We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #47 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Yeah that was awesome. we traveled there for one week and we were very satisfied with the quality - price. Good food, shows at night, activities, good service, the room was nothing exceptionnal but clean. We will return for sure!

  • Liked — pool, playa, reception, show
  • Disliked — odor,
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Veroniik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,412
    2,032
    643
    255
    158
See reviews for
579
4,078
55
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,578)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We stayed there for a Christmas week of 2008.
We booked Ocean Front room with two queen beds via oceanmayaresort.com for family of four.
We arrived ~8PM on Sunday after long and tiresome flight with connection and were told that there is no reservation under our name (I actually called day before to confirm our room and the reservation was there) so we can take a hike. Then we were offered a room with one queen bed. After an hour of begging and negotiation and HEAVY bribing turned out they do have a room for us. By the time we checked in all the restaurants were closed - and we did not properly eat since day before.
We were traveling several families together and our friends were arriving 2 hours later, so to relive them from this pain we asked the clerk about their reservation and he showed us their room on a map and told use they are OK. Guess what - when they showed up the same show again - there is no room, take a junior room, etc. Bottom line: it is just an extortion, simple and plain.
Now, the rooms are CHEAP. As I mentioned we were several families together, all the rooms the same: everything is falling apart, all the lamps are burned and do not work, TV does not work (not that we needed it, but anyways).
On the positive side, we did not spend match time in our rooms anyway, the entertainment team is amazing, kids club alone made our vacation - our kid could not wait to go there so we could have time alone, all the games and activities. The night shows are very good too, the dance after is very entertaining.
Bartenders are very friendly, they would remember your name and what you like and how you like it. Be advised that all the bars close at 11PM, no alcohol in a room minibar either.
Beach and a pool area are very nice.
The buffet was pretty good, plenty of seafood.
The japanese restaurant is a joke - don't even bother, even buffet food is better. You get more authentic japanese food for 5$ from Safeway.
All in all, it was a very overpriced but a good vacation. For the price you can find much better hotel.

  • Liked — Entertainment team and service
  • Disliked — Facility, front desk service
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vertlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

First of all, the entertainment team is awesome!! Julio, Ricky, Jerry, Yo-Yo, and Jammy are real cool guys. They took us out to the night clubs in Cancun and were very responsible! I am definately going there again. Everyone that works at the resort is very nice. Classy lobby and the rooms were nice also! Food is also pretty good! Make sure you make reservations at the Japanese restaurant and eat at the Hibachi. Thanks a lot guys..

Naddy

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Naddy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Do not go to this hotel!!! This hotel was beyond horrible. When we arrived, our room was not even ready and we could not get one until 3 pm. When we got to our room, it was disgusting. Not only was it old and rusty, but it also smelled like a sewer and there was no bathtub in the bathroom. The staff were rude, the food was horrible, and their “all inclusive” liquor was more like “all inclusive”. I understand that you can’t get top shelf, but this hotel did not even serve normal, regular tequila or vodka. Not only did you have to pay for the alcohol, but in order to have a safe, it would could you $2 a day… I never heard of such a thing before… safes are supposed to be a commodity for those who are staying at the hotel. Also, there was no entertainment. The pool was small and filled with cold water. And not to mention that, but there is barely a beach at this hotel… all you’ll get are rocks and damp water. To make the long story short… we stayed at this hotel for only one day before getting out of there to go a much better resort. If you stay at this hotel for more than one day, you should just forget about having a fun and peaceful time. When you get back home, the only thing you’ll remember is the stinky sewer smell that proceeded all over the hotel. By far the worst hotel I have ever been to!!!

  • Liked — NOTHING AT ALL
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ginaqt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2009

paid for an ocean view superior room, requested handicap accessible, got a standard room the first night and only after crawling up the steps did we get a superior room the next 3 nights (never an ocean view). When we complained, we got the typical Mexican run around (I don't speak English, I'll take care of it just come back at 3:00 --after they change shifts and don't know what you're talking about) The truth of the matter is they have no handicap accessible rooms--NOT ONE! when I requested a refund, they acted as if they couldn' t hear me.

  • Disliked — Not handicap accessible
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HandicappedTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ill
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Do not go to this hotel...I sent an e mail to them 1 week before our trip to make sure things were ok...when we got there the desk Clerk said I have some good news and some bad...the good news was we were going to get an upgrade at their other Hotel called Ocean Coral the bad news was they have no rooms...this was December...I booked the room in March...what the hell...well the other hotel was much further than they said, there was not a shuttle to Playa del Carmen...the room was in the basement and was a room for people with disabilities..and it smelled....well after much trouble we went back to the other hotel and finally got a permanent room at 2:00 the next day...don't go there... food the same everyday...and etc...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jimhp900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

I was quite alarmed to read the reviews of this hotel prior to leaving....but all in all this place was good. Check in was no problem but we didn't get in until night time...where the bar staff promptly brought us (3 women) a drink before we could even put our bags down.
The room was large and clean...some minor fix-ups to be done but nothing that would affect your comfort (loose drain fixture, etc.)
We went to the morning info session with Nolitours to find out what kinds of tours were available....the tours sounded fabulous, HOWEVER, my sister booked a trip to the Mayan Ruins for the Friday before we left...and she got taken!!! She was told by the Nolitours representatives that she needed to be outside waiting for the bus by 7:25am...she was there by 7:15 or so with another couple from the resort. The bus never came to pick them up and when my sister and the couple went and inquired about it they was called liars and that they would not get their $125.00 American dollars each back...my sister was beside herself not only because she missed the one and only place in the world she was dying to visit but that she was lying about being there...the Nolitours representatives not only did not apoligize but were rude and very unaccomodating to her....DO NOT BOOK WITH NOLITOURS!!! Then on the day we were leaving, we came to learn (far too late) that our flight had been delayed 3.5 hours and that the Nolitours reps knew of this and pretty much pushed us into the bus to get us away....not liking that we had something to say to them previously about thier poor service and rude demeanor....unless you can speak french do not deal with these girls or their company...so we were left to wait in the airport for 6.5 hours....prior to flying out....ridiculous!!!!! Once again...DO NOT BOOK WITH NOLITOURS UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE HOSED AND THEN CALLED A LIAR!!!!!

The staff are amazing and truly accomodating to whatever you wish...tipping of course will help the service as well.
The food was good...lots to choose from the buffet and they keep it regularly stocked so you don't miss out on anything....we went to the Japense restaurant and Italian....both very good but i would recommend the Italian one....one word of advice....book these immediately upon your arrival if you can....we were told that both restaurants were fully booked except for the 8:00 and 9:00 meal times....well they lied too...both restaurants were empty when we got there...so don't listen when they say they are booked because they're not...unless you don't mind eating that late.

The beach was fine...yes there is a breaker wall but the sand/beach part above it is beautiful, clean and white sand....i walked along the beach on both sides of the resort and all the other resorts beach fronts were inaccessable...huge logs, trees and rocks...yes there was only a small part to enter the ocean from our resort but i would much prefer that to no beach front at all...which was the case with the other resorts...which were 5 star resorts

All in all we had a great time...i would recommend this resort for those who aren't too picky and are looking for a good value for their buck!

  • Liked — Staff, Location
  • Disliked — Tour staff, Night Entertainment
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Lady31Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,257 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,454 reviews
19.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing