We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #48 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great for first holiday to Mexico, lovely staff, nice little beach, big pools. People put towels down early which is annoying,it is hard to get a lounger with shade unless you decide to do same which we don't like to do. One loud pool for games and drinkers, one quiet one.
A lot of people were going to return, we don't normally revisit anywhere but would recommend it to friends for a relaxing holiday.
Only a £10 taxi trip to Peurto del Carmen, worth a trip. Lots of trips available from hotel to various sights. Enjoyed jungle trip which involved zip wires, abseiling, snorkelling through caves.
Only one bad day of weather and maybe two afternoons, apart from that lovely and hot.

Great for first holiday to Mexico, lovely staff, nice little beach, big pools. People put towels down early which is annoying,it is hard to get a lounger with shade unless you decide to do same which we don't like to do. One loud pool for games and drinkers, one quiet one.
A lot of people were going to return, we don't normally revisit anywhere but would recommend it to friends for a relaxing holiday.
Only a £10 taxi trip to Peurto del Carmen, worth a trip. Lots of trips available from hotel to various sights. Enjoyed jungle trip which involved zip wires, abseiling, snorkelling through caves.
Only one bad day of weather and maybe two afternoons, apart from that lovely and hot.
Seemed s waste of space in Privilege as no one there and just annoyed everyone else.
Lovely staff, very hardworking and at times putting up with rude customers. We saw a lot of the lovely Nora who was always busy.
Plenty of food and drink, loads to choose from.
Seemed s waste of space in Privilege as no one there and just annoyed everyone else.
Lovely staff, very hardworking and at times putting up with rude customers. We saw a lot of the lovely Nora who was always busy.
Plenty of food and drink, loads to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEBAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,179
    1,957
    612
    251
    154
See reviews for
549
3,884
49
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent resort we flew into cozumel and took the ferry over which took about 30 min and was very simple i would choose this route over flying to cancun and taking a taxi, it was more enjoyable and im comparing that the the taxi ride from hotel to cancun airport on our deptarting flight, the hotel had beautiful well kept grounds and very nice staff, food wasnt anything to write home about but it was edible. nice beach and would return again if ever in the area..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGPHAAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

first trip to mexico with my partner. really liked this hotel. on arrival we were a little disppotinted with our room as it was really out of the way of anything with a view of trees and noting else, we did email prior to arrival to request a room close to the sea. after speaking to the reception team they sorted a new room for us which would be ready the next day after 3pm. the view we had in the new room was a nice view of the gardens and sea :) they also left us a bottle of wine and some chocolate covered strawberries which was a nice surprise.

we spent most of our sunbathing on the beach just by the massage hut, we found it really peaceful with a nice breeze of the sea and also away from the daily entertainments that went on around the pool bar. which was good as we wanted a nice relaxing holiday. we did find that we had get up really early (6am) to reserve sunbeds, even though they say you're not to, everybody does it so it best just to get up get a good spot. once your towels are down, go back to bed or go for breakfast.

food wise, it was good, we mainly ate at the mexican and the buffet. they change the theme daily in buffet to stop it getting boring which is good. drinks on tap, they waiting staff are on it with asking if you want drinks. the tamarind margarita was my favourite.

The staff all work so hard, they workm really long hours and always have a smile on their faces.

i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayo Coco, Cuba
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Been back a few days now we flew on the Dreamliner not as quick as I was expecting going but only 8 and a half hours coming back.we stayed at this hotel last year and found it had changed very little a bit of decorating had been done .more mossies this year probably because of the rain we had 6days sporadically but when it rained it poured.we saw more iguanas this year and we saw the usual critters those coatis and raccoons and what a nice surprise we saw the deer .beach was lovely but still had problem getting beds as people were hogging them I suggested that maybe they let customers use the privilege area for a small charge for the brollies and beds as there were nearly all empty probably because it cost too much for the package.we ate at the Italian which was nice .holiday overall was very chilled and would return again.we did not go anywhere as the cost of trips were very high cheapest being 68pounds each and long days,very tiring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our first trip to Mexico & our first trip all inclusive and we would definitely go back! The Ocean Maya's entertainment staff are amazing! They are such lovely young people who work extremely hard to ensure your holiday is remembered! Thankyou Anny, Amy-Jean, Arturo & Giovani! We will definitely be seeing you again! The hotel overall is a lovely place and the staff are extremely polite. The food choice was great but the Italian & Japanese restaurants were my favourite.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaPaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our first all-inclusive experience and it was awesome. The weather started off a little shaky but ended up nice most of the week. The staff was all very friendly and made sure that we had everything we needed. The room was nice with a partial ocean view - could hear the waves in the morning. Several restaurants on site were all good. We liked the Italian the best. The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner was also very good with lots of choices. The only thing we were a little disappointed in was feeling "trapped" and didn't get out to see many of the sites. Mostly we wanted to relax and sit on the beach or poolside so all and all good experience.

Room Tip: Second floor gives you a little more privacy - each room has a balcony on the second floor and first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fordpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincourt, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to the Ocean Maya the week of Oct 31/2013. Beautiful, well kept, small, quaint explains this resort. Food was excellent, grounds and rooms were beautiful. We had a nice week but I did not feel like I was in the Mayan Riviera, not really sure why, maybe it was the beach at hotel, it was a small beach and the water was murky not blue.I felt I had to leave the resort so not to be board. The age group at the resort was 55 +, not what we expected. Two days we had gone into Playa del Carmen on 5th ave , I love Playa del Carmen, thank god we were not to far from the town, about a 10min taxi ride which cost us $20.00 us each way. Another bad point for me was the pool with the bar, they played music all day, which was ok until they played their so called house music which is Techno, the most annoying sound to here on a Mexican Resort, I though Mexican music was Latino? Not to mention the age group not appreciate Techno. I did mention this to the DJ, the music was changed right away, but not for long. I would recommend this hotel but only to 55+ or couples who want nothing to do expect relax. Loved the resort but would not go back only because of the water at the beach. Prime beach is a must for me. Have to mention the entire staff ways exceptional, loved everyone. one silly point, the lobby smell fabulous, there was a fragrance spray that would go off through the lobby, I loved it, never seen that before, nice touch. Atlot of plus, very few neg.

Room Tip: More quite, stay near lobby. We stayed in 1807, was right between lobby and pool, perfect. Up at po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpink2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.2 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,977 reviews
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing