We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Ranked #77 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Enjoyed my recent trip to the Occidental Grand....June 22-29/2013 - I was apprehensive before I left but I was very surprised to find that I really loved this resort. I am a fussy person but even then I could not find anything that was negative about this resort. From the food to the excellent service, very clean comfortable air conditioned room - excellent staff everywhere were so polite, kind and did everything with pride.

I would definitely recommend this Resort to singles/families and those who are retired.

Thank you for everything
Jenette Ajwani, Bolton, Ontario

Room Tip: Room # 14101 - Building 14 - very close to the Pool area / great garden all around / very very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holly65_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,861 - 6,867 of 13,920 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Occidental Grand Xcaret was the best vacation experience we ever had! The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is helpful and very friendly. They treated us like royalty from the moment we arrived. Our room was very nice! We were in building 22 with a wooded view. It was nice and peaceful. A great retreat from all the activities of the day sitting on the balcony watching the iguanas, birds and butterflies... gorgeous!!. There is something for everyone from the quiet relaxing pools, the activities in the main pool, the beach, the natural pool at the point, trails, ruins, shows, movies, vendors, sun, but also plenty of shade, wildlife, restaurants, buffets, the disco.... I could go on forever! We will be back! Bring bug spray! This resort is in the middle of nature and mosquitoes live there too! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My family and I just returned after a two week holiday at the hotel. The staff were fantastic, we have a two year old and without the special support from celia (buffet captain) we would have struggled. Saying this by the second week we really did struggle with vegetarian food..... The same thing every day! Enough to make me want to go home. However, as vegetarians we were the minority so we half expected this. The activities were excellent and after incurring a minor during archery we complained and the next day the archery team were re trained and new safety equipment was purchased. I was impressed by their concern and fast improvement in process. Overall we were pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parekh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The pros: the man made beach is the best on riveria maya as the water is clear and the sand white. The property is huge and very welcoming for families with various activities for all age groups. The walk to Xcaret is about 5 minutes.
The cons: I booked this hotel originally and was sent to another one for the vast majority of the trip because they were overbooked the service is horrible especially at the front desk. The restaurant staff is awesome though. I was only approached once for time share so that was good. The restaurant food is good for the value, but the breakfast is best. The lunch and dinner are very generic buffet food. The rooms are old and dirty, but you get what you pay for. The entertainment is like on a cruise. Go to Xcaret, snorkeling, and Tulum. I would recommend doing Tulum on your own as the guided tour can be too much and the beach there is amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktjf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a huge facility within a real jungle. The room is comfortable, food was good and the place was well maintained but it was totally DEAD. The place was one fourth filled and there was almost no adult activities available. No beach volleyball, water volleyball, archery, tennis, etc. due to a lack of participants. Evening activities were child oriented. They did not even open the disco due to lack of interest. There is only a small man made inlet for a beach. You must walk a ways up the rocky coast to even see the ocean. I was forced to switch hotels after three days. I consider this mainly my fault for choosing a 5 Apple Square deal which allows them to pick the hotel for a reduced price, my bad. I will never due a square deal again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everything was great...just a few minor things that wasn't..beds extremely hard..especially after a long day and soo much walking..need free wifi..pretty grounds..nice service..clean rooms..great kids club staff etc

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

When we arrived at the resort, we were advised that they had given our pre-booked room away and the only room they had available for us was a room with one king sized bed. As there were three of us traveling together, that was unacceptable. After much discussions, we worked it out and were given a room with a king sized bed and a pull out couch. It was also an upgraded room. We were told that we could stay in that room, which we elected to do. The following day, we were told that we needed to move out of our room in the middle of our vacation. Rather than sending management to come speak with us, they locked us out of our room. In the middle of our first full day in the resort, we were forced to pack up and move into another room. the accommodations were clearly a downgrade from our original room, but we were told there was nothing more that could be done for us. That evening, we went to dinner and wandered around the resort. Upon our return to our room, we discovered that our room cards were once again deactivated. We were told over and over again that the resort was over booked. We spent time at the beach, pools and the restaurants and that didn't seem to be the case. There were no crowds any where. The entire experience was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank donnams333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear donnams333,
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the discomfort we may cause you since your request could not be guaranteed as was expected upon arrival. We certainly understand your frustration, and have addressed your review with our manager. We train our staff to provide impeccable customer service, and it is obvious that we fell short of that during your stay. Additionally, please know that during the time of your visit our hotel was overbooked because it was peak season. In this situation we do our best to accommodate guests by making them reservations at another property. The necessary steps to avoid this issue in the future will be taken.
If you choose to give us a second chance, I will happily assist in arranging your stay.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,989 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,496 reviews
4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xcaret Mexico
Hotel Xcaret Mexico
#62 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
383 reviews
7.8 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental at Xcaret Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 282 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $167 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental at Xcaret Destination 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Occidental at Xcaret Destination in Riviera Maya is a perfect combination in a natural setting with preserved cultural landmarks and an all-inclusive resort with a unique array of rooms, services, and state-of-the-art facilities. Choosing among the many possible activities is the most complicated part of a stay at this resort in Playa del Carmen. Swimming with dolphins, attending a Mayan Indian ceremony, enjoying all types of water sports at the beach club or sailing down the beautiful rivers and canals that surround the hotel are just a few highlights. The Xcaret eco-archeological park offers one of the most unique and exciting park, especially for families, by guaranteeing over 40 cultural attractions and expositions on art and traditions in Mexico. However, as people normally say at the hotel: "Do it all...or simply do nothing." Choose from a list of diverse activities such as strolling through the lush gardens at the resort, enjoying the sun while lying on a hammock, or taking a refreshing swim in one of the resort's five pools or private beach. Anti-stress remedies at the resort are endless. Regardless of how you plan each day at the resort, the hotel's choice of culinary selections is designed to satisfy the demands of every kind of guest. With 10 bars, including the one at the club, and 11 restaurants, guests have the freedom to choose a snack, an informal meal, a gourmet feast or a candlelight dinner, among many other options. The key to this resort is balancing between modern facilities and the marvelous Mexican rainforest that is filled with stunning local wildlife. Entertainment, relaxation and nature coexist at the Occidental at Xcaret Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental at Xcaret Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Xcaret Hotel
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Xcaret Grand Occidental
Occidental Xcaret
Hotel Xcaret
Xcaret Playa Del Carmen
Grand Xcaret Occidental
Xcaret Hotel
Grand Occidental Xcaret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing