We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Ranked #70 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab holiday!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was fantastic! Very welcoming & friendly.. Clean & tidy,the food was good too..like always buffet gets boring but the hotel has plenty of other restaurants you just need to make sure you make a reservation early! The pools are huge and so warm plenty of places to get drinks and there is food on the go all the time. The beach is quite small but bigger than the pictures look & plenty of places to sun bathe.Mexico is beautiful you have to get out and see it! We swam with dolphins at an island off cancun & horse riding on the beach was excellent.. the hotel entertainment was also great..All in all a great holiday

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,532
    3,983
    1,569
    724
    546
See reviews for
4,093
4,970
156
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,778)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were booked to stay at the occidental from 16th April to 28th April.

The hotel, rooms, location, staff were great however after 3 days we both started to suffer with stomach complaints including diahorrea. Even when we made a complaint it was not taken seriously and we decided to bring forward the next part of our trip by 2 days. Speaking to other guests we know we were definitely not the only ones.

In addition to this the service at the bars was terrible - sometimes waiting up to 30 minutes for table service.

My suggestion to the hotel company is sort out service and the food and the hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynOwen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great hotel almost perfect. Great staff, food and location.Premium alcohol and broad range of food available every day for vegetarians, vegans and carnivores alike. Fish a speciality. The hotel is new and fresh. High standards in cleanliness and beautiful landscaped grounds. Sea close by and includes beach access. Large well appointed rooms with top of the range facilities in the rooms and in common areas. Several restaurants and spa. Easy to visit major Mayan sites with excellent local guides. Very small criticisms USD15 payable for take way lunch pack lunch. No hair conditioner in the bathroom. ATMs mostly out of order.It may not suit older individuals or single travellers.as most entertainment geared towards families.

Room Tip: We booked through BA fares and holidays during their world sale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed 4/23-4/28 2013. Hotel is very spread out, but there is a shuttle that goes around the whole property every few minutes. If you want to see beautiful scenery, walk, if not take the shuttle. I agree that the Royal club is the way to go. Personalized service and away from the other crowded areas. Seemed like people in the other pools had fun, but I liked the more quiet area. Yes, there isn't a large beach, but its just enough, and I don't know why some aren't happy with that. Wherever we went employees were very nice, and helpful. If you are in the Royal Club you can go to specialty restaurants each night, but I understand if you are in the other part of hotel, you can only choose a few nights. Steak restaurant was very good, as was the Fish Restaurant. Not crazy about the Mexican Restaurant, and did not go to the others. Buffets were Buffets.... I think they are the same wherever you go, and the food was ok. Something for everyone. Was not crazy about Xcaret, but did the Extreme Quads, and cave tour, and it was "Awesome". The ride was great! We went with friends who also had a blast, and absolutely loved the hotel. I like Puerto Rico....the beach is right there at the hotel, but then you have to drive to get that Jungle feel....At Occidental, it's all there...a beach, tropical jungle feel, etc. I would go back in a minute! We went through Liberty Travel, and the price was great! I will again say, that I am happy I didn't let negative reviews stop my trip. We went with friends, and could not have had a better vacation! I always do my homework when planning a trip, but I've definitely learned that you cant always go by the reviews. Worth the trip!!

Room Tip: Royal Club....a little more money but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbaraTuckertonNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to head to Mexico again and this time we tried the Occidental Xcaret. The price was reasonable and it was all inclusive. Separately we used Best Day travel for shuttle service. That was ok but we were packed in and did wait about 35 min after arriving in Cancun. We paid 40 each for that.
Anyway, back to Xcaret. We enjoyed our 5 day, 4 night stay. We had great service the whole time we were there. Especially when we needed service at the room, people came very quickly. We were able to eat at the reservation only restaurants 2 nights and the seafood restaurant was excellent and we had excellent service there. We also ate at the steak restaurant. The food was pretty good and service was very good. A mariachi band played close to the time we were leaving.
We ate at the buffet other times and the pool bar. The buffet was good. The pool bar was fine but the hamburger was not recommendable.

The Mayan ruins on site are a neat difference. We stayed at the resort the whole time and did not leave. We saw a great Michael Jackson show and a wonderful dance show with very talented performers another night.

Corona was about the only beer. If you specified your drink, say Tangeray and Tonic, you got better quality. The Lobby bar was nice and we enjoyed an excellent guitarist there one night.

They have a lot of chairs by the pools, lagoon, and rocky beach but get there early to get one with optional shade. Shuttles get you around at this big resort. Every now and then we did wait a bit too long but most times they wait was short.

Lots of Iguanas and other animals that you don't see in the states. Archery, air rifles, and tennis available.

Room Tip: We got the Jr Suite and had plenty of room and a king size bed. It was a corner room on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tel105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent a week but next time at least two. Great staff, amazing resort. Well kept and beautiful to walk around and see so much nature every where. Monkey and Iguanas from our balcony what a way to have morning coffee. Celiac has been hard for travel until this trip, I normally take rice cakes and peanut butter and eat fruit and salad. The chefs prepared meals for me that were so good that it enhanced my trip ten fold. They were always smiling and created a different dish for each meal every day. God bless them. Saw so many wonderful sights and had pictures taken with a monkey and one with an Iguana, brand new experience for me. I was with a group of 9 people and we all had a great vacation. Go see for your self you will not be sorry. Sharon & Tim

Room Tip: Our group was all over and no one had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Paying extra for the Royal Club is totally worth it. Gives you a quiet place to relax. The restaurant is great, except lunch takes forever (but the food is really good). We only went to one a la carte restaurant (seafood), which was good, but we just decided food was better and the experience was so much more relaxed at the Royal Club. The ladies in Royal Club reception are fabulous - nothing was too much to ask for and they are so nice. Also, I recommend going snorkeling early in the morning at the "beach"; it's calm, almost no people, and lots of fish to see! And tip people, they really appreciate it! We had a fabulous vacation at this hotel. We were upgraded to a suite with water view. Outside especially loved the tanning loungers on the water!

Room Tip: Upgrade to royal club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeryVeryVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.5 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
16.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,507 reviews
15.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,258 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,455 reviews
4.0 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#89 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental at Xcaret Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Property: Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 282 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Occidental at Xcaret Destination 4.5*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Occidental at Xcaret Destination in Riviera Maya is a perfect combination in a natural setting with preserved cultural landmarks and an all-inclusive resort with a unique array of rooms, services, and state-of-the-art facilities. Choosing among the many possible activities is the most complicated part of a stay at this resort in Playa del Carmen. Swimming with dolphins, attending a Mayan Indian ceremony, enjoying all types of water sports at the beach club or sailing down the beautiful rivers and canals that surround the hotel are just a few highlights. The Xcaret eco-archeological park offers one of the most unique and exciting park, especially for families, by guaranteeing over 40 cultural attractions and expositions on art and traditions in Mexico. However, as people normally say at the hotel: "Do it all...or simply do nothing." Choose from a list of diverse activities such as strolling through the lush gardens at the resort, enjoying the sun while lying on a hammock, or taking a refreshing swim in one of the resort's five pools or private beach. Anti-stress remedies at the resort are endless. Regardless of how you plan each day at the resort, the hotel's choice of culinary selections is designed to satisfy the demands of every kind of guest. With 10 bars, including the one at the club, and 11 restaurants, guests have the freedom to choose a snack, an informal meal, a gourmet feast or a candlelight dinner, among many other options. The key to this resort is balancing between modern facilities and the marvelous Mexican rainforest that is filled with stunning local wildlife. Entertainment, relaxation and nature coexist at the Occidental at Xcaret Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental at Xcaret Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Xcaret Hotel
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Xcaret Grand Occidental
Occidental Xcaret
Hotel Xcaret
Xcaret Playa Del Carmen
Grand Xcaret Occidental
Xcaret Hotel
Grand Occidental Xcaret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing