We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-a-way”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #47 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Anthem, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Get-a-way”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this resort. The resort itself is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is willing to go the extra mile, if you don't find what you want just ask. We loved it so much, we've been twice. Upgrading to the "Privilege" status is worth the extra money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cferrell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,412
    2,032
    643
    255
    158
See reviews for
579
4,078
55
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,578)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived Dec 29 for a Jan 2 wedding at the resort. We had a standard ground floor room (Bldg 20) and it was clean though mosquitos seemed to like to shelter outside the door and invariably some got into the room to the annoyance of my GF. They did not seem to be the biting kind and the air conditioning slowed them down considerably for dispatching via swattage. My GF thought that maybe the maid left the door open when cleaning the room but I don't know that for a fact.

The bed was fine though I like softer pillows. The AC was not very good at removing moisture from the air so wet swimsuits took forever to dry but perhaps that's normal for the type of AC and at least it could chill the room (and the mosquitos) down nicely.

The room refrigerator had several sodas, 2 cans of beer and bottled water. We only took the water and were later informed by another guest that they were not free. I don't think anyone at the hotel or the travel agent in Wisconsin (who set this up for the bride) were told of that. We will see what shows up on our credit card statements.

The food was good, I am inclined to give the El Charro buffet my top rating for more authentic/spicy food but local birds of I think the blackbird variety had access to the buffet, too. They seemed partial to french fries and the bread station.

The morning buffet in the main restaurant in the hotel was great, too. You could fix your own bloody mary or screwdriver. The made to order omelets were fine.

We did not go into the ocean or the pools, oddly enough. We did take a snorkeling tour of the fresh water caves and the turtle beach area. We set that up through Freddy of Lomas travel. He was usually in the lobby every day to set things like that up for guests.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms might dry out faster and less mosquitos hanging around the door (depends on wind).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I vacationed at the Ocean Maya Royale in Dec 2011 and returned again in Dec 2012. We have been to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico a dozen times over the years and this is the first time we have returned to the same resort. It is an adult-only resort, so there are no hassles with parents who can't be bothered to watch their children. The staff work very hard to make your vacation enjoyable. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. The resort is a ten minute drive from Playa del Carmen and a 30-45 minute drive from the Cancun airport.

Food and Drink:
The buffet is open for all three meals.The food it hot and there is a large variety. There were special meals for Christmas and New Years with shrimp, prime rib,etc. There is a luncheon buffet near the pool which specialized in grilled hamburgers/chicken/fish. In the evening, in addition to the buffet, there is a Japanese, an Italian and a Mexican restaurant (each is closed one night a week). Reservations are not necessary (there is no standing in line at 6am to get reservations which we had to do at other resorts). There is a coffee shop in the lobby area that is open in the evening. Breakfast coffee/tea and pastries are also available at the lobby bar in the morning.

We especially enjoyed having breakfast at the buffet with Alfredo and Vincente, who attended to our every need, and were delighted with Nick's cooking skills at the Japanese teppanyaki grill.

We recommend the drink of the day. The bartenders at the lobby and pool bars are expert and quick to fill your order.

The maid leaves 2 bottles of water per person in the room refrigerator (along with beer and soda). Bottles of water are available at the lobby bar. Ice water in glasses is available at the pool bar and all of the restaurants.

There are numerous attendants to fill your drink orders as you sit by the pools and on the beach during the day., Azucenda gave us excellent service on the beach.

Privilege Club:
We did not pay extra for the Privilege club. If you opt to join, you will have a special area reserved for you on the beach (with sun beds and snacks), have access to better brands of liquor and can make reservations in advance for the restaurants. We enjoyed all of the resort amenities without the upgrade and don't think it was necessary.There were many Privilege Club members who preferred to sit at the activity pool rather than in the Privilege area on the beach.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean and the maid service was exceptional. The mattresses are a bit "firm" but that seems to always be the case in Mexico, so we expected it. The TV reception was good, with numerous cable channels, many in English. We received a welcome bottle of wine and cake for my husband's birthday. We had a problem with the air conditioning this year- the room was too warm. After mentioning it twice to the hotel desk staff,we finally got it fixed by speaking with Luis who was walking around the pools and beach all day making sure everyone was satisfied with their stay.

Beach and Pools:
There are many beach palm umbrellas to provide shade and the resort has added beach chairs so it is not necessary to reserve a beach chair early in the morning unless you want to sit in a specific spot. The one drawback to this resort is the lack of beachfront.There is a small lagoon area and a small beach, but most of the beach is blocked off by a clear wall to prevent erosion. If you must have a beach for swimming, this not the place for you. There are two pools adjacent to each other- a quiet pool and an activity pool.Both pools were clean, but unheated which can be a little cool is the weather is in the 70's in December.

Activities and Entertainment:
The activity staff was wonderful. There were games going on all day long and the staff offered a nightly trip to Coco Bongo in Playa del Carmen.There is a dive shop on site. There was a professional show every night at 9pm.

Overall, this resort is 4-5 stars and we hope to return again next year,.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

People always have something to complain about. I can't believe all the negative stuff on here!
My husband and I just spent 11 days here over X-Mas and New Year's Eve... the staff worked super hard and over their holidays to make our vacation very pleasant!
The rooms were clean, the food was good, the drinks were cold, the pools were refreshing, the entertainment staff kept things fun, the activity/dive centre staff were wonderful. My husband trained to become a certified open water diver with the PADI crew there.
I would recommend this hotel for people who want to relax during the evenings because it's a quiet hotel but they do offer a package to Coco Bongo if you want to get out and party.
The beach was rough about 15 mins each way, but there is a nice lagoon that makes up for that. And go check out Tulum beach.
Overall, a very nice stay, especially if you don't get too upset about the little things and just enjoy yourself!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are louder during the day, you may want to choose a garden view if you want to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank KMRHOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I will try to be very objective in my review. We were on a family vacation with my husband's family. Our ages were from 21-75. I would like to start with the positives.
This is my 15th trip to Mexico. This hotel is by far the friendliest and cleanest hotel I have ever been to. The staff is unbelievable. They go above and beyond what they have to do. Alfredo in the buffet was wonderful. He remembered how each of us took our coffee every morning. In my opinion that says a lot. Karolina, Jessica, Gemma,Marisol, and many others(that I can't remember their names now) were friendly and attentive.
We had an issue with the shower leaking, lots of Mosquitos in the room and the t.v not working. These were all taken care of right away. If we wanted more towels and called for them, we did not wait long. This is a plus. The grounds were impeccable!!!
The bar staff were also very good. Jacobo,and Rafael were good bartenders.
The food...... The Buffets were good. Lots of variety. My food always seemed warm. I cannot complain about that. The Mexican was by far the best restaurant. The Japanese restaurant was also delicious. Nick was an awesome tapenaki chef!!!! The Italian restaurant was not good at all!!!!! Salty for one dish and bland for the rest. Too bad because it was by the water. The location was breathtaking.
Now for the negative........ The beach was aweful. Full of debris and branches and yuckyness. Now we need to keep in mind that it is the winter so the ocean is not ideal always. There was on occasion someone cleaning the beach. We were very disappointed because we are beach people and we could not go in. It was too gross. The other very disappointing point of this hotel is the mattresses. I did not sleep well for the whole week. This is the reason that I will not return to this hotel. I find lots of money is being well spent around the hotel for upkeeeps etc, but they should find a budget for new mattresses!!!
Yes there is a smell of sulfur, but if you read about the hotel you will learn that it is because of the Eco system that it exists.
If the mattress situation get fixed then I would make this hotel a regular stay for me. You need to be the judge of that.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Adele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Main problem with this hotel is that they cannot serve hot food or in the event that you select your meats to be cooked while you wait – they don't have the skill or ability to cook the meat through. There is a wide choice which may appear to be acceptable, but almost all of the “hot food" is luke-warm when brought from the kitchen to the buffet and they tip the cold stuff that was already there onto the new. I never once had a piece of meat including burger, chicken or fish that was properly cooked at the griddle or barbeque, while I waited for “freshly cooked”. I am surprised that this is allowed or even tolerated.
So what about other restaurant options – Italian, Chinese and Mexican? These are OK – however you must be aware that unless you are “Privileged” you may have to wait a long time for a table, but getting a table doesn’t mean you will be served quickly. Worst offender here is the Italian restaurant and “Marco” the front of house manager (There to serve you) is the most ignorant person that you are ever likely to meet in the whole of Mexico. If you have been in the restaurant before he will keep putting you back in the queue – it took a two hour wait and 3 complaints after watching others take our place before I had to report this to management and get them to organise a table for us.
What about the bars? - If you want a particular drink when in the main lobby bar - get it yourself! Don't get the waitress to get it for you as you never know what you are getting! The best service at this hotel is at the pool bar.
If you don’t mind paying extra for privilege to get a table to sit and eat, or if you don’t mind being treated as though you are "lower class" in an apartheid system then by all means – the hotel has everything else you would want.

My plain view is this – There are other hotels in this region, and we will vote with our feet as we can choose to go where our custom is appreciated. We will never recommend this hotel – ever!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are really sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to some issues that happened. We apreciate that you have shared with us all these concerns because this give us the chance to take the necesary measurements to make sure this will not happen again. we would like to mention that all our staff is trained to give the best quality service to our guests, but we will make sure that we pay special atention to this isolated case.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 11 days in December from the 17th-28th. It was everything we were looking for : adults only, rest, relaxation, good food, good service and clean rooms. We found the lobby bar and beach service to be exceptional - Look for Octavio, Eber, Jairo(Hi-row), Daniel(Danny) to mix up your favourite cocktails and regional specialties in the lobby with great skill and true Mexican hospitality - we couldn't fault any of them. Karolina, Sara, Joavanni, and Selene made sure the drinks were served with a smile and made our stay enjoyable with their accurate memories and friendly conversation. On the beach Azucena amazed us with her ability to remember us and our drink preference (she knew us after one time). We take candies along for mini treats and the staff were soon calling my husband the "Candy Man" - just a little way to make the trip memorable for both sides. Yuri at the front desk was always helpful, smiling and loved the candies! For room service Oscar was the best - he too greeted us with a smile whenever we saw him all over the resort - how do they remember us so easily? The rooms were big, clean, and suited us well - we don't spend a lot of time there anyways. The grounds were well kept and the grounds keepers worked hard to keep them that way - there was always someone mowing, chopping, weeding and painting to maintain these beautiful grounds and buildings. Even though the beach is not a long stretch it is a wide sandy space with lots of chairs and sunbeds for relaxing; it is true you need to go to the left or right for easy access and there is a lot of sea grass, but remember a short walk (10 minutes) will get you to a lagoon with tropical fish and clear water. Besides, this water is better than the neighbouring resort which has lots of sea grass and a rocky approach to the water. We found the service to be good at the buffet and the three (3) a la cartes - we enjoyed Nick's show at the Japanese restauarant. The nightly entertainment was good with both the local team and the shows that were from outside the resort - the variety was good but we would have liked to see a longer rotation, like 2 weeks' worth of different shows as we did see repeats in the 10 nights we were there. Make sure to hear the talented saxophone man - he usually is in the buffet at breakfast and outside the lobby in the evening.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 20, 2nd floor - close to lobby and buffet, yet quiet and only a 5 minute walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BCtravelman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,258 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,454 reviews
19.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing