We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Nearby Hotels
$293
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$301
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$297
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$486
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (14,471)
Filter reviews
14,471 results
Traveler rating
6,593
4,596
1,800
834
648
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,593
4,596
1,800
834
648
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubman made beachfun clubpacos tacosel pescadorsonora grillle buffetfirst clubtime shareseafood restaurantunderground riverbeach buffetfun poolmain buffetswim up bareco parkbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
7,795 - 7,800 of 14,471 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Let me start by saying I research all the hotels I go to and for the most part the reviews from the past 6 months have been accurate. Your stay at the hotel is what you make it, and if you look for faults you will find them even in a 5*+ resort.
We were there for a wedding and with about 35 people, so this is definately a family resort and not one that I would recommend for anyone other than that. This is also a very old resort by Mexican standards and the wear and tear is showing!
This resort is at best a 4 star and it will never be anything higher unless they completely overhaul the rooms, main lobby building, all the pool areas and the restaurants.
Check in: Awful, rude and ignorant staff that could careless wether you have travelled all day, are tired and just want to eat etc. They are not helpful, and did not give any assistance by way of directions except for a paper map and circle of your room. Had to ask to have our bags delivered to room, but watchs lots of people struggle with their luggage through the dark, poorly signed and narrow cobbled pathways at night looking for their rooms, not acceptable in any resort!
Rooms: Clean and adequate and the staff where very helpful if you needed extra towels, or to getting the mini bar or fridge restocked, but we did tip daily and this worked well. They do not tell you there are no elevators in any buildings other than the main lobby building so if you have trouble walking beware! All buildings outside of main area are three floors, and stairs get very wet when it rains are they are open to the outside.
Food: It was ok, definately not the best I have had, but likely not the worst either, and you could usually find something that you liked. The buffet was not great for either breakfast or dinner, didn't do lunch there. No variations at all. The Snack bar at the swimup bar was good for lunch and afternoon snacks not open for breakfast or dinner. Beach club was great for breakfast and lunch as open and you could eat outside, but food same as buffet in main building. It turned into seafood restaurant at night which was ok, but very windy night we were there and food got cold quickly. Steak house good first night and awful second night we tried so hit and miss. Asian was ok not great. Didn't try mexican, but some of our group did and enjoyed it, and the Italian was also good.
Overall: It was an average resort. Very large and spread out with lots of walking everywhere. Not wheelchair friendly at all! Beach area was actually better than I had expected and the water was way warmer than the freezing pools, but it is very crowded and you do have to get there early to get anywhere near the water, but great for kids with all the fish up close. Adult pool area was nice, but small and not really somewhere to swim as ocean water has built up slimy areas all around the "in ocean" pool, but quiter than the pool areas. Swimup bar is only for the brave if you go in cooler January as the water is so cold its hard to stay there. Drinks where ok, did have top shelf liquor in most bars, and they always gave good amounts. Not much entertainment, but the lobby area is very small and crowded and again when it rains everything gets soaked, floors are very dangerous when it rains also, many people slipping everywhere. They have several bars that where quite busy and there is also a disco for the young at heart! They did a lovely job for the Wedding we were there for and everyone enjoyed that alot. Overall, it is not somewhere I personally will ever go back to or recommend to my friends, but depending on your budget, and your preferences this review is my opinion and only meant to help you make the decision.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are nice in building 21, Building 22 has some ocean view rooms, and if you can afford it The Royal Club!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VinoBlanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Super hotel in a really stunning location, with huge beautiful grounds teeming with wildlife (saw coatis, spider monkeys, agoutis and lots of iguanas on site). It's right next to Xcaret Park, which is great for a day out (or even 2 there's lots to see there) - especially if you're travelling with kids.

The little man-made beach is great for snorkelling, in fact the fish are clearly visible to children at wading depth. Could have done with more sunbeds and parasols, and it does get quite crowded because it is quite small. However there's also loads of nice pools around the hotel, so sun worshippers do have other options. The beach bar was good -all the cocktails served at this hotel are just awesome (no watery drinks served here), but the bar needed more staff, it took a long time to get served.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful, sometimes the room cleaning seemed a little slapdash especially when it came to restocking coffee, creamers etc, but as soon as you phoned the room service team, someone would whizz round with whatever supplies you were lacking, so not a great problem.

The rooms were basic but comfortable. Our first room was a disabled adapted one in the main block opposite the dining/entertainment area. Might be a tad noisy for some, we actually enjoyed listening to some of the cheesy music, and it all finished around 10.30, so not too bad. When we came back from our cruise we were allocated a main block ground floor room, it was only for one night so we put up with it. Had we been staying longer I would not have been happy, because it was dark, damp and musty, the bed linen was clammy, and everybody walking along the nearby path could stare straight into your room.

The food was pretty standard all inclusive buffet stuff (never tried the specialty restaurants). Like most of these buffets, it got a bit boring by the 4th day.

Booked a trip to Tulum via the tour staff in reception, very hot and very little shade out there, but you can cool down at the beach at the foot of the cliffs afterwards(very steep stairs), and the site itself is really worth seeing if you have any interest in the Mayan History of the region.

Didn't make it into Puerto Del Carmen myself, but another member of my party reported back that it was a bit sleazy, with coke dealers regularly offering their wares. Lots of other excursions available in this beautiful region, so don't worry there's plenty of other places to go.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 500globe-trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went to this resort about a year ago and loved the park next to the resort. The grounds as many have mentioned were very well kept. The food was good but choices limited and didn't enjoy eating buffet every meal. The grounds were SO spread out and while the lagoon is as pretty as it looks on the website, it is quite small and I didn't realize how much I enjoyed walking along a long beach or just having the space to move away from people and have some quiet time. While the place, grounds, and rooms were beautiful, it takes so long to find everything and realize all you can see and do that soon it is time to pack up and leave. We were only there for 5 days. I am not sure that we would return because of our love of a large beach area, but if we didn't we would definately extend our time stayed. Didn't exceed our expectations but we weren't left horribly upset either.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A large group of us (65) stayed at this resort las week for my son's wedding. Wedding staff were extremely accommodating. The bride was very pleased. Food was pretty good as were drinks at all the bars. We upgraded to Royal Club and were very happy to have a quiet refuge to retreat to when the younger members of our group got partying. All in all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pearl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Myself, my boyfriend and 2 other couples just returned from a 1 week stay at this resort. Upon reading the reviews before we left we were all very worried as to what was in store for us..When we arrived we were all very surprised to find that it wasn't that bad after all!

The grounds were absolutely beautiful, so many different types of wildlife surrounded the walkways and pool areas. The room itself (we stayed in the junior suite in buliding 18) was pretty standard. It was clean, tidy and we always were given fresh towels- it was all we really needed, who spends that much time in their room anyways when your on vacation?! We tipped the maid almost everyday and each day we returned to towel animals, extra beer stocked in the fridge and water- definately worth it for that little extra!

The beach was in fact smaller then what I have been to before, I am a total beach person- but I still loved the manmade cove and sandy areas! It was stunning and honestly I wouldnt have let that deter me from choosing this resort. There are so many pools and we spent most of our time at the adult pool- it was perfect, amazing and all we needed! The fish that were in the adult pools were spectacular- we didnt even need to venture out further into the ocean since all the ocean life was right where we swam. Make sure you do tip the servers- they all worked so hard and deserve that little extra- you give them that little extra and you get it right back in service!

The drinks were great, we brought our own "buba kegs" along to fill up each day- they kept our drinks cool and lasted longer then the glass cups they offer, service was fantastic and the food was good! The buffet was great, Mexican was great and the steak house was amazing! We had to eat their twice it was so good!

Yes the hotel is not as "modern" or "trendy" as some of the other hotels, and I can also see how some people thought this wasnt a 4.5 star resort- but if you can find this resort for a great price then it is worth it to go!

Room Tip: We stayed in building #18 which was a close walk to the beach, but close to the "Fun Club" pool and restaurants.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheOnlyGendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews