early the next morning and had a wonderful day at Xcaret. Stayed there right through the show (A MUST SEE!). Ate dinner on the way back to the room at the steak ala carte- wonderful. Started the water for a bath and it was brown, not as bad, but still brown... We gave up and went to bed, checked out the next morning (as planned).
The clincher that made the whole thing worse than the dirty water was having the girls at reception say they had been having complaints of dirty water in the first and second building for the last few MONTHS!!! Why would you move someone experiencing Dirty water into a room that has already had complaints of dirty water. DO NOT waste your money upgrading to the Royal. It wasn't worth the breakfast (the only meal we ate in the "Royal" only section). They have even eliminated the "Royal" golf carts. Look at the map... The Royal is the furthest section from EVERYTHING.
I was VERY Disappointed. I felt VERY put upon by the OXG- especially the Receptionists that are supposed to be so Wonderful!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not waste your money on the "Royal" upgrade. The room we originally had on our first s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItzeSocialMedia_Ctor, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear MariasMom,

We really appreciate the time you took to send us your review; despite this experienced we are glad to read you enjoyed the Xcaret Park, the night show. But we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences you encountered since you arrived with us.

We also regret the water incident and the lack of service provided by our staff, the maintenance management is aware and currently working on it.

Please know they daily check rooms function ability in order to offer a comfort and useful rooms to our guests. Maintenance and Front Desk team are always ready to repair or solve any problems and typically does so in a timely manner. Obviously we failed this time, apologize us.

Again thank you very much for your valuable review and we hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again in the future to show you the quality of service that you experienced the first time with Occidental Grand Xcaret.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.5 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
685 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,030 reviews
17.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,753 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,564 reviews
16.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental at Xcaret Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 282 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $168 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Occidental at Xcaret Destination 4.5*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Occidental at Xcaret Destination in Riviera Maya is a perfect combination in a natural setting with preserved cultural landmarks and an all-inclusive resort with a unique array of rooms, services, and state-of-the-art facilities. Choosing among the many possible activities is the most complicated part of a stay at this resort in Playa del Carmen. Swimming with dolphins, attending a Mayan Indian ceremony, enjoying all types of water sports at the beach club or sailing down the beautiful rivers and canals that surround the hotel are just a few highlights. The Xcaret eco-archeological park offers one of the most unique and exciting park, especially for families, by guaranteeing over 40 cultural attractions and expositions on art and traditions in Mexico. However, as people normally say at the hotel: "Do it all...or simply do nothing." Choose from a list of diverse activities such as strolling through the lush gardens at the resort, enjoying the sun while lying on a hammock, or taking a refreshing swim in one of the resort's five pools or private beach. Anti-stress remedies at the resort are endless. Regardless of how you plan each day at the resort, the hotel's choice of culinary selections is designed to satisfy the demands of every kind of guest. With 10 bars, including the one at the club, and 11 restaurants, guests have the freedom to choose a snack, an informal meal, a gourmet feast or a candlelight dinner, among many other options. The key to this resort is balancing between modern facilities and the marvelous Mexican rainforest that is filled with stunning local wildlife. Entertainment, relaxation and nature coexist at the Occidental at Xcaret Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental at Xcaret Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Xcaret Hotel
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Xcaret Grand Occidental
Occidental Xcaret
Hotel Xcaret
Xcaret Playa Del Carmen
Grand Xcaret Occidental
Xcaret Hotel
Grand Occidental Xcaret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing