We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed & fantastic staff”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #44 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a great adults only 4.5 star resort option for value for your money. The friendly staff are exceptional & pay attention to detail to please you. The resort offers a lot of nice touches like live entertaiment. They went well beyond our expectations for Halloween with decorations & costumes, even had a haunted house! The food is very gpod with no reservations for a la cartes. They offer a lot of seafood selection. They also have an amazing coffee shop with pastries. The rooms are neat & clean. They keep the grounds immaculate. The beach is decent & pools are nice. They also offer Bali beds on the beach with nice boardwalk. The only thing I prefer is closer proximity to Playa Del Carmen & they need to bring back a shuttle to go there.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rozy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I would like to thank also for all the wonderful things that uou have written about us, I am really pleased to know that you both had a great time at the Hotel.

We hope to see you very soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,910 - 3,916 of 6,909 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel last year and were so excited to go as the Mexico reviews are fantastic. We booked time off work, sorted the kids back in the UK and got ready for a long awaited 'luxury' week away together as a couple.
How wrong we were, we arrived and thought, wow this is nice for the bargain place, saw the room and loved it then we went to the pool..... Urgh! Lovely to look at but full of Americans and Brits downing pints and silly cocktails to blasting music and a fantastic crowd gathering from neighbouring hotels! We were mortified, we kept telling ourselves it's probably just a one off, it was a one off every day of the week! Shocking!
Great for a young party loving couple rubbish for romance and niceties!
Room was nice though and the wildlife was fabulous, we had a family iguanas on the balcony that loved the morning melon, a lovely friendly raccoon who although considered vermin was so placid and a break from black birds and sparrows back home!
Although remember the mossie spray and you'll be fine!
Enjoy cause we didn't!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicolaD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are really sorry to read that despite you did like all the facilities at the Hotel and the room, you did not enjoy your time by the pool because of other guests. We do apologize if we did fail you in any way, but unfortunately we canot control the way other guests like to have fun. This is why we have two diferent pools, one for the activities and another to relax. Also we have a very extend part of beach where we do not have any music. We are really upsad to read that your holidays did not go as you expected.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was our first vacation in over seven years and it was awesome! We stayed from October 28th to November 4th 2012. As in other reviews the place is incredible, staff was great, pools fanstastic, food was great, and drinks were perfect. We want to make a few call outs to some folks who were over and above great - Alfredo and Alberto at breakfast and lunch, Champagne was flowing everyday! Also, Azucena who helped us in the Privledge section of the beach helped made this vacation far above expectations.

We only left the property one time during the week for an excursion, however we would have been very happy never to leave. Also some have mentioned the bay about a ten minute walk north of the property, it is very pretty, bring snorkel gear, lot's of fish to see!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We came back from Mexico a few Months ago, and the hotel is amazing, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the holiday rep (Thompson) was brilliant and couldn't do enough for you. Over all i would highly recommend this hotel to any of my family or friends. It was one of the best holidays i've been on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JacksterB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Ocean Maya Royale is a small quite beautiful resort. Ideal for a couples only get-a-way. Don't let the low price of this resort, compared to the big name resorts keep you away. Royale has all of the extras... The staff was wonderful and friendly. A special thank you to Feleciana our room attendant for her wonderful service. The food in the buffet was better than most of the specialty restaurants, with the exception of the oriental restaurant. We were there delighted with the nightly entertainment and loved to sit outside on the patio area and listen to one of the best saxaphone players we have ever heard. We will definitely recommend this resort to freinds.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tdreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just returned from our first holiday to Mexico and the Ocean Maya Royale and have had the most amazing time. As with other reviews with the exception of Just_me582 whose review has me baffled, this hotel is fabulous, all the staff brilliant and so friendly, food choice and quality excellent in all the restaurants. A special mention to the entertainment staff who work hard to provide entertainment each and every day, Suzanne, Amy, Christina, Ury, Omar & the new kid on the block, Giovanni. Thanks to Moises and Jorge for their great omlettes at breakfast and an even bigger thanks to Ana who has the biggest smile.

It was good to see the General Manager, Giovanni Gil in the resort too, eating the same food and sitting at the same tables as his staff and guests to the hotel.

We paid for a sea view which was worth every penny, what a view every morning (Room 906). The additional cost for privilege did not seem worthwhile to us and I am not sure what H10 Premium provides.

We took the collectivo (local bus) into Puerto Del Carmen which was 30 pesos each and then paid for a taxi back, 220 pesos. A bus from the hotel for a minimal fee would be great. We also took a taxi into Cancun which is approx 1 hour away and cost 500 pesos each way. We booked through Thomson's and paid for the trip to Chichen Itza which was a great day out despite the early pick up (5:35 am!) - it's 3hrs each way.

Would love to return some time in the future.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view and request Block 9 or 12, uppe4r floor and corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrenson817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are really pleased that you chose our Hotel for your first visit to Mexico and we are very happy that you enjoyed so much your stay with us. Thank you for all the special mention to the entertainment team, they work very hard everyday, also for your comment about our General Manager, he is a very close person with the staff, this makes the diference on the service.

We hope to see you very soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for a week in January, it was a bit cool for weather but still beautiful. The size of the hotel is perfect, we stayed in the upgraded rooms, it had a seperate living area, was very nice. The staff were pleasant and would help with any request. we ordered room service several times and it was good. We went just before it became adults only, but honestly there were very few children around. The food was good. Grounds were beautiful. My daughter and I did several spa treatments, and loved them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,938 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#62 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
10,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#8 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,616 reviews
1 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#100 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
9,990 reviews
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $201 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing