We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like cruises you will probably like this resort”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #48 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you like cruises you will probably like this resort”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was both of ours first experience at an all-inclusive. We ended up staying here for 3 nights and another all-inclusive in Tulum for 4 nights during our trip. This one was okay, but compared to the smaller more intimate one in Tulum Ocean Maya lost by a mile.

The gardens were nicely kept and the service staff were always friendly. The room was surprisingly large, but he mattress was not good at all and we had a tons of ants attack our room the first night. All the meals except dinner are buffet style. The taste of the food wasn't bad, but I am glad we only stayed 3 days or it would have gotten very redundant (especially breakfast and lunch). The pool was very large and nice, but it took some effort to get a spot if you weren't there at the beginning of the morning. Often, people would reserve spots and only return occasionally to their chairs. The beach was a nice point in our opinion. It wasn't as busy as the pool and was very relaxing. The only downside was how far the bar was from the beach area.

Between the buffet lines, the pool chair races, and the "entertainment team" the resounding opinion we made was that it felt like a stationary cruise ship.

On another note - the city of Playa del Carmen was very nice when we went and visited - but at $40 ($400 pesos) round trip, it's not something easily done. We enjoyed avenue 5 and being able to shop and visit the city beach.

It would be wrong to say we hated it; there are a lot of people and sometimes it felt like being trapped and herded like cattle (hence the cruise comparison). Next time, we will probably make more of an effort to stay in or close to Playa Del Carmen so we can shop and be more inundated with the culture of Mexico.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,358
    2,017
    635
    254
    155
See reviews for
568
4,035
54
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just got back from a one week stay(Oct.19-26, 2012) at the Ocean Maya Royale by H10. It was our second time at the resort. We stayed there last year at the same time of year. The resort was just as good as last year. A lot of familiar faces still worked there and they all greeted us with smiles and desires to make our stay a good one. Just to name a few: Alfredo and Alberto at the morning breakfast buffet, Vincente at the El Charo for lunch, and Elena who cleaned our room so well that it would pass inspection at a boot camp. All were wonderful people with great, upbeat personalities and it was obvious they enjoyed their jobs. All of the staff were wonderful.
Food was very good at the buffet with plenty of options. The Japanese and Italian restaurants were also very good. We sat at the grill for the Japanese "show" and really enjoyed that.
The resort is very beautiful and meticulously maintained at all times. The pools are crystal clear and the beach is raked every day to keep it nice. I very much enjoyed the coati, raccoons, iguanas, and other wildlife that share this beautiful area. The activity staff are all great people that do a good job with the contests at the activity pool. They go around trying to get people to participate in the activities without being too pushy.
The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was stiff and that is what we like. The fridge was restocked every day. My only advice would be to charge me $20 usd more to supply a better beer in the room.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and will certainly be coming back to the Ocean Maya Royale. Don't pay too much attention to the bad reviews. There are some people that expect a 5 star resort out of what I would rate a 4 star resort. I can't imagine anyone having a bad stay at this resort. Go to this resort without any worries. You will not be disappointed. No kids a big plus!
Thank you Ocean Maya Royale and staff for a very nice vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WTBONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
238 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Ocean Maya in October for our 15 year anniversary and another couples 10 year anniversary. The resort itself is beautiful the grounds are amazingly maintained. Everything is clean and very modern.

First I would like to say the people that work at Ocean Maya are what make it a great place to stay. Everyone is friendly and helpful from the check in desk to the gardeners. Special thanks to Omar (entertainment), Azucena (our beach and pool waitress), Rafel and Luis (pool bartenders), Nick our Teppanyaki chief and Delhia(spelled wrong) our drinks waitress in the court yard. They are the reason we had a wonderful vacation.

The pools and beach- Yes the beach is separated by a boardwalk but if you go up the coast to the north you will see why. (all the other resort beaches are eroding quite drastically) There is still a beach on either side of the boardwalk and if it is not windy the water is very clear. The sand is very fine and very soft and they rake it every day. The two pools are very nice with lots of seating around each one and based on your preference you can relax or enjoy the activities.

The rooms – we stayed in building 16 and this is the perfect area, half way between the main building and the beach. Our room was on the ground floor so we had little guest each morning to greet us (Coati’s). The rooms are cleaned very well each day and the refrigerator is refilled daily. The only thing we did not like was our room had two queen beds instead of one king... This was not a big deal we just slept in one bed and used the other for laying out some of our stuff.

Restaurants - All were very good. I think our favorite was the Teppanyaki the food had great flavor and the entertainment was great. The Mexican was our second favorite with tasty Fajita’s and tacos. We ate breakfast at the buffet every morning and there was always a great selection to choose from. We did eat at the Italian and it is a very scenic place for dinner. The food was pretty good but the service was really slow.

Overall- this is a great place to relax and enjoy what the Riviera Maya has to offer we had a great time and met lots of people. The majority of the people here were not from the US and that made it a great place to meet new people and have fun. If you would like to relax and have some of the best service you will ever get this is the place for you. FYI a little tip for any of the staff will go a long way.

Room Tip: We were in building 16 it is just about in the middle of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeffrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at the ocean maya recently and had a brilliant time. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to make sure we were getting a good service. We left a bag on the transfer bus from the airport (£200 worth of goods in it) and the Thomson Rep Neil pursued it until it was returned to us (with everything still in it)! The bar waitresses were excellent especially Imelda and Sarai who were always around to make sure we had a drink! (ocean maya cocktails are awesome)!
The gardens were immaculate and we always saw staff around the grounds working. The food was well presented and had a good extensive choice for even the fussiest of eaters. My husband wasnt too keen on the japanese as his food was cool when served. It was also too dark in the japanese and we struggled to read the menu!
We always managed to get sunbeds next to the pool and the waiter service was good there also. There was loads of wasps around the pool bar and juice machines which kept me away from that area!
The room was immaculate, clean towels everyday and even balloons and birthday cakes on the table for us as it was both our birthdays whilst we were there. Overall, we had a great holiday and will be returning to the ocean maya royale.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs if you dont want the local wildlife visiting you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We returned to the UK this morning after spending a wonderful week in Ocean Maya Royale. The hotel was everything we expected and a whole lot more. Everywhere from the lobby, the room to the toilets by the pool was spotless. The food in all the restaurants was delicious, couldn't fault any of it. The Italian, Dolce Vita was our favourite though...especially the cannelloni!! We were also surprised with champagne and strawberries in our room when we arrived and treated to a romantic breakfast in our room and also a meal by the pool at night. Daniel served our meal by the pool and made us feel spoiled! :)
The entertainment at the resort was fantastic with lots going on. My husband spent a lot of his "poolside" time playing volleyball, football and archery. The entertainment staff were always keen to have everyone involved and definitely entertained!

Overall, the last week is one we won't forget anytime soon. Thank you to all staff at the hotel - hope Uriel's foot is better ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel's location, amenities, gardens, pool, and staff were very impressive. The selection of restaurants and food choices were wonderful. This "All-inclusive" vacation lived up to our expectations. The entertainment staff was energetic, friendly, helpful, and constantly making an effort to please the guests. Miguel Roman Flores, the entertainment and sport manager, directed his staff expertly. Amy, Dany, Christina, Suzanne, Yuri, Jes, and Omar captured our hearts. One negative experience took place at the Japanese restaurant when we made reservations for the chef's special cooking exhibition. One overworked chef was expected to perform for four tables at the same time = IMPOSSIBLE! We were made to wait for over an hour to be seated. Our table was overcrowded with 10 guests. (The table was organized to seat 8 persons.) One of the guests at our table never received his cocktail order. Because of a long wait, by the time our dessert was served, we were walking out of the restaurant! On the other hand, our experience at the Italian restaurant, LA DOLCE VITA, was very special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary_jillclemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ten days in october at this hotel with my wife. We paid the extra for privilege benefits.fwelcome on arriva. fantastic welcomel with special check in desk. Given cold drink and transfer by electric car to suite. Well stocked fridge, outside jacuzzi, satellite tv and a gigantic bed.Delicious food a la carte in four restaurants. privilege room near beach for free wifi, drinks, snacks etc. privilege bali style beds on beach with personal drinks service, suntan oil, books, magazines, fruit, nibblles etc. Staff in every department fantastic. cannot wait to come again. enjoy and treat yourself for a fantastic experience. P.S. range of food in oriental, italian, international and mexican restaurants absoloutely awesome.

Room Tip: Pick honeymoon suite if you get a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tutormfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,274 reviews
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing