We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will not be disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #49 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here October 2013 and really enjoyed it.
We decided to take the privilege upgrade and although people say its not worth the extra I would disagree. The personal touch with privilege was great. No local spirits all top shelf brands, private section on beach with waitress service, free wifi everywhere, free room service and unlimited champagne!!. If you can stretch a bit further go for it.

Food was excellent with a choice of Italian , tapanyaki , Mexican and the usual buffet restaurant. Didn't get board of food once.
Hotel and grounds absolutely immaculate with loads of wildlife running around. We had our own little coatie we nick named Ernie who joined us for breakfast every morning. Cute.

Staff in the main were very polite and would like to say a special thank you to Alberto the waiter and Azusena who was our waitress on privilege beach. Both great people and made us feel very special.

The only negative was the pool with swim up bar. It was very noisy and crowded with a lot of American weekenders looking to party. Suppose it's a bit like going to Majorca from the UK so can't really complain too much but seemed that the waiters in the swim up bar are completely motivated by tips which our American friends are more than happy to do if it gets them served quicker which can mean you waiting a while unless you flash the dollar.

Met some great people British, Canadian and American and would not hesitate in going back again in the future. Mexico is FANTASTIC!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I really apreciate that you decided to go for the Privilege pacakge and you got to enjoy it so much. Thank you for all the great comments about the food and also about two very special people, Alberto and Azucena, I will be telling them what a good job they have done with you.

We hope to see you soon!!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,187
    1,957
    612
    251
    154
See reviews for
549
3,888
50
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for unforgettable vacation


There are wonderful people
who give from their hearts
in thoughtful and unselfish ways,
so willing to share,
help out, or be there,
no matter how busy they are
We would like to thank the director, manager for providing us with a special vacation
A special thank you to Anny, Alberto, Arturo, poncho, Lesley, Tabata, all the bartenders and rast of the wonderful entertainment team. Without you this would have not been possible.
This was our second vacation at your resort and many more to come.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sarajevo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am delited to read such a wonderful review full of kind words towards the staff of the Hotel. We can not thank you enogh for writing so many beautiful words dedicated to all the hard working staff. It was really great to host you here again and as you say we hope it is the second time of more to come.

Best regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Let me share with you guys our GREAT experience at the Ocean Maya Royale. My spouse and I spent eight nights from October 14th till 22nd. From our welcome until our check out we only have good things to say about this resort. The staff was very devoted to make our stay a pleasant experience. The multiple two-storey villas style instead of a big hotel makes the resort very unique. Surrounded by a nice garden, the landscape is very beautiful. There are also a lot of Coatis and Iguanas that you can admire closely. Whatever you feel to be low profile or interact more you will find your way. You can choose to sit on the beach near the sea, an interactive pool or a more quiet pool. Their entertainment team does a very good job to give an extra boost to your days. A special thank you to Anny, Giovanni and Leslie. The food variety is excellent and their ceviches were all very good. The Italian restaurant has a particular cachet by being close to the sea. We definitely give a two thumbs up to this resort!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hugo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you both had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you so much for the complements to the property, the landscape and of course, the entertainment staff.

We hope to see you back here soon!!

Best regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hello, We just got back from our Honeymoon from Mexico and we stayed at the Ocean Maya resort. We had such a great time! The pools and beach was beautiful, The staff was always so nice and helpfully. The restaurants and the buffet on the resort was so good the food was awesome! The only complain about the room was that the bed was so hard and uncomfortable to sleep in the bed and the pillows were not good at all! Other then that we had a blast the grounds were so beautiful!! I would totally go back to this resort for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We would also like to thank you for choosing our Hotel to spend your honeymoon; we are very pleased to read that it has been a wonderful time. Regarding the Matresses, we are in the process of changing all of them.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you want a quieter, smaller hotel to get away from it all, then The Ocean Maya Royale is for you!! After coming down the very well kept and smooth drive from the main road we were greeted with a very welcomed welcome drink after our long flight. Check In was very quick and found our room with ease, however, we did book a room with a balcony sea view but stepped into a ground floor room by the pool!!! We went back to reception who kindly did sort us out a room and once they did we were not dissapointed! A room in a block right on the sea by the Water sports centre! We opted for a room with a queen sized bed as there was no point in having one with 2 beds! Plenty large enough for 2 people with a sofa and chair, daily stocked mini fridge and coffee! Always freash towels and our lovely cleaner was so friendly and always had time to say hello and ask if we ever needed anything! The food from all four restaurants is amazing and so are the staff who serve in them! All of the staff, the gardeners, cleaners, bar staff, waiters and waitress are always so happy and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. We have never been to such a friendlier hotel. All of the room blocks are very well kept and clean and the gardens all over, well, never seen anything so well maintained before!!! The gardeners were always tending to them! So much wildlife within them too! There's a board up with some of the animals you may see like the very loveable Coatis, Iguanas, Geckos, Frogs and if you are lucky the resident Raccoon and Black & White domestic cat that both hang around in evening looking to entertain everyone with a fight! Also plenty of birds and other animals, it's like being in a mini wildlife park! The beach area is very well kept compared to some along that stretch with not a sand bag in sight! Plenty of sun loungers on the beach but the very lovely pool area, especially the quiter pool could do with a few more as they are always taken very early in the mornings.We also paid a vist to the Spa, not included in the price, but if you were with Thomsom, you can use the outside hot tubs free of charge!!! We did a couple of treatments and by the time you change the rate to British Pounds it was very well priced!All in all an amazing 14 nights away! And if you want somewhere just to completely get away from it this is definitely the hotel for you!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are really pleased to read that you had such a great time here with us. We really apreciate all the wonderful comments you have made about the property, the food and the staff. We are also pleased that despite of geting the wrong room on arrival we managed to assist you straight away and did not affect at all your holidays.

We hope to see you soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our second visit to the Ocean Maya Royale so we knew what to expect. However when we arrived Claudia had upgraded us to Privilege and we had the most amazing front sea view which took my breath away every day. Our whole holiday was made all the more fantastic by Azusena who looked after us on a daily basis on the beach in the Privilege area, she was a star and such a lovely person, Alberto who made our breakfast very special, Manuel and Jose in the Mexican restaurant, Oscar in the Italian who called me his queen and of course the wonderful Anna Iris who is still excellent and always ready with a smile and a joke and a tequilla !!

The hotel is still very much a 5* experience, with the grounds, rooms, food and staff all wonderful.

Claudia made my husbands 50th birthday an incredible day that he will always remember with balloons both at breakfast and to his surprise in our room.

Oscar on our last night appeared with a cake and the words 'come back soon' in chocolate around the plate - what a nice touch.

So once again a huge THANK YOU to everyone at the Ocean Maya Royale and we have already booked for next year - we cannot wait !!! Love to everyone xxx

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view - well worth it, especially for the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gatliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I am a little late posting this review but we stayed at Ocean Maya for a week at the end of September. We travelled as a couple and chose Ocean Maya Royale as last time we had been to Mexico we had stayed at the H1O Ocean Coral Turquesa and had a good experience.
On arrival the check in was very fast and we were given a welcome drink. There was quite a queue to be taken to their room so we found our own but it was not a problem as the hotel grounds are not that big.

The room was very nice, had a welcome bottle of bubbly and glasses awaiting us. The mini bar is stocked with water,beer and some bottles of 7up,pepsi etc. There was also a coffee machine but we did not use it. The bed was really comfy, the pillows are quite bulky so are not ideal if you don't like sleeping propped up. Also the aircon worked perfectly fine. The rooms are in blocks around the Hotel grounds, we were in block 23 which was a short distance from the reception and also to the pools. It backed on to the mangroves but the balcony overlooked a nice courtyard.

The Hotel grounds are immaculate and there is wildlife everywhere. I was a particular fan of the coatis.You just have to call them and they all come running!Very cute! There was also iguanas,deer and racoons in evenings.

The pools are right next to each other. The one on the left in the quieter pool and the right one has the pool bar and is where the animation team are throughout the day running games and activities. The pools were very nice but there is no where near enough sunbeds by the quiet pool, there is plenty of room so think they could do with some more as you have to get up and be at the pool by 8am to get a seat there! The pools are right by the beach which have plenty of sunbeds so its not far if you sit there.

The only thing that lets this Hotel down is the beach. They have built a board walk and made the best of it but it's not really a tropical paradise beach. If you walk down the beach to the left towards the Catalonia it gets worse and worse with sandbags and alot of dark seaweed. There is a lot of seaweed next to the platform in the water that the Hotel are proactive and try to clear but there is just so much of the stuff! If you walk 10 mins down the beach there is a pretty lagoon, you are just not allowed to use the bridge to get to it as its owned by one of the other hotels but you can swim in it. The Hotel do a 'walking tour' to it a few times a week but if you walk left and keep going you will find it.

The Ocean Maya has a buffet restaurant and then a Japanese,Italian and Mexican restaurant. The Mexican is by the pool and doubles up as a second buffet restaurant at lunch. The best one in our opinion was the Japanese, we went there twice and it was very tasty and the service was great!I highly recommend the teriyaki beef! The Italian was also very nice. The good thing about this Hotel unlike ala cartes in other Hotels is that you do not have to pre-book the restaurants and men do not have to wear long trousers. The buffet was quite nice, I don't recommend the one by the pool at lunch as limited choice so we walked further to the main one. You can always find something to your taste at the buffet.

I would say if you compare it to the Ocean Coral Turquesa that it is not as good because the O.C has a much nicer beach but it was still a very nice Hotel and if I found it for the right price I would not hesitate visiting there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HollyP186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.2 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#48 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,977 reviews
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing