We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #49 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I would like to say this is the first all inclusive resort I have ever been to so I have nothing to compare it to. I love when we walked in we were greeted with margaritas!!! I guess the party started. We went to the front desk and they had the Cutest Trainee Israel checking us in... I will like to say Israel did a good job for his first time :) We were checked into room 1701. He explained what times for Breakfast, lunch and dinner and drew us a diagram on how to get there. We were put in the cart and taken to our room.

The room: I am sorry to say though it was very clean it smelled damp... very musty but we got used to it on day 2. I opened the patio door to get the smell out. We were given separate beds instead of a kings size and they pushed it together and made a SUPER BED!!! I loved it.

Room service is not 24 hours starts @ 11pm. It was mostly soup salad, cheeseburgers, club sandwich. If you finish the drinks in your minibar they will charge you per pop.. like 3 USD per pop.... so yes I never finished anything in the minibar lol. They do stock it up with a lot of things you have to literally be a camel to finish the drinks in your minibar.
Please let the cleaning staff know when you are ready for them to clean your room. They will do so but you kinda have to schedule it.

The Pool: They have 2 pools one where the party is at!! and a very quiet pool looking at me I was at the quiet one:) LOL but they had great games and fun things going on there.

Food: WAS GREAT!!! I loved everything I ate it was delicious it well made and the presentation was great. I LOVE their breakfast buffet. Their sausages were so delicious they reminded me of Nigeria. I loved all they mandarin orange juice in the morning. You go to haciendas for breakfast and if you are privileged you can have breakfast at the La dolce Italian restaurant. Well I wasn't privileged but you can be privileged for a extra 40USD a day per person :) so I was looking at 80USD we declined and at with the masses.

The Beach: Well not what I expected but better than what I see in my hometown. I didn't go in it but we laid in the cabana the whole time. We did a lot of sunbathing.

Staff: I loved them they were very polite and coached me with my Spanish :)
I love Yuri at the front desk. and Israel :)

We spent 4 beautiful days here and we love the fact they remembered who we were and I really like it. See you next year XOXO

Room Tip: Do not lose your safe key it will cost 50.00usd, do not lose your key card it will cost 5 usd per ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,187
    1,957
    612
    251
    154
See reviews for
549
3,888
50
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Maya from 14th to the 28th May and we had such an amazing time.

We found everything fanstastic. The room was amazing. Never wanted to get out of bed the pillows were comfy aswell. Hot and powerful shower. Free use of the safe. Welcome bottle of Champagne and Chocolate covered strawberries which was a lovely touch.

The pools were lovely and warm. The activity pool had a swim up bar which does get very crowded. The quite pool was lovely and peaceful and great for a swim.
The beach was nice loads of beach beds, the right of the beach by the activities centre was where the clear stretch of sea was and was lovely.

The lagoon to the left of the beach was beautiful. Cool water, peaceful and worth a swim.

The food was lovely.
Breakfast there was everything to choose from, fruit, yogurt, full english, pancakes everything.

Lunch was served either at the main buffet where they done steaks, salads, burgers, fish. A lot more choice than at the Mexican but the Mexican had a little bbq on most days at lunch.

The Italian was by far our favourite ended up going 3 times. Oscar, Jesus and Jose are the main stars at that resturant, always so attentive anf making you laugh. Food is amazing they cook an amazing steak and my boyfriend won't shut up about the beef carpachio.
The French was nice. A lot more intimate. The duck is lovely the sauce is really good. Only complaint is that they need to decide on thier 'smart dress code' smart dress shorts is a not allowed BUT a ripped or football tshirt and baseball cap is allowed.
The Mexican was lovely. Good service from Daniel. The Beef Tostadas were good for starters and the fajitas were lovely for main.
The Japanese let us down on the night we went. We went as a group of 4 and the waiter managed to mess up our order and we ended up having our starters the same time as our mains and it was quite cold with the mains only having about 3 small pieces of chicken. Wished we had the time to try it again.
Room Service was nice we had burger and chips one night and the burger was much better than what you got at lunch time.

The entertainment was okay nothing special different theme every night. Friday by far being the best. They have a gala night and do a remix of videos and its just a good reason to get up and dance.

The vendors by the lobby are there every 2 days with some facsinating things to sell.
Swiming with Dolphins is a must. Its such an amazing experience.
5th Avenue also. Vendora fo hassle you but if your polite and walk away they leave you be. Nice little bar called the Tequila Barrel great place to go.

All in all a it was a amazing holiday. I loved the fact is was a smaller resort. I didnt want to come home. Would recommend it to anyone


  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emmascott61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks early May. This was our second time here. We had a great time and really enjoyed it. All restaurants were great, did manage to get a teppenjaki table in the Japanese which was fantastic chef Nick is a real asset!
The rooms are very spacious and clean, we had a small problem with the plumbing in the room one morning but after reporting this it was quickly rectified. A bit of a pain when the power went off during the rain it did make the buffet a bit uncomfortably warm but didn't ruin anything.
The staff work incredibly hard although it seem like there was less waiting staff in the terrace area then last year but Tila and the others do a fantastic job.
Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stevens2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have just came back from a 2 week stay at Ocean Maya and all I can say was that it was fantastic.

We booked with Thomson and really liked the fact it was couples only and quite a small resort.

Flight: the flight was okay. We arrived 45 minutes early which was a plus. Legroom was good. Food was okay. But still feels a bit cramped not enough armroom. Sleeping was a task very uncomfortable but you have a good choice of movies to watch.

Airport: bag boys will try and take your bag but if your polite they will leave you alone.

Transfer: transfer took less time than I expected and the rep on board was funny and told you everything that you needed to know.

Check in: check in was easy, welcome drink waiting for you as you came in the door.
Receptionist was very friendly and polite and told you everything, gave you a map aswell even though everythings easy to find.

Room: the room was absolutley beautiful, probably the best room ive ever stayed in. Free safe for your stay. Massive bed which was comfortable, didnt want to get up any mornings and the pillows were comfortable aswell. The aircon was a treat seeing as mexico is so humid.
The shower does leak but not a big enough problem to spoil your holiday. The shower was very powerful and was always hot.

Pools & beach: beach was nice if you go down to the right side there are sunbeds on the better side of the beach with nice clear sea.
Pools were warm. The activity pool has a swim up bar and jaquzzi and chairs.
Quite pool was relaxing.

Food:
breakfast was good, a wide range of everything from continental to full english. It has everything you need.
Lunch was either served at the Mexican resturant where you could have burger and chips or at the main buffet where there were normally steaks being cooked.

Italian was amazing our favourite by far, the food waa outstanding and amazing service. Oscar, Jose and Jesus are a credit to this hotel.

Blue moon: blue moon was nice good food again. Welcome cocktails were a bit strong. They need to decide on thier dress code though. Dress shorts not allowed but a ripped tshirt and football tshirts with baseball caps allowed

Mexican: mexican was good the tostadas were lovely as a starter and fajitas were also nice. The welcome cocktails they serve are very yummy aswell.

Japanese: Our experience of the Japanese was poor, only because the waiter got confused. Some of our tables starters came out the same time as the mains and the food was quite cold. Also the dishes only seem to have a tiny bit of meat. Would have liked to go back but liked the other resturants more.

Buffet: Different food every night and always something to eat.
If you can't find something to eat here I don't know whats wrong with you!

Room service: we ordered room service twice while there having the burgers and they are much better quality burgers than what they serve at lunch time.

The lagoon to the left of the beach is a must see. Nice cool water and just beautiful.

Spa and gym: didnt get a chance to go to the spa but there are always spa guys walking around offering you deals. The gym is quite nice went here everyday, never full so always enough to do.

Shows: not amazing different show every night. Best by far was the Gala night on fridays. They do a remix of music and everyone gets up and dances.

Vendors will come in every 2 days for you to buy goods. Remeber to haggle. If you start to walk away they always seem to change thier price.

5th avenue is another must go. People will try and pester you but if your polite and say no they then stop talking. The Tequila Barrel is a good visit.

Worst thing about this holiday was the Thomson rep. The excursions we went on are not how she explained them at all and was unhelpful to other Thomson couples.
Must go swin with Dolphins though. Amazing experience.

All in all a fantastic holiday. Weather was great. Service was great. Did not want to come home.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Staff dors not respect "do not disturb sign" and will come in regardless. Restaurant asked me to leave because I was sitting in an area designed for dinner, and told I had to go outside to eat the plate of food I had fixed, and without utensils. I have stayed in Motel 8's that made me feel more welcome. One should also note that you are asked not to flush toilet paper...yes, you are supposed to throw your used toilet paper in the wastepaper basket (the size of an ice cream container) and wait till they remove it. You can imagine the implications. DO NOT COME HERE!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have just returned from our holiday to the Ocean Maya Royal hotel and I must say what a wonderful holiday we had.

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary so decided to stay as privilege guests and we thought it was worth the extra cost, if you email the hotel they will book it for you at the cost of $40.00 per person per night which works out a bit cheaper than booking through your travel agent.

You get to use the privilege lounge which has a few extras for you and you can book any of the restaurants at which time suits you, you also can use one of the restaurant's for breakfast, we did this on one occasion but preferred to use the buffet restaurant as we liked to help ourselves to what we wanted some days we only wanted toast.
You also get the option of top shelf spirits and they don`t skimp on the measures either.
You also get a daily newspaper delivered to your room.
There are more advantages to being a privilege guest, if you look on the hotels web site you can see the list.


The hotel

It has the best grounds I have seen in an hotel and they are kept to a very high standard.
The room we had (104) was a very nice size and the house keeping was spot on, the room was immaculately cleaned every day and everything in the room was replenished daily including the mini bar and what a mini bar to many items to list ( you could not get any more in the fridge ), the towels were changed daily and they would change the privilege towels when you wanted.
The bed was very comfortable, we had a good selection of pillows and had a good night sleep every night.

The restaurant`s,

There are five restaurants which all were good including the buffet, we had heard of some not so good reviews on the food but we never had any complaints, there is plenty of choice and the food was always fresh and hot, all the waiters and staff really look after you.
We had a romantic meal of lobster on the beach outside the Italian restaurant which was really good, Oscar and Jesus were our waiters and they were really attentive.
At a push we decided the Italian was our favourite restaurant followed very closely by the Japanese but then again Blue Moon was a big hit as well!

The pools

Both pools were good, we stayed by the quite pool most of the time as this suited us, they are very well maintained and are kept extremely clean, the sun loungers are good quality but you had to get up early to insure you got a lounger.
There are plenty on the beach so not to much of a worry if you don't get one buy the pool.


Our Thomson rep was Lindsey and she was very helpful, she did not bother you all time and was always on hand if you needed her advice, she recommended the restaurant Alux (pronounced Alush) in Playa Del Carman, it is set in underground caves and we had a lovely meal there and is worth a visit if you get the chance, thank you Lindsey.

We met some nice people whilst we were there hi Colin and Sam hope you enjoyed Chichen Itza?

Overall we have a fantastic holiday and really enjoyed celebrating our 25th anniversary at the Ocean Maya
People always say they would go back to the place they have just visited but rarely do but I can honestly say I will go back to the Ocean Maya as it was that good.
I have been trying to think of the bad things but I can honestly say there was not one.

My only advice to the management would be to put some sort of collection box in the lobby so the guest`s can put some money in as a tip to be shared between all the staff, as I think the behind the scenes staff don`t get the rewards and recognition from the guest`s that they deserve.

Other than that don`t change a thing as what you are doing is spot on.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ashanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our ten year wedding anniversary during our 5 night stay here. The property is beautiful...well manicured, very clean and easy to get around. It's not so big that you are worn out walking from your room to the pool, to the beach, to the restaurant. Besides, after enjoying the all you can eat meals, we could use the walk to help digest, lol! The rooms were well appointed. We had plenty of bottled water restocked each day, and I assume the mini bar would have been too, but we are not big drinkers. The only negative about the rooms is that you can very easily hear your neighbors' doors slamming shut. We had some early risers who woke me up each morning. If you are a light sleeper, consider bringing some ear plugs or a noise machine. The beds themselves were comfortable, but I found some of the pillows to be a bit lumpy. Not a huge deal, but I thought I would share that, especially if you are very particular about your bed! The food was okay. We dined at each restaurant and I found that the Asian restaurant and the new "Blue Moon" romantic/fine dining restaurant were the best (we had dinner there twice)...everything tasted very good and fresh at those two restaurants. The breakfast and lunch buffets had a TON of variety, so you are bound to find something you like. Entertainment was great...every night there was a show followed by a dance party, and there was usually live music in the earlier part of the evening in the main square. This was a great place to people watch! The beach itself is divided into three parts...a stretch of sand next to the dock, then a boardwalk, then another stretch of sand. While the sandy beach portions were relatively small, it was clean, well maintained and much better than some of the surrounding resorts on either side. It is not, however, a HUGE, sparkling blue water type scene (to experience some of that, I would recommend an excursion to Xel-Ha!). Nonetheless, we enjoyed lounging there underneath a palm tree by the sand volleyball net. The pool was very nice...one area catered to more of the party types (where the swim up bar was) and the other end was far enough that you can have a quiet spot to cool off and not be disturbed. We stayed in an ocean view room, second floor in villa 36. The balcony was very private and had a lovely view. Overall, I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a quiet, more intimate resort to relax. And when we wanted to socialize, there was plenty opportunity to do that during the daytime activities or evening shows. I loved that it was small enough that we got to know the staff there. They were very friendly, helpful and professional.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer more private balconies. If you don't like your room upon arrival, defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.2 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#48 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,981 reviews
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing