We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Ocean Maya Royale”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #47 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Buckhorn, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Ocean Maya Royale”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

First stay was Sept. 2012 for 5 nights. This time we brought 3 other people to experience all the beauty that Ocean Maya had to offer. Was very excited to come back as 5 nights didn't quite seem enough. Just as beautiful as the last time we stayed here...grounds are immaculate. Rooms are very modern and well kept. We were there celebrating 3 birthdays the week March 15-March 22. Had a nice surprise when I came back to my room on the night of my birthday where there was a cake with a nice Happy Birthday note. Thank you for the added touch..the cake was delicious!

The food is very good. We have stayed at a few other resorts in the area and Ocean Maya has the best food of all. It actually seemed to be even better than before, if that was possible. The only complaint in the food department everyone in our group had was the margarine. It actually ruined the taste of food. I would not even use it. Needless to say, we all gained weight the week we were there. Our favourite dinner was the Japanese, especially the cooking show with Nick. It was my moms birthday dinner and Nick was so entertaining and made the whole experience very fun! And the food was delicious!

The beach...many complaints about the beach online but I had no complaints, the sand is soft, and if you walk the beach in both directions you quickly realize that Ocean Maya has the best, and well kept beach in the area. The first few days were very windy and the water was not very clear but then when the winds finally calmed down the water was clear enough to see all the fish swimming around us.

The lobby bar is filled with lots of comfortable seating...this is a plus after the last few resorts we have been to that did not offer very comfortable seating, or enough for that matter. The waitresses (jo and cece) sorry, not sure on spelling, work so hard in the lobby bar, and were so sweet. Thanks for the great service girls. We had a lot of fun!

The last day we stayed there they were in the process of replacing all the beds at the resort with pillowtop mattresses so no need to worry about all the reviews of the beds being too hard. (At least they looked like they would be comfortable)

We all enjoyed our vacation at Ocean Maya Royale and I am sure we will return again one day. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stay in room 1306 and really loved the location being so close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you also for returning this time for more days. It is really great to read that this stay have been ever better than the first one. That is our main goal, to keep improving our service in order to please future guest but the most important is to please returning guests like you. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the surprise for your bday.

I hope you come back soon again!!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,368
    2,017
    636
    255
    156
See reviews for
569
4,041
54
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for our Honeymoon. I found this hotel through my travel agent. We payed for the all inclusive which covered tips, drinks, food, activities and nightly entertainment. They had wonderful food options, although the room service and the Italian restaurant were not that great. Be sure to try the Blue Moon when you go. The beach had beautiful white sand, great for tanning but this is not a beach to swim at. The water water was dirty and had large boulders. If you want a hotel with beaches to play in, find another one. Other than that we had a wonderful time. It helps if you speak Spanish otherwise you may have a hard time communicating. I used my Spanish quite a bit to help clarify what we needed or wanted.

Room Tip: Be sure to get the all Inclusive or its not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you also for choosing us to spend such a special time as your honeymoon. We are happy to read that overall you have had a great time, unfirtunately, as you have mentioned about the beach, is white beautiful sand, but the sea depends on the season of the year, some are better than others.

We hope to see you back soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The resort and staff were very nice. We upgraded to the 'Privilege' level and it was nice...just felt kind of strange being singled out. Room service & beach lounge were a plus. Also enjoyed restaurant service without a reservation. Still, we would not repeat the upgrade if we were to return again.

Wife got very sick and the 'hotel doc' wasn't much help. Ordered much work at local hospital. We waited until we got home to our ER (next day) and he didn't have anything right. Handed him $120 US, so I guess he got that right.

That being said, the hotel staff was very caring and interested in her well-being. Just not a plan in place to get anyone to the hospital ($50 RT cab ride).

Like the resort, the food was good. The breakfast staff at the restaurant on the beach was outstanding. Just tired of the Mexico vacation. We started when there was still nice resorts in undeveloped areas (Eldorado/Seaside Suites) that were awesome and reasonable in price. Noticed over the years that service has dropped at just about everytheing we did.

We will be going back to Jamaica when we need a beach-fix. The Couples brand has set the bar at a point that we can't find in Mexico. Sorry, but it was fun while it lasted.

One great sightseeing trip we tried was the Sunset Coba trip. Will add another review for that.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the upgrade to Privilege
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzarkTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. I am really sorry to read that you wife got sick while here and that you did not recieved the expected atention. I hope that she is now better and that despite that you both got to enjoy your holiday.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a great hotel. we had a fantastic holiday and will be going back. The only bad experience was a fishing trip booked with Captain Rick's fishing. DONT BOTHER! its a rip off. The crew fished , we didn't! the were very sexist to the female members of the group!

Room Tip: there'r all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davemmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are really happy to read that you had a great time with us. Thank you for the complements.

We hope that you come back soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a very nice hotel set in lovely grounds which are immaculately kept. We went for a relaxing break with good weather and got exactly that. We travelled from Manchester with Thomson on the Dreamliner and the journey was very good, although long . my husband is 6ft 2 and usually complains of being achy and cramped after flights but was fine on the Dreamliner. Our room was clean and comfortable and there was a bottle of bubbly waiting for us when we arrived. The choice of food was good and although sometimes we felt the staff could have been more attentive, generally the service was good.
The beach was lovely,as was the pool area, the large pool is quieter, all the activities happen around the small pool. Although reservations aren't necessary for the restaurants, privilege guests get priority an depending what time you turn up at the restaurant, you may have to wait a while, particularly the Italian as this is very popular. This wasn't a problem though, as we just had a drink while we waited.
The entertainment at this hotel is quite low key which suited us. There is a show every night and other entertainment includes a singer and a saxophonist in tithe early evening.
For obvious reasons this hotel is very popular with Americans and Canadians, so Europeans are in the minority.We were there during spring break and our American cousins can get very noisy at times,especially if they spend all the time at the pool bar!
However this was the only downside to ann otherwise lovely holiday

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nellie9_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are really happy to read that you have both spent a great holiday, despite of being so far away from Home. A special thank you for the complements made to the grounds, we have a full team of gardeners working very hard everyday to keep them in shape.

We hope that you come back soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle-upon-tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Travelled here with my partner and what can i say. Amazing!!
Food - tasty, lot's of choice, A la cartes were great fun-especially teppenyaki table! and italian on beach is very romantic, must try lobster!
Rooms - we upgraded to a deluxe and it was amazingly comfortable and bed was huge! very spacious and lovely shower.
Pools - We prefered the lively pool, animation team great fun but not too full on so don't feel pressured to join in if you dont want, they will leave you alone if you prefer.
Staff - Can not fault one single one of them, they all made you feel welcome and remebered us, so felt very personal which was lovely, did not want to come home and can not wait to go back!
Playa del carmen is approx 10 min taxi ride away, not too expensive but defo worth anight out :) :)
Excellent place for couples and i would 110% recommend!
I look forward to my return in the New year x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ann-marie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Booked this vacation with a travel group of 84 people. What a fantastic vacation!!! The resort was clean, the staff was very friendly, hardworking and accommodating. The food at the ala carte restaurants was SOOO good.....way more than we expected. Our favorite was the Asian with the hibachi grill with Chef Nick!! A close second was the Italian restaurant. Our favorite entertainer was Anny Martell. She was such a sweetie, taking some of us for walks on the beach, making us feel very special and always had a smile on her face. Highly recommend this resort!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 957annj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#55 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,234 reviews
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing