We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful, Fun Experience at Ocean Maya Royale”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #46 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabethtown, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful, Fun Experience at Ocean Maya Royale”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband & I traveled with another couple. The resort is beautiful! The service was excellent! Everyone was friendly, always smiling. We loved Oscar, he worked in the Italian restaurant. His wife, Carolina, worked in the lobby bar - she was wonderful, along with Jovennetti. (not sure of spelling) She was always trying to teach my husband Spanish! The food was excellent - our favorite was the Italian - we ate there 3 times. The grounds of the resort are immaculate - you always saw someone trimming bushes, watering flowers. The pool area was where we spent much of our time. There are 2 pools - one seemed to be a younger crowd - but we spent time there, too! They played pool games - lots of fun. Other pool was more of a lounging pool - we met several other couples there & had such a great time talking to them & getting to know them! We have stayed in touch & hope to see them again. That was very much a highlight or the trip for me! The beach was nice - well maintained. I was a little disappointed with the water - looking for that clear, turquoise water - not like that. Did not spend much time on the beach, but not the resort's fault. I would highly recommend staying there - a splendid time we had! I hope to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am really happy to read that you and your friends had such a wonderful time with us, specially thanks to Oscar and carolina, I will make sure that they know about it. I would also like to thank you for all the complements made to the gardens and pool area, it is great that you met so many peole to spend time with.

We hope to see you back here very soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,242
    1,985
    617
    251
    155
See reviews for
555
3,951
52
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had the best holiday ever! The hotel is stunning, food is delicious, amazing cocktails, lovely spacious rooms. But most of all, we were blown away by the friendliness and loveliness of all of the staff who couldn’t have worked harder to ensure that we were happy. A massive thank-you in particular to the incedible animation crew – Anny, Giovanni, Carmen, Poncho and Jess. They worked so incredibly hard and made our holiday so much fun with lots of exciting activities during the day and fantastic shows in the evening – the Grease show and Hollywood show were simply outstanding! In particular, Anny was such a superstar and is one of the loveliest and friendliest people we have ever met. She has a beautiful, bubbly personality and gorgeous smile, is so talented, very enthusiastic and worked incredibly hard to ensure all of the guests were having a great time. She made us feel really welcome from the first day and made or holiday really special. Anny is such an asset to the hotel and we miss her lots.

Also, Tila was brilliant and always ensured we had at least 1 drink on the go!! Thank-you. We would definitely come back here, please visit Ocean Maya Royale – you will have an amazing holiday here! Thank-you to everyone at the resort for an unforgettable holiday.

Room Tip: Bring lots of mosquito repellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I really apreciate all the great comments made about the resort, ground, food and of course the staff. We are very happy to read that they have been such a great company during your vacation, specially the entertainment staff, with Anne up front, she a great worker and a lovely person, I will make sure they all know about your comments.

We hope you come back very soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week all inclusive holiday at Ocean Maya Royale, our best holiday to date! The hotel is amazing, we absolutely loved it. The location is a lot better than other hotels we dropped off at on the transfer from the airport, including the sister H10 hotel the Ocean Coral and Turquesa. A taxi costs 200 pesos into Playa del Carmen (10 pounds) and its very safe,no problems at all.

The hotel itself is lovely, we never got bored! The entertainment team are lovely, my partner played beach volleyball with them a few times. I must mention Azusenka (Lilly!) who served drinks etc to the privileged guests on the beach- although we didn't upgrade (it didn't seem very good value for money) we sat just by their area and Lily always offered to get us drinks and was absolutely amazing! A really great lady and deserves a promotion,she works so hard! Sunbeds are tricky to get around the pool unless you reserve them, but there are always lots of beds on the beach so don't panic.

The food at OMR is just great- lots of choice. My favourite was the Japanese restaurant but my partner preferred the Italian. The Mexican was great as well! The main buffet restaurant never seems busy and there's so much choice.

The only slight downside for us was that some guests were extremely loud and lary at times, especially around the pool with the bar in it. It did tend to be the American guests who appeared to drink all day long! I guess that's what you get with it being adults only! :-)

All in all, a fabulous place and I wouldn't hesitate in booking again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunworshipper234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. We are really happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is wonderful to know how nuch you have enjoyed our facilities and the service from the staff, specially from Azucena, she is a very hard working girl and I will make sure she knows how good she was to you both.

We hope to see you back soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at the Ocean Maya Royale last week. The resort was beautiful, immaculate and sprawling. The activities/entertainment on site were packed with fun. The nightly shows were varied and lots of fun. Loved Grease night! Loved Anny she was so personable and full of suggestions on what to do while in Playa del Carmen. great vacation would go again. Kathy from Boston

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

went to ocean maya on 26th july for two weeks,all I can say for us it was perfect very quiet room ,what I requested on the upper floor. the food was very good no complaints , room very nice .all of the staff always smiling and very helpful , beaches good would certainly go back to the hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you two wonderful weeks here with us. We are pleased to have fullfil all your expectations and we do thank you for the complements made to the Hotel.

We hope you come back soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at the resort 5 days. Anny, Carmen, Poncho, Jess, and Giovanni were so friendly and always smiling, ready to play beach and pool volleyball, dancing at the pool, karaokee, etc. Anny really bonded with our group of 18 from Pittsburgh. She made our trip! We enjoyed the shows in the evening.

Resort was beautiful. All staff were friendly and accommodating. Food was very good.

My wife and I both left items at pool at different times at night, and both were recovered through lost and found.

Only downside was the bathroom had an odd sewer smell for a day or two. We weren't in the room much. I noticed some rooms had umbrellas, it would have been nice to have one in our room as it rained the day we left in getting to the lobby. I would also have loved to go fishing at the resort off of the pier/marina. Can't do that.

Went to Playa Del Carmen one afternoon. Lots of shopping and restaurants. Felt safe, no problems.

Room Tip: Italian restaurant was delicious, though there is no A/C there. It seats on the beach, so you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We thank you also for teh great complements made to the entertainment team, specially to Anne, she and colleges are very hard working people and I am positive that they will be very happy to know how the made your vacations a wonderful time.

We hope to see you and your group back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Can't believe this time last week we were still there enjoying our last day of a ten day holiday.Stayed from July 30th had room 3407 nice chocolate strawberries and a bottle of Champagne in room on arrival,room was well located only a couple of minutes from the pools.Staff very friendly food good grounds kept immaculate.
Booked Chichen Itza and coco bongo through Savannah but ideally you'd be better off booking coco bongo through Jenna or Oscar around the pool as you get transfers included for the same price.(Save yourself £22 in taxi fares)
The entertainment team made my holiday I would have been so bored without them,Anni,Carmen,Jess,Giovanni they all do a brilliant job they try and include you but aren't pushy.I enjoyed Yoga,Archery,Pool volley ball,Water aerobics and the pool games.
There isn't anything close to the hotel to walk out to,besides it's too long a walk up to the main road in over 45 degrees heat to get a local bus so only option is a Taxi at 200pesos into Playa Del Carmen.
Unfortunately our friends in 3507 had a necklace taken from the drawer which we reported to the hotel staff.
We did manage to get sun beds around the busy pool everyday as we were down by 8am.There was a good mix of ages and all nationalities which gave the hotel a good atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you want to be near pools and beach choose blocks 33 to 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oggyoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read that you had a great vacation, also we are very happy to know that enjoy the trips you made. We apreciate the great comments that you have made about the entertaiment staff, they will be very happy to read them. We are really sorry to hear that your friend had some inconveniences during her stay and we hope that this was not a reflection on her time here with us.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,829 reviews
6.1 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#45 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#48 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,070 reviews
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,882 reviews
20.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing