We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Maya Royale
Nearby Hotels
$267
$166
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$537
$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$385
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$310
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$448
$359
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$387
$229
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$486
$344
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$15,600
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$676
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,217)
Filter reviews
7,217 results
Traveler rating
3,910
2,189
676
276
166
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,910
2,189
676
276
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonel charropool bardolce vitajapanese restaurantentertainment staffprivilege areaprivilege beachprivilege guestsfoam partyquiet poolbeach areathomson repprivilege packagecoco bongoour favouriteactivity pool
Filter
Updating list...
4,021 - 4,026 of 7,217 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just got back from a four night stay. This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort, and we loved it. We were greeted with frozen drinks, and the pampering did not stop after that. The staff was great; we especially loved Jacobo at the pool bar. The food was decent. There was a good selection to choose from. The beach wasn't the best for swimming, but it was better than some of the surrounding resorts that we walked by. However, the lounge area of the beach was great. We usually prefer to swim in beaches, but ended up spending a lot of time in the pool, and had a great time. The resort is well manicured. There is a nice jungle run if you want to get some exercise. We would recommend this resort if you want a relaxing, affordable vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 17, which was perfectly situated between restaurants and pool. NIce and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeyc270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Over the Christmas holiday, we stayed for one wonderful week at the H10 Ocean Maya Royale beach (adults only!) resort. We had an amazing experience from the time we landed at the Cancun airport and were picked up by our travel representative from Lomas travel. Freddy Argaez was our rep at the hotel and he was professional, informative and very courteous. The staff at Ocean Maya Royale continued that warm, inviting feeling upon our arrival. They were all consummate professionals and very friendly. Our villa was oceanside and very comfortable and clean. The housekeeping staff did an amazing job of tidying our room and keeping the mini bar stocked, The pools were wonderful and the entertainment staff - Omar, Susanna, Hector, Amanda and others were so much fun to get to know. We went to almost every nightly show in the theatre on the resort and were not disappointed! During the day, the entertainment staff were there encouraging guests to join them for water aerobics (which we did almost every day!), water polo, which Mark enjoyed, archery lessons, scuba lessons in the pool, dance classes on the pool deck, silly games in the pool, and beach walks to the nearby cove where the ocean meets a freshwater stream and the mangroves and where you can snorkle to take photos of the fish. Mark did this and was not disappointed!
The restaruants on the resort were wonderful; the Japanese restaurant was delicious, El Charro, the Mexican restaurant was great, but our favorite was La Dolce Vita, the Italian restaurant - the salmon was out of this world! The Hacienda is open for a wonderful buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner and you will be amazed at the variety of entrees, salads, drinks, and desserts that are offered. We also made use of the fully outfitted gym and I visited the spa and had a French manicure done. My nail tech was so friendly, it was a real treat! We rented a car from the inhouse car rental ($92.00 per day American) and we drove to Tulum early in the day to tour this magical Mayan ruin. After Tulum we drove into Playa del Carmen and walked 5th Avenue to take in the culture and the wonderful shopping and dining. You may want to book a tour with the front desk or your travel rep. instead of driving yourself if you're unfamiliar with driving in a foreigh country - we may do this next time. To wrap up this wonderful vacation, we attended the New Year's Eve Party and were served lobster and champagne whilel we were entertained by the entertainment staff and other locall performers. It was magical and so much fun! This was a wonderful experience, and we will be returning for a longer stay. Have a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

i picked this resort to impress my girlfriend as was told it was adult only and had dress code.We live 2000 miles apart and this was our romantic getaway planned since july...First of all the service was top flight and prompt but we shouldnt have had to call so often..Ive been to playa area many times so know the ropes and were pestered at check in about the free breakfast at their sister resort...3 hours of my time isnt worth a $150 credit...Upon checking into our ocean view room wondered where the ocean was ,,certainly couldnt see from our patio,,strike 1
My gal and i dressed up for dinner as the rules specified,long pants required in all dining areas,,my fiance is the best dressed women iv ever seen so you can imagine our reaction to seeing hillbillies in ball caps ,cut off shorts and sandles,some were barefoot...I immediately ran to the desk to voice my shock and was told it was to be addressed..strike 2...No one wore proper attire according to the signs posted..
Our tiny fridge was replaced twice but never kept thing even cool,,,some drunk person thought our door was a urinal too..
Now the adult only part...since when is an 18 year old an adult..these kids were over served and public urination was common along with vomiting next to our recliners..,,Not the romantic getaway i paid $3300 for..When we checked out we werent even asked how our stay was,i wanted so badly to speak up but didnt want to embarrass my self in front of my girl.../
we were very disappointed but the pool staff made it enjoyable

Room Tip: there arent any real ocean view rooms except upper floor of just 2 buildings yielding 4 total,not the 33 they claim
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is top class. Entertainment team were amazing speical thanks to Omar, Geovani, Javier, Suzanne and Denise they are all very talented and friendly. They host the games around the pool during the day and put on excellent shows at night. I even took part in carving an ice statue of two fish by the pool. Big thanks to the team from Paul and Sally from England. I spent my birthday there and had a cake left in my room when we returned in the afternoon, then had another one after our meal at Japanese restuarant. They really do want to make your holiday very special. Can not think of anything we did not like about our time there. All the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you would recommend this hotel to all. Sally had to see Doctor twice do to bad reaction to mosquito bites she was treated very well, excellent treatment. Reception phoned our room next day to see how she was and asked if there was anything they could do for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 16 which was close to all Restuarants and pool.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at the Ocean Maya for two weeks from the 3rd Jan. The hotel is beautifully laid out and very well presented with the three restaurants all providing a good choice of food. The two pools give you a choice of either a chilled relaxed atmosphere or the much more lively bar pool (my personal choice). You are never short of a sun bed although do need to get up early to get the best positions.
The Beach is the only real let down here as isn't exactly the expected holiday magazine image but compared to others nearby it could have been much worse. An extra bar would also add another option to the main foyer bar.
For me personally the staff and (especially) the entertainment team are what made my holiday special. There are a variety of activities available during the day which the team are not too pushy on + the evening entertainment every night. The team of Jess, Omar, Gio, Havier, Amy, Carmen & Denise are brilliant and deserve the praise.
Thanks guys
Matt

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
10  Thank MattyFezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read so many complements to the Hotel, specially our entertainment staff. It is great to know that you have had a wonderful stay with us. We also thank you for the understanding about the beach.

We hope to see you soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Sundirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews