We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the 2 of us!”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #48 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just the 2 of us!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was beyond our expectations. Beautifully groomed, palm trees. seating areas. Very relaxing.
Friendly staff. our waitress on the Privelage Beach, Azusena Santiago Cohuo was exceptional!!
outgoing and friendly. She made each day something to look forward too!!! Food was great. I love salmon, and had it cooked fresh everyday.

Room Tip: The studio rooms were excellent locations to the beach and restaurants..Very comfortable beds..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,296
    2,006
    625
    253
    155
See reviews for
558
4,000
53
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,560)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Upon arrival everyone was very friendly, our room wasn't ready (we arrived one hour before check-in time) but they let us use the facilities and the all inclusive benefits. When we got to our room everything looked very nice and clean, I requested a King Size bed which wasn't available but we all know kind of issues might happen. We went for lunch and the food was very limited and fair at best, I won't go into details because it could take forever. Came back to the room for a quick shower and the shower wasn't working properly, called the front desk and they fixed it right away. We went down to the pool area and it is very nice and clean, the bar is great with friendly staff. Lunch was so disappointing we chose to go out for dinner, by the way, it took the front desk staff 40 minutes to get us a cab! When we came back, we layed for the first time in the mattress, it make a terrible squeaking sound and it felt like those thin and very cheap 70's mattresses full of springs and no cushion, as previously mentioned we got the two queen beds, so I thought it was this mattress alone, maybe some spring breakers had a 34-some in this mattress and ruined it, but no, the other one was exactly the same, I asked around and all the guests I talked to had the same complaint. Really terrible, and the pillows are very cheap and rock hard as well, we weren't able to get a good rest throughout our stay, once you get back to your own bed you will embrace it and tell it how much you love and cherish it, and your pillow too. Anyway, nice hotel for the price, excellent staff, bad food, worst mattresses and pillows. Would never return, if I want the all inclusive experience I'd rather pay a little more elsewhere or take a cruise.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool area are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Ah, you have waited all year for your beach vacation. You are at a beautiful resort only to find your beach consists of a boardwalk and two small spots of beach. Sure you can walk ten minutes to other resorts to find a beautiful beach and cenotes, but do you really want to do that on vacation?

Yes, the grounds are beautiful. No doubt about that. A plus.

The resort is smaller in size. A ten minute walk will get you anywhere from front desk to pool. A definite plus if you are at a resort waiting 15 minutes for a shuttle.

For a small resort I was pleased with the evenings entertainment. Sure other resorts have more elaborate programs, but we never had to fight a crowd to find a seat.

Spend the extra money for the privileged package. Although some reviewers say don't, it is well worth it. Internet access in your room instead of cramming in the lobby for it. The bottle of wine, chocolate covered strawberries, and desserts were a nice touch. The lounge area is really nice when you awake early in the morning and don't want to wake your husband.

At the beach area, the bali beds are heaven. A six inch mattress instead of the canvas loungechair is heavenly. After a few days, your body can tell the difference. Drapes for semi-privacy or shade are an extra bonus. If you can't get a bed, the loungechairs still have a thicker 2 inch cushion on top of the canvas. Then there is the waitress who brings your drinks instead of having to fight the crowd at the bar. She also brings an ice bucket to keep your drink cold. Then there is the little hut as you enter the privileged area with champagne, beer, water, nuts, fruits, books, and magazines to name a few. Oh, and don't forget all the lotions and creams in the basket. You won't need to bring anything.

Then there is the free special romance dinner. You choose the evening plus menu and your dinner will be either on the beach or by the pool. OK, you will have to pay extra for lobster, but the shrimp dinner we had was excellent. In fact that was the best meal we had all week. A specialty drink was prepared for us. I am not a drinker, but I easily finished two of them. Appetizer, soup, entree, and dessert were exceptional! Now why couldn't every meal be like that?

For other meals there is a special privileged room. Jorge for breakfast was the best. Sure you have to go to the buffet for you food, but it is so nice to return with your juice, coffee, champage, toast, and rolls already on the table. It was always nice to see him at the other restaurants. He always made a point to bring us something special--usually a drink whenever we saw him.

Yes, I know this is an all-inclusive resort, but the occasional tip does improve your service. Trust me!

OK, there is a downsize to the privileged package. Your room is as far away from the pool and beach as you can get. My thought--those rooms were added later. Such a shame when in the past our room was ocean front. The plus is the elevator...None of the other areas have one.

On the downside, the last few days our rooms weren't clean. We think someone was playing around with the room tags. As we left, we would place the "CLEAN ROOM NOW" tag on our door. When we returned, it was turned to "PRIVACY PLEASE". That situation would be corrected by eliminating the tags and using an inside door latch.

In summary, I am glad we went with family and friends. We had a wonderful time, but there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D0nna52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Arrived at hotel after 24 hours delay, booked junior suite which entitled us to privilige things, waste of money, in room no full lengh mirror, wardrobe space terrible,have to put dresses ect ect on top of each other, 3 little draws next to wardrobe that was it, balcony we felt it was cramped all enclosed in, dont upgrade to junior suite it cost a lot of money ,looks lovely on there hotel web pay ,but sadly its not what you get when you are there food worst we ever had, best thing about hotel is the grounds which are kept lovely

Room Tip: probaly ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimwenengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel was simply too big to create a nice atmosphere, and the numerous all-day drunk visitors did not exactly make it better. The hotel attempts to position itself, not only as a luxurious hotel, but also by not allowing kids on the area. My girlfriend and I thought this combination would offer great conditions for a romantic holiday, however, unfortunately many people (aged 30-60) considered this a great opportunity to benefit as much as possible from the "all inclusive concept" in the bar. My girlfriend and I definitly established that we are not 'all inclusive types', and we must therefore admit that we did not do our research properly before going, but if you want to join a somewhat sad party with drunk people trying to regain their youth, this setup might work for you...

Not only did the conditions mentioned above conflict with the hotel's ambition to appear as a luxurious hotel, but the fact that the Wi-fi was only available in the hotel lobby did not meet my expectations of a 5-star hotel in 2013 either.

Breakfast and lunch was fine, but the Italian a la carte restaurant was the only one that served good food for dinner - the Japanese restaurant on the other hand was a joke, and the all inclusive wine was undrinkable.

On a more positive note, the pools were nice and the staff was friendly (albeit the service often felt more instructed/scripted than genuine - hence "factory").

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peleus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from our Anniversary at Riviera Maya. We choose H10 Ocean Maya Royal because it said it was for couples. Well from the start it was the worst. We got to the hotel at 11:30pm and there was no one in the front to welcome us. We requested suite with ocean view and it was not provided. There was no shower door and when we took a bath the water would go all over the place. We had to dry the floor with our towels. After complaining they changed us to another room. Again we had to call maintanence because the water from the shower when we shower was going out all the way to the room. The shows at night were ok. The food was nasty........ After talking to someone we went to visit the other H10 hotel Ocean Maya Coral & Turquesa. After visiting this Hotel we complaint and asked to be transfered to this one. There we had to pay the difference in hotel rate and the taxi to take us and our stuff from Hotel to Hotel. It was a hassel and we lost 2 days of moving around. The new hotel we moved to didn't have a suite so they gave us the only room they had available which it was with 2 beds. The next day they transferred us to what we had requested and paid for. Our trip was from Friday to Saturday afternoon which means we even paid an extra expencive night for just a few hours. We talked to them and try to get their attention and after really speaking with Gabriela Moreno and explaining to her all the inconveniences we have gone thru on our first days. She helped us and got us pretty much what we had expected. At the Ocean Maya Royals the employees were not nice at all and the beach was ugly. I'm so up set of the hall situation that I don't think I will go back for a long while.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CarEd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from our annual week of vacation in the Riviera Maya. After doing much research on trip advisor, we chose Ocean Maya Royale.

First of all, I'd like to say this was our 4th trip to Riviera Maya and have always had great experiences until this year. I have never written a review before, but feel it's important to this time, since if we had known what we know now, we would have chosen a different resort. Here are the pros and cons:

PROS:
The grounds are absolutely gorgeous!!
The two pools are very nice - one is quiet and one is where the fun is!
The entertainment staff at the "fun" pool do a great job. The swim up bar is located here as well and the bartenders are very attentive.
The staff in general are very pleasant, except the front desk staff who were less than helpful.
The Italian and Japanese restaurants were excellent.
King Bed seemed HUGE and was very comfortable.

CONS:
The quality of food at the buffets and room service was poor.
There are no screens on any of the sliding glass doors including first floor rooms where many of the anteater/racoon type rodents roam. We had 6 outside our door when we checked in.
There is very little beach and what there was, was the darkest brown water on our last day there. Certainly couldn't swim in it.
There is only one mirror in the room which is located in the bathroom. No full length mirror. Also dark lighting in the bathroom.
You have to use one of your two key cards to put in a small box in the room in order to have electricity in the room.
Bring your slippers because your feet will get dirty if you walk barefoot in your room.
There is no dresser in the room. We lived out of our suitcase for the entire week we were there.
If you don't pay the $560/wk to upgrade to "priviledge" package, you are made to feel like second class citizens, even though the upgrade is not worth the extra money.

It was an okay week of vacation, weather and pool area were the best part of this vacation.
We have previously stayed at Barcelo, Secrets Silversands and Valentin Imperial Maya. Those resorts make OMR seem like a 1 star resort in comparison. We will never return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stew1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,055 reviews
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#50 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,198 reviews
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
20.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing