We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean Maya Riviera PDC/Mexico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #48 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ocean Maya Riviera PDC/Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay. Great value for the money. The hotel, rooms, and grounds are immaculate...staff are very accomodating. Food choices at the buffet are plentiful - basic fare. The Italian restaurant has a great chicken/ham cheese dinner entree...very good.
Beach and ocean are not the best @ this all inclusive so if swimming in the ocean is what you seek there are better locations. The facility does have two pools. I must comment on the fact that air conditioning is limited - the buffet is kept slightly air conditioned as is the restaurant that does the hibachi so if you need a/c then the heat and humidity will be hard to tolerate this time of the year...we had no rain at all. I think if you upgrade to privilege you may have access to an a/c lounge.

Room Tip: You will need to upgrade for a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. We would also like to thank you for all the complements made to the property, the rooms and the food. We do apreciate your comments made about the aircon by the main buffet and we will be verifying the temperature of the restaurant.

We hope to see you back soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,179
    1,957
    612
    251
    154
See reviews for
549
3,884
49
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our first time in Mexico and what a fantastic hotel to pick! We could not fault anything - the staff look after you so well, the food was amazing (and I am a very fussy eater) but there was so much to choose from! The hotel grounds were so lovely and very well maintained and having the lovely animals walking around just made it all the more better! The bar staff were super efficient - never letting us sit without a Riviera Maya cocktail (which were so yummy!) everywhere was spotlessly clean and the team at the hotel are always smiling! We loved laying on the beach which was beautiful and just chilling in the gorgeous Mexican sun (having no children at the hotel was a huge bonus!) We loved it so much we are already looking at returning again next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and are like little villas - exceptionally clean and well looked after! Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed so much your first trip to Mexico and we do thank you for choosing us for this first visit. we apreciate all the complements and good comments you have made about the Hotel and we we to host you again very soon!!.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We just returned from 7 wonderful days. We were rather apprehensive about the weather, with one tropical storm hitting the western resort towns and one potential brewing in the carribean, but we only had one afternoon lost to rain.

Best:
Service was excellent in all areas.
Bali beds on the beach every day.
3 wonderful a la carte restaurants with no reservations needed.
All adults...no screaming children.
Beautiful, well maintained grounds, beach and pool areas.

Worst:
Small beach, with half being a sea wall. Heavy seaweed in water and left side of beach.
Shows at night were not professional and theatre was hot.
Mike's coffee shop opened at 4pm and was oppressively hot. They had ceiling fans that did not work.
Buffet for dinner was mediocre at best.
Beds were comfortable with pillow tops, but pillows were hard and lumpy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. we do apreciate all the positive comments but also that points that you have mention that need addresing. I will be checking about the heat at Mikes, as we do and air conditioning unit there, also despite of Mikes not being open, I invite any future guest to ask for coffe at the main lobby because is as good as the one you can find at mikes. I will also pass your comments to the chef regarding the food and the entertainment manager about the shows, in order to find the way to improve our services.

We hope you give a second oportunity in the future.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I have been going to the same resort in Mexico since 2007. It was originally name Club El Mandrin. Even though the staff back then were good and the food was excellent, we decided that this was the vacation place for us. The name has changed over the years so has the decor and the staff. The staff now make you feel like family and treat you with respect and professionalism. Miguil and his entertainment team are the best we have seen. The front desk staff including Walo, Sabri, and Amanda make you feel very welcome and make sure that your room is up to your standards and always have a smile on their faces. The rooms are amazing is the the food and the dining staff. Keep up the great work.

I have to say that H10 Coral & Turquesa is just as good but we enjoy the feel of the smaller resort.
Gord and Wendy
Waterloo

Room Tip: If you are wanting a great room as for one in the #12 building at Oceans Maya Royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review on tripadvisor. I wouls also like to thank you for staying faithfull to the Hotel for so many years, even though owner ship has changed. For us you are part of the Ocean Family now and it is a pleasure to host you. Thank you so much for mentioning so many people from our staff, they were really happy to have you back here again.

We look forward to see you back soon!!

Best regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a fantastic hotel yes it rains in September but we had a lovely time it was well worth the up grade to privilege the rooms are great and sitting by the sea eating breakfast is great with lovely staff Alberto,Francisco in the la dolce vita restaurant..... Entertainment was really good with great outside acts... I'm a very fussy eater but I eat a different meal each night even offered other food that they would cook just for me if I could fine anything head chef Enrique was lovely very happy to sever you. Nothing was too much trouble from any staff thank you for a lovely holiday 5* all the way would book H10 hotel again .

Room Tip: Privilege is well worth it free mini bar in room and private beach area and some spa treatment .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read that despite a little bit of rain, you did managed to have a wonderful time. Thank you also for the complements made to the food, specially to the chef Enrique, he is a great har working chef and he always make sure that guests at the main Buffet are happy.

We hope to see you back here soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This resort was recommended to us by our travel agent as an affordable all inclusive resort. When we arrived, the Lobby was beautiful. It's open to the courtyard, contains a shop to get everything you need, the main bar, a coffee bar, plenty of lounging and access to the La Hacienda Buffet.

The check-in attendants were very friendly and spoke English well (further into our stay, we realized, this is not an Americanized tourist resort). Once shown to our room, we were greeted with a bottle of tequila and strawberries. The room was immaculate. Very nice for the price we paid. The balcony was large and we spent a lot of time out there while my husband enjoyed his Cuban cigars.

The grounds of the resort are very lush and maintained. At night, the lights are romantic. There are many Coati walking around. They are very cute and it's pretty obvious that the guests feed them from time to time because if you speak to one, they are not shy about coming up and smelling you.

The restaurants are also very nice. We visited each one, with Dolce Vita probably being the nicest, but I enjoyed the Asian one as well. The menus are almost pre-fix, but there is still a lot of variety. La Hacienda had great selections for breakfast and lunch. We loved the fresh blended juices and mimosas every morning, and I loved the sushi bar at lunch time.

Unfortunately, as far as the beach, we did not get to enjoy this as much. It rained almost the entire time, but what I will say, is that it really isn't much of a beach anyway. I may have been expecting turquoise blue water and white sand, but this ocean is dark and active. For some reason, they have a boardwalk with an almost fence-like thing around it that runs right up against the water almost the entire length of the beach, so there is little room to actually lounge and get an ocean view. The Bali beds that were very enticing in the ads were only for special guests, so we did not get to use them.

Overall, for the money we paid, this resort was wonderful. We would probably not stay in this location in Mexico again, but it was nice to spend some time together even if it was raining. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank echo517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read that despite of the weather you did have a great time with us, specially trying all the a la carte restaurants. We are also happy to know that we did surprise you with the welcome gift (tequila + strawberries). I would like just to mention something, we do have balinese beds only for privilege guests but the privilege private beach, but we do also have plenty of balinese beds around the beach area free to use by all the guests.

We hope you come back soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Jacob the pool bartender was excellent! He didn't have the time to be overly friendly or make friends because he was the only pool bartender with a pool full of people. Our drinks were refilled without asking he kept on top of things.
I think Jacob was the best!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolivartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor and also thank you so much for taking the time to make this special mention to Jacob, I will make sure he knows about it.

We hope you come soon with us!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.2 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,977 reviews
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing