We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing luxury and relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Ranked #71 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Amazing luxury and relaxation!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I took our honeymoon here in November, and it was incredible! We did notice, however, that we had a LOT of privileges because we were staying in the Royal Club, so if you're thinking of vacationing here without kids, or especially honeymooning here, it is WORTH IT to spend the extra $$$ to do Royal Club! (And if you REALLY want to feel like royalty, the Royal Club Jr. Suite is worth it - fantastic view and double balcony as well as tons of room in the suite) The restaurants are all very elegant (with the exception of the asian fusion restaurant - steer clear of that one) and the level of service is superb! Anywhere you go, there will be somebody offering to get you a drink. The level of relaxation is huge, because the resort is isolated in nature, it's not a skyscraper hotel wedged between 15 other ones on the beach front -- it's very private. Gorgeous European style bathrooms with marble everything, everything was very clean and luxurious, and I've never slept better than on that bed! If you have kids, this resort has TONS of kid-friendly activities and pool gear, as well as audience-involved shows on their theater stage every night -- they really cater to every age group at this place. Whether you want to do every activity from dawn to dusk, party at clubs and shop til you drop, explore ancient ruins and natural wonders, or just lay at the beach/poolside and not be bothered all day, you can have it your way. I recommend this place to everyone I know, and we're saving up to go back for our 5 year anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsOo910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,383
    3,941
    1,555
    715
    536
See reviews for
3,961
4,908
153
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,764)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Went on a package trip and at this hotel, included were tickets to the adjoining park - a nature sanctuary - just wonderful. We took the boat trip through the park, other options were going through swimming/floating through the cenotes - a leisurely event. I suggest it takes 2 days to see all the park has to offer. This park grows most of the Orchids for the hotels and events all over Mexico in greenhouses that you can wonder through and enjoy. There is a variety of native wildlife to see, including giant turtles, if you are inclined there is also swimming with dolphins - I don't agree with this. There is a beach and food at the park and places to soak up the sun. An evening show tops off the visit - also included in our pass to the park - you can have an evening meal served at this event if you choose, the show is a bit OTT, lots of liberty taken with the history but well performed and worth seeing all the Parrots released at the end. The hotel has wonderful, the beach front restaurant among many was my utmost favorite a place to eat. The rooms were clean, modern and just perfect for our stay. The pools were really quite nice and plenty of room to be on your own. We found it peaceful and away from the masses - you need to grab a cab to get to the town but it is cheap or rent a car and go explore. I recommend this safe place with drinkable water and golf cart options running all day to any part of the grounds to those with limited ability as well as families.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1letsgothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in
many all-inclusive resorts and i've never written a bad review. My whole family stayed here for my sister's wedding along with 60 other guest that were there for the wedding. When we got to lobby it is beautiful, but it soon got bad. The room are outdated and small!!! One of my sister's shower had mold all over it. I upgraded to a suite which was ok. The resort failed to let my sister know that it was "slow season" and they were way UNDERSTAFFED!!! some of the restaurants were closed and the ones that were opened had 2-3 waiters. The pool was nice and you always get a chair but the swim-up bars closes at 6PM!!!!!!!!forget about music by pool!! They have the same CD playing all day after 7 days I wanted to pull my hair out!! For lunch there is only the buffet ( which has the same things everyday)or the restaurant by the beach to eat which is about a
15min walk from pool. The mini bar in room only gets stocked with
2 beers 2 sodas & 2 bottles of water. I would never stay here or would recommend this resort. I felt sorry for my sister whose wedding was held here. She had 60 guest come to this resort for a huge disappointment and 95% of her guest would never come back!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Had a wonderful time at this resort. Beautiful grounds, great staff, great drinks and food. Lucia in customer service was extremely helpful, went way out of her way for us....I highly recommend this resort.

Just be careful if you go on the cenote and turtle snorkeling excursion though. I bought a picture CD from the Oean Tours guide for $25. They gave me the wrong one, I wasn't able to check it til I got home. I contacted Sunquest (as it was their rep Isabelle who set up the tour), Ocean Tours (who said that they don't operate out of Playa, even though it said Ocean Tours on the reciept) and the hotel. Not one person was able to help me with this. Too bad as they won't let you take your camera to the cenote, so now we have no pictures.....Buyer beware.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanjHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Awesome hotel! Great service! Friendly staff! Hope to go back sometime in the near future! Also loved that the Xcaret Park and the hotel were built into eachother! So much to do and see at this resort! Loved it!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JessicaS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I traveled May 28th for a week of family fun and adventure at Occidental Xcaret. The grounds are large, very lush, and lovely overall. It was great to walk around and exercise and not feel so bad after eating so much. The service I thought was great and it was nice to see happy faces. The beach is safe and has nice clear warm water. It provided a great place for my toddler to splash around in and chase the fish. Yes, the fish swim right out to you (and several kinds too). We enjoyed the food and my tip is to splurge and buy a bottle of wine for dinner(s). I wasn't into the house red. Try the Mexican wines they are good and worth paying the additional. I recommend visiting the adjacent Xcaret park, try the underground rivers and stay for the night show. It is truly spectacular and the area is so rich with culture. Must also squeeze in time for Playa del Carmen for the big beach, quaint town and nightlife. Easy taxi ride away. So, a fantastic time was had by us all, the resort is lovely, not pretentious and a great value. Viva Mexico!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dietrick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My wife and I were staying at Occidental Xcaret Hotel Royal Club from May 21 to May 28 for my wife's birth-day.
It was wonderful time and we enjoyed our vacation very much, thanks to the Royal Club.
We have chosen this hotel for its proximity to Xcaret Park and my friend's recommendation for a good snorkeling.

SNORKELING

* Hotel laguna area.

Hotel laguna is a man made beach. It has open access to the ocean on one side and fresh water stream coming from the other side.
When the salt and fresh water mix together the vision for a snorkeler becomes blurry, although the water looks clear when you look from the bridge.
The variety of the fish is less than in the ocean but the place is very safe for kids and the beginners since there is no waves.


* Xcaret Park laguna area.

If you take a day trip to Xcaret Park you will get snorkeling equipment for swimming in the underground river and then use it for snorkeling in laguna.
You have to swim in the underground river till the last exit and you will find a big pool with many tropical fish there.
Then you can go to the laguna. It is similar to the hotel laguna and have some fish in it, but the most interesting and funny was watching snuba people walking on the bottom of the laguna.
Snuba diving is for extra money, it requires to wear special helmet with air pumped in thru the hose, and with extra weights you can walk underwater on the floor.


* Adult Pool area.

Although, there is no ocean beach at the hotel, there is a good place to snorkel in the adult pool area, so you don't have to take a special snorkeling trip.
The place is rocky and you have to be experienced swimmer and snorkeler to get into the water and back to the shore, there are usually 1-2 feet waves.
Once in the water you will see a good variety of tropical fish. I've seen a barracuda almost every time there.

If you are inexperienced snorkeler you can do it directly in the adult pool, there are some marine life inside.

We have encountered a great disappointment by the rude behavior of the life-guard at the adult pool. We reported his misconduct to the management.


* Barracuda Reef area.

It is located 300-400 meters across Xcaret park and hotel.
I was not snorkeling there but I talked to divers and they were very excited about it.
You will need a special tour and you can arrange it in the hotel.


* HOTEL RATING

Royal Club - everything 5-star.

Xcaret hotel:
Location - 4 *
Grounds - 4 *
Service - 4 *
Food - 3 * (probably because of the low season)
Pools - 4-5 *
Laguna Beach - 3.5 *
Adult Pool and Beach - 2 *
Entertainment - 2 * (low season, again)

If I would recommend this hotel to my friend, I would strongly advise to go for Royal Club only.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tommy_G_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.5 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#55 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
639 reviews
16.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,437 reviews
15.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,234 reviews
14.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,606 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental at Xcaret Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Property: Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 282 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Occidental at Xcaret Destination 4.5*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Occidental at Xcaret Destination in Riviera Maya is a perfect combination in a natural setting with preserved cultural landmarks and an all-inclusive resort with a unique array of rooms, services, and state-of-the-art facilities. Choosing among the many possible activities is the most complicated part of a stay at this resort in Playa del Carmen. Swimming with dolphins, attending a Mayan Indian ceremony, enjoying all types of water sports at the beach club or sailing down the beautiful rivers and canals that surround the hotel are just a few highlights. The Xcaret eco-archeological park offers one of the most unique and exciting park, especially for families, by guaranteeing over 40 cultural attractions and expositions on art and traditions in Mexico. However, as people normally say at the hotel: "Do it all...or simply do nothing." Choose from a list of diverse activities such as strolling through the lush gardens at the resort, enjoying the sun while lying on a hammock, or taking a refreshing swim in one of the resort's five pools or private beach. Anti-stress remedies at the resort are endless. Regardless of how you plan each day at the resort, the hotel's choice of culinary selections is designed to satisfy the demands of every kind of guest. With 10 bars, including the one at the club, and 11 restaurants, guests have the freedom to choose a snack, an informal meal, a gourmet feast or a candlelight dinner, among many other options. The key to this resort is balancing between modern facilities and the marvelous Mexican rainforest that is filled with stunning local wildlife. Entertainment, relaxation and nature coexist at the Occidental at Xcaret Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Occidental at Xcaret Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Xcaret Hotel
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Xcaret Grand Occidental
Occidental Xcaret
Hotel Xcaret
Xcaret Playa Del Carmen
Grand Xcaret Occidental
Xcaret Hotel
Grand Occidental Xcaret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing