We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel room.. and got sick”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #43 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The staff was nice, but we didn't feel that they genuinely cared. We first went to Cozumel and the hotel we stayed at there was about the same size and the staff there were extremely friendly, so we noticed a big difference. The drinks were good and the food was eh. We came here on our honeymoon and we had the "romantic dinner" set up through Guest Services, but they only gave us one time to choose from and that was the last night we were there. Unforutnately, the 2nd day we were there, both my husbands and my stomach started hurting and the pain increased each day. On day 4, I was very sick. We couldn't do anything the last two days we were there and the "romantic dinner" was cancelled. I was devistated that I got sick there - we didn't eat or drink anywhere else except for the hotel because it's all inclusive. The Mexican Restaurant there was nice, but it was awful seeing so many guests have to wait for a table. There were only 3 waiters working at a time and tons of tables - they couldn't accommodate everyone. We were near the door and so we heard guests saying "look at all the empty tables..." etc.. that was not good. The view was great - we had the honeymoon pacakge and so we were right by the pool. The location wasn't very good. Next time, I would prefer to be closer to Cancun so we could leave the hotel without having to take a taxi to go anywhere. The hotels around there are all off of the highway, so you can't walk anywhere. Playa del Carmen was a $20 taxi ride each way and Cancun was $40 each way. What we loved were seeing the anmilas all around the grounds roaming around - the iguaanas, deer and so on. The hotel room was very nice. Although the light in our bathroom went out and it took them two days for someone to fix it. We won't be coming back for all those reasons.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,312 - 3,318 of 6,971 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 weeks at this resort from the 19th September - 3rd October 2013. Check-in was quick and uncomplicated and while we waited which was only for a few minutes we were given an ice cold refreshing non alcoholic drink which was just what we needed. We were directed to our room which in hindsight we should of asked for someone to take us as we couldn't find it and had to ask a couple of the maids who were helpful but no one actually took us so it did take around 15 minutes til we finally found it. Although there was nothing wrong with the room it did not overlook the pool or the beach so we asked for an upgrade which we were given the next day without any problem. Everyone at the resort spoke excellent English and the entertainment team were superb, their nightly shows were very good and well worth watching. The food was good and well presented although it felt a little bit repetitive after 2 weeks but from where we have holidayed in the past all the hotels are the same. We did eat in the other restaurants on site, the Mexican, Japanese and Italian which were very enjoyable. It was a relaxing holiday but with lots to do if you wanted to. The Thompson rep 'Savannah' was brilliant nothing was too much trouble and she always seemed to be about when you needed her . Mikes coffee bar inside the hotel lobby was a great place to unwind with every type of coffee or tea including smoothies you could want and always served with a smile by 'Mary' who was lovely. The only downside for us was that if you wanted a sun lounger by the pool you need to get up and have your towel on a lounger by 7.30am if not you stand no chance of getting one til late afternoon, the same applies to the 'beds' on the beach. All their sewage system really meds to be updated as there were notices asking you not to put the toilet paper in the toilet instead they provided you with a bin for used tissue - not so bad within your own room but not nice in communal areas like the bar areas and hotel lobby . We would have to say that going 'privilege ' is a waste of money unless you insist on drinking branded drinks. If your looking for a relaxing holiday in a lovely place with great people then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: If you want a room that's near the pool ask for blocks in the numbers 20 eg 2606
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Kym3-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had an awesome stay, the best room on the property, we had a complimentary wedding, which was just as beautiful as any. All if the staff were friendly and helpful. The shows were fun, our group did karaoke and had a blast. The view of the ocean is excellent. I would go back in a heartbeat, we had the BEST bartender ever!! He made us feel like we were VIP, thank you Alejandro!! Us crazy white biker trash people had an awesome time!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bre531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just returned from my best holiday ever. Stayed at the Ocean Maya Royale where my wife and i were treated like ROYALTY. Greeted with a glass of champagne while we checked in and whisked away to our room on the buggy.Our luggage arrived a few moments latter. The room had a great view from the balcony out over the pools and beyond the sea.Staff make any hotel and must say that at the Ocean this is on exception.In the buffet restaurant Alfredo was always cheerful and pleasant ready to have a joke and quick to see to your every need. The entertainment staff Danielle,Anny,Lesley,Tabatha,Aturo,Giovanni,Poncho,Jeff all marshalled by Miguel. All bar staff were pleasant and quick to react to ALL requests Ebber. As this was our third visit to this hotel we were treated to a special dinner by the pool cooked and served by the senior management team .cannot recommend this hotel enough. Thanks to all at the Ocean

David and Muriel Rae

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank davidrae2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me and my partner spent two weeks at this resort from the 21st September 2013 - 05 October 2013. The check-in was a breeze as there was only one other couple who got of the coach with us. At check-in we got a lovely refreshing cocktail (alcohol free), when we came to the actual checking-in part we found the gentleman on reception very pleasant, spoke very good English and he didn't mess about with useless info. The actual holiday was extremely relaxing and never did I feel anything was to much to ask for. Everything was done at our own pace and we felt we never needed to rush anywhere, with that said though sunbeds around the pool were normally gone by 8ish ones with umbrellas were gone by half 7 so if you are a pool person be prepared to get up rather early. This was not a problem for us because we rather enjoyed being on the beach and in the sea rather then the pool (The breach on the right hand side of the resort is perfect). The food in the a la carte restaurants was exceptional our favourite being the Italian. The Mexican was good but me and my partner thought the menu was a bit tricky to understand. The Japanese was very entertaining as well as delicious and very, very filling especially if you sit at the hibachi grill. How ever the buffet was mediocre at evening times, at breakfast and lunch it was delicious but as soon as the sun dropped it seemed to change and food seemed a bit cold and not much taste variety, but we hardly ate here due to the other restaurants being seeing good with no reservations needed (we did have to wait 5 mins one night). Unless you are a massive drinker and cant bare to be away from your beloved home branded spirits then the privilege package is a waste of time. Sure, you get a bit better room but how much time do you spend in your room awake? very little. The room we stayed in (1908) was perfect for us, we had all the space we needed and more rooms where cleaned daily (even though the times this was done varied) and the mini fridge was restocked daily with 2x Pepsi's, 2x sprite's, 2x Fanta's 2x bottled waters and 2x cans of beer. Its hard to sum up how good this hotel actually is, while I was there I did not here one person complain and everyone we spoke to at the resort was having a brilliant time. In fact we didn't even need to ask, you could tell by the smiles on there faces. So ignore the bad reviews, book it and go you will enjoy it massively.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1908 which was half way between the beach and the lobby which as you can imagine is ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I spent one week here and enjoyed every second of it.

Without exaggeration, every aspect of this hotel is truly outstanding.

To begin with, the check-in and check-out process at the front desk was pleasant, smooth, fast, and efficient.

We had the standard room – it was very attractive, and modern looking. The room looked as good in person as it does in the hotel website photos. The room was also spacious, brightly lit, and spotlessly clean. The 2 queen beds were very comfortable – bed pillows a bit lumpy.

The room’s air conditioner worked very well – it was relatively quiet and always kept the room at a low humidity level and very comfortable temperature. The mini-fridge worked well, kept all the contents cold and was always promptly restocked by the hotel staff with the bottled water and soft drinks we drank.

TV worked very well and included one channel which was very handy because it showed pictures of the local weather conditions – did not need to know Spanish to understand the information. Too bad the pay-per-view movie channel did not seem to work.

The in-room safe was on the small side – we could barely fit our tablet into it. Do not think a laptop would fit. Internet was free in the lobby, but could also be had in the room for $20 for 3 days. Connection speed not as fast as back home but was relatively fast. We Skyped family back home almost daily and it worked fairly well most of the time.

The bathroom was so clean and fancy it looked like one of those you see in home improvement magazines. It was obvious to the eye that it was built with beautiful and top quality materials. In addition, plenty of thick, good quality towels were supplied daily. The provided soaps, lotions, and other toiletries were really good quality as well. Whatever we used was promptly replaced the next morning – we did not have to ask for anything during our entire stay.

Our room was on the ground floor and had a large patio door which was easy to open/close/lock. The large door allowed lots of daylight into our room. The curtains in front of the door were easy to open/close. The chairs on the patio were very comfortable, and there was a nice table too.

The hotel grounds were breathtaking. Grass was green, weed-free, and neatly kept everywhere. There was also a wide variety of trees, shrubs and flowers. Many of the trees/shrubs/flowers had small signs in front of them identifying them by name. All of this made it a real pleasure to take a walk anywhere on the grounds – no two pathways looked the same, and they all looked wonderful. The grounds were very well lit at night and the lighting was also great to look at. Cute little animals often roamed about the property – mainly lizards, coatis, birds, and one cat. They were all harmless, fun to watch, and got along with each other.

We brought bug spray anticipating lots of black flies/mosquitoes at night – we did not have to use the spray even once.

The beach was not long, but was in great condition. Pretty white sand with virtually no stones. Same thing when you stood in the water. Not much seaweed either. Also every day a hotel worker raked up seaweed off the beach and kept it looking great. We took a walk along the 2 beaches to the left and to the right of our hotel and they were almost deserted because the beaches were so ugly.

One hotel had a very long stretch of beach but it was lined with piles of hideous looking sandbags as well as lots of seaweed. The water near shore was also filled with floating seaweed. One section by that beach had maybe 100 chairs – only 2 had towels on them, and no people at all were to be seen.

The other hotel also had a long stretch of beach but so much seaweed on the sand and in the water that most of the time nobody could be seen either on the sand or in the water.

The two swimming pools at our hotel were big, and in top condition. The water was always very clean and clear. We really enjoyed spending hours at the beach and pool every day.
Every day we easily found chairs by the beach or by the pool, in sunny or shady areas. The hotel set up lots of shady areas near beach and pool under which people could relax on their long chairs.

We drank several of the drinks and beverages at the bars and restaurants – they were all delicious, none of them watered-down.

At the hotel theater we saw 3 complete evening shows and parts of 2 others. The performers were very talented, entertaining, and worth watching.

Everything we used was less than a 5 or 10 minute walk at a slow pace from our room – the beach, both pools, all restaurants, gift shop, lobby, and the theater where evening shows took place.
The outside of the hotel building and the buildings where the guest rooms were located were beautiful and in a variety of bright, great looking colors.

The gift shops in the lobby and the craft display near the pool sell very attractive and good quality merchandise – we bought a few things from them and are really pleased.

The staff everywhere was courteous, attentive, caring, pleasant, and efficient – front desk, lobby stores, restaurants, bars, maids, pool towel service, etc.

We tried all the restaurants and the food was excellent at every one of them. Everything was very tasty. Meats and fish were cooked tender. The rest of the food was really good too. Portions were generous. My wife is a daily coffee drinker and she said the coffee and cappuccinos were really good. The buffets included a good variety of meats, fish, rice, potatoes, vegetables, breads, fruits, cheeses, deli meats, salads, pastries, etc. – all very good. At the main buffet (Hacienda) a lot of the foods had signs describing exactly what they were. The all-inclusive package includes unlimited meals at all à la carte restaurants & no reservations required! When we arrived the front desk told us the hotel was at 90% capacity – yet when we ate at the à la carte restaurants there was absolutely no waiting time for a table – except one night we had a brief 10 minute wait.

The restaurant hours are really good - from 7am to 10 pm there is always at least 1 restaurant that is open except for one half hour period. This greatly reduces the possibility of a given restaurant being crowded at any particular time. It made it a pleasure to stroll through the buffets taking the food you wanted, with no lineups anywhere - and the few places there were they were very short. The main buffet served breakfast until 11am which was a real plus. We were able to enjoy several evening shows during our stay, sleep late the next morning, and not miss breakfast.

The atmosphere among the guests was relaxed, open and friendly. We had enjoyable conversations with a few people whom we did not know before. Other guests felt the same as we did about this hotel – it is a fabulous place, we are really happy to be here, and would not rather be staying anywhere else. No one we spoke to had a single complaint about this hotel.

To sum up, this hotel makes me think of an expert painter or sculptor who pays close attention to detail and produces one masterpiece after another. This hotel excels in all areas and at everything it does.

My wife and I have stayed at a lot of hotels/motels in a few countries in our lives. We both feel the Ocean Maya Royale is the very best hotel (or tied with one other) that we have ever been to anywhere in the world and we look forward to coming back as soon as we can. We both highly recommend this hotel. The Ocean Maya Royale is an adults-only resort. If you are looking for a family resort, the same H10 chain operates the Ocean Coral & Turquesa a few miles down the street from the Ocean Maya Royale.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank TravelingFamily892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Positives: the grounds were immaculate and always had someone working on maintaining them. Workers were cordial saying hola as you passed. Room was large with nice accommodations, excellent shower, nice sitting area and closet. Bed was firm to our liking however the pillows were very hard and lumpy, did ask at the front desk for softer pillows and after asking twice did get two softer pillows. AC was cold, but did at times leak a little bit. Our room was down towards the pool and beach, so had a small walk up to the front for the buffet or nighttime entertainment. Great entertainment staff and excellent bartenders. We did do a beach side massage which was wonderful but did have a problem with the bill at check out and using our apple vacation credits (make sure you understand exactly what they are telling you you will pay, we were told we could use our credits but at check out were told no)

There is a lagoon to the left of the resort about 10-15 walk, absolutely beautiful and well worth the walk. also walking that way will show you just how nice and well they maintain the beach at the resort. the one aside is that there is security down by the lagoon and we were not allowed to use the bridge to cross the small river, we had to swim through it and it does have a pretty decent current.

food was ok, the buffet did have a variety of foods, fresh fruit, but towards the end of the week was becoming routine as to be expected. The Japanese and Italian restaurants were excellent, we did not make it to the mexican one for dinner. they would do "cookouts" by the pool for lunch which was always interesting and fun.

negatives: our major negative was service at the buffet, which is where we ate the majority of our meals except for a few dinners. multiple times we went through a whole meal with out anyone approaching our table to ask us if we wanted drinks, or to take away a dirty plate. also when you were in the pool there was not much drink refill service, you would have to get out and walk over to the pool bar. we had much higher expectations after being at other resorts in mexico with outstanding service. also after the show put on by the entertainment staff the only area to "hang out" was in the lobby bar, which was very warm with little air flow through the open room.


***We highly recommend going to XelHa for a day trip. What a marvelous experience and well worth the money! Chartered bus takes you down there and you get all day to float and swim, eat, drink and relax. The snorkeling was excellent! ***

Room Tip: upper floors had less bugs swarming outside of room doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. On the one hand we would like to thank you for all the positive things that you have said about the Hotel and on the other hand we also apreciate that you have taken the time to highlight things, like the service at the main buffet, that can be improved; we will be taking the necesesary measurements to avoid this from happening again. We do hope that in general, you have had a wonderful vacation.

We hope to see you soon

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,976 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#61 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,974 reviews
2.6 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
10,271 reviews
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,708 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $194 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing