We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Trip EVER!!!!”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #48 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I along with 2 other couples visited the OMR from April 10 to the 17. We hired transportation from Canada Select to pick us up at the airport. At our request we were provided Corona on ice in the cutest little bottles. We arrived at the resort ahead of the crowd, checked in, which was a breeze, had a complimentary glass of champagne, sat out by the fountain and enjoyed the scenery while our bags were being taken to our rooms. This place is amazing, as you drive up to the lobby it will take your breath away. It was clean, the food was good, the staff amazing, always smiling and saying hola. We were in 3204 which is at the end of a block, on the bottom floor so each and every day we enjoyed the wild life that would visit us such as deer, coties, a raccoon, birds. We met people from all over the world, had a Spanish lesson at the pool, not that I remember much of it, enjoyed the night life, Michael Jackson was great as was Madonna, to think they were there preforming the same week we were there, lol. All I can say is this was THE best vacation, I have not one complaint only praise. The staff work long days and nights to keep this resort running smoothly and should be praised for that. Sure the beach to the left isn't great so go to the right! We took a walk to the lagoon, take the time to do that, head left and just walk along the beach, you'll find it. A beautiful spot. One of the couples travelling with us were in the Privilege section, I personally didn't care for it, we were very happy to be where we were. I can't remember names of the staff so will praise each and every one of them from the cleaning staff, the maids, bartenders and every one else. Had an amazing massage, the spa is beautiful check that out as well. We had chair massages at the pool just about every day and that was great. This was not our first trip to the south, we've had good resorts and some not so good but I will rate this excellent!!! The OMR is not a huge complex and we liked that, we told the bartender to make sure to have the Baileys for our morning coffee next April as we will be returning to the OMR without a doubt.

Room Tip: we enjoyed our main floor room, had a tour of a room by the pool, friends were in the privilege sect...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crizz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,655)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Maya Royale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,440 - 3,446 of 6,655 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Well, where to start! The Ocean Maya is an outstanding resort and made our first trip to Mexico unforgettable. From check in to check out everything was perfect – the food was incredible and we didn’t once have a bad meal. The Italian restaurant in particular was our favourite, the linguine was very tasty! Food was always hot and plenty of it to go around, staff were always walking around making sure everything was ok, filling up dishes that were low and always coming round to the tables to offer more drinks.

We did notice quite a few guests who had upgraded to privilege. Like most comments on here, we really didn’t see the point. According to the brochure you can only get top shelf alcohol if you are part of privilege but I asked for a cranberry absolute vodka and got one (we did not pay for privilege!). The only difference I saw was that these guests could dine in a separate part to “normal guests” in the buffet restaurant and on our last day we were seated in there due to it being very busy in the main hall. This sectioned consisted of about 10 tables, nothing special and was exactly the same to the rest of the hall, just cornered off. A bit strange…!

Being British, we did notice the American and Canadian guests being very loud and drunk most days (as most British people on here have commented about!) but it really didn’t bother us. They were not rude and considerably better behaved at being intoxicated than a load of Brit’s on holiday together! On our first week there was a group of 42 from Michigan who really entertained us on our sunbeds whilst they were having fun around the pool. We heard a lot of American guests asking why English people travel for 11 hours to Mexico when we have Europe right next to us…..answer to that is the badly behaved British people who go there! There are 2 swimming pools – one known as the “quiet” pool, other being the “noisy” pool so if you like to have some relaxation it’s best to stay around the quiet pool. We spent every day around the noisy pool which is where the reps do their activities and games and there is also a swim up bar. The reps were absolutely fantastic, special mention to Any and David who helped make our holiday so brilliant. My fiancé played volleyball and beach soccer on a few occasions with Giovanni which he really enjoyed. The reps work incredibly hard from 8am until 11pm and only get 1 and a half days off during the week. They put on some spectacular shows in the evening which everyone seemed to enjoy.

Another special mention to Daniel who is a waiter at the hotel. One evening my fiancé booked a private dinner on the beach without me knowing and proposed to me! Daniel came out with some champagne for us and was just an excellent waiter, he remembered us for the rest of the holiday. We always saw him greeting guests and just generally seemed to love his job.

The reception staff were all very friendly, especially Sabrina who assisted my fiancé before we arrived over email to arrange the dinner on the beach. Sabrina was fantastic from start to finish and sent us a bottle of wine and cakes to our room to say congratulations. Zara the Thomson rep was also fantastic, very knowledgeable about the area and the excursions.

There are quite a lot of comments on here complaining about the beach. The Ocean Maya has the BEST beach spot along the strip – we walked 15km into Playa del Carmen along the beach so we saw what the rest of it looked like, very rocky and full of seaweed. This hotel honestly has a very nice spot. There is also a stunning Lagoon 10 minutes’ walk to the left of the hotel, crystal clear waters - make sure to take your camera although you have to wade through the water on some parts (you can't use the bridge as it's part of a hotel who only let their guests walk over it) and the water came to my waist (I am 5'4).

Sunbeds – usual scenario, you have to get up at 6am to reserve one otherwise you are stuck for one!

Lots of fantastic wildlife amongst the grounds and there are signs saying “Please do not feed the wildlife”. However, of course we didn’t listen to this and decided to feed a Coati who then followed us all the way back from breakfast to our apartment! Very cute and we didn’t mind, but just be warned if you don’t want to be pestered.

Definitely recommend the “Jungle Walk” which is actually set within the hotel grounds. Fascinating to walk through and there is still a lot of devastation from hurricane Katrina evident in the jungle.

This was our most memorable and best holiday we have ever had. I can certainly say we will be returning to the Ocean Maya Royal in the not so distant future!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jenna_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor with us. It is great to read all the good things that you have written about the Hotel, the food and of course the staff. Thank you for making special mentions on your review about some our staff members and we are very pleased to know that they were so helpful to you and made you having such a great time in Mexico. Congratulations for your engagement. We would love to host you here for your wedding, or at least, the honeymoon.

Look forward to see you soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
subdireccion
Ocean Maya Royale
subdirecion.hhm@h10hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for the 2nd time at Ocean Maya Royale for 9 days. We were there April 9 - 18. We like resorts that are smaller and this one was just right. The rooms are nice and spacious. The grounds are maintained beautifully. The employees work so hard. Special kudos to Azucena in the Privilege area at the beach. We did not take the privilege package but sat everyday right behind it. I have never seen anyone work as hard as she did everyday. A special shout out to Alfredo in the buffet. He always was so pleasant. We enjoyed the specialty restaurants and the buffet food was fine. We liked it so much that we hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank theoshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I would also like to thank you for choosing us a second time to spend your holidays at the Riviera Maya. We are very pleased to read that you have had again a wonderful time with us. Thank you for mentioning Azucena and Alfredo, I will make sure they know about it.

We hope to host you soon for the third time!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
subdireccion
Ocean Maya Royale
subdirecion.hhm@h10hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a fantastic week at the Ocean Maya! We chose it for a family celebration because it was small, all inclusive and adults only! We couldn't have been happier with our choice! First of all let me recommend Jesus in the Spa for a massage. He was absolutely fantastic . He zeroed right in on trigger points and I don't now when I have felt so loose! He was professional, responsive to my requests, and extremely knowledgeable! It's a little pricier but so worth it! On Wednesday they offered massages at 50% off!
The service was excellent. They place a strong emphasis on kindness and friendliness and they hit their mark. It didn't matter whether it was food service, bar, cleaning or entertainment staff, everyone did all they could to meet our needs.
We loved the size of the resort. It was easy to find our way around and they had a cart service for mobility impaired folks. The animals on site were fun to watch and not at all aggressive. While they ask you not to feed the coati's, lots of people fed them fruit.
The beds were good but not wonderful. I believe that it's possible to get an upgrade and if you have a touchy back you may want to do that. We had no problems sleeping at all!
The food was excellent! Our favorite was the Italian restaurant, but we also enjoyed the Japanese, the Mexican and the buffet. One could get food any time of the day or night. After a late night at CoCo Bongo, we came back hungry and got burgers at the bar. It was easy to get into all of the restaurants with little or no wait time!
Our only suggestion would be for them to restart transportation into Playa del Carmen. The cab fair is $20 one way for 4 or less folks and $40 one way for 5-8 people. It's not so bad if you are sharing the expense but would be nicer to have complimentary transportation.
We swam in the ocean and were happy with that. We also swam in the pool. There were lots of activities for those that wanted it but also a second pool that was quieter. We walked to the lagoon which was fun as well! I would recommend this resort without hesitation and would love to go back there!!

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet. While we were in the center of the grounds, an ocean view would have been nice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindaE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writng a review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read that you and your family had a wonderful time during your special celebration. We are also very happy that you enjoed so much the facilities, the food and the wild life around the Hotel.

We hope to see you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
subdireccion
Ocean Maya Royale
subdirecion.hhm@h10hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and myself along with 12 others were at this resort the week of April 15 to 20 2013. This was the first time my wife and me have been to the Riviera Maya area and it will not be the last. This resort is a small resort but is very well maintained and the employee's are great. Never seen any employee that didn't have a smile on thier face and ready to help. The grounds are kept spotless and the lawns and gardens were beautiful. The beach area is maintained everyday it is a shame that mother nature has taken the beach away but the resort has done a good job of making the best of it.
The food at the resort is great and we have been to several AI and this was by far the best in terms of food and over all quality that we have been to.
We will definately be looking to go back to this resort.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, we were in the privelidged area but would say that I would have been happy in t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you and your group of friends had a great time with us. Thank you for all the complements that you have made, spealy reagarding the kindness of the staff.

We hope that you all return very soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
subdireccion
Ocean Maya Royale
subdirecion.hhm@h10hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here November 2012 for 2 weeks - lovely hotel, excellent facilites, wonderful beach and pool area. Food excellent, good choice of restaurants. Entertainment staff wonderful and I don't usually rate entertainment staff on resorts much, but these were very professional and put on very good shows - well done to them.
Hotel Rep excellent and very helpful and professional
We love Mexico
Make sure you take strong mosquito repellent, we did and never got bitten, use it every evening and the bands. Worth the expense

Room Tip: Not a terrace room, only because the local 'wild life' may visit, they are fun but can be a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel22_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you had such a great time with us. Thank you for all the complements that you have made, specialy about our enetertaiment team, they do work very hard to give the best moments of their vacations to our guests.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
subdireccion
Ocean Maya Royale
subdirecion.hhm@h10hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This resort is amazing I was there for eight days and never had a bad experience. The staff is great, very friendly and entertaining. Daniel Valezquez is the absolute best bartender there. He makes the best drinks and he's fast! See him at the pool bar. The grounds/landscaping is gorgeous and you can't go wrong with the food there even for the pickiest eater. The Italian restaurant is fantastic! I love this place I will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Njtomexicoloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you fo writing a review on Tripadvisor. We also want to thank you for all the great things said about the resort and also about our super bartender, Daniel, he works very hard everyday to give the guests all type of imaginable funny drinks at the pool bar.

We hope to see you very soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
subdireccion
Ocean Maya Royale
subdirecion.hhm@h10hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
21.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
19.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $168 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing