We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #46 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Had been recommended this hotel by a friend and it did not disappoint. It is not a 5 star but you can get 2 weeks here for what you would pay in a 5 star and you get your moneys worth.
The best thing about the place is the staff, everyone is so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
The room was spotless, modern and air con that worked.Only negative was the horrible pillows on the bed, not comfortable.
The grounds were immaculate, gardeners working constantly, and fun to watch the wildlife that lived there.
Food was amazing, so much choice.Our favourite restaurant was the Italian, very romantic by the sea and the waiter here was excellent, thanks primitivo for making our holiday special.
Beach area was kept clean, everyday they were sweeping and raking. We enjoyed the bali beds by the sea but in order to get one you had to be up very early but worth it.
Of you want to do tours can highly recommend using a company called Edventure Tours. We booked one tour on line before we went , it was so good we ended up booking another with them. Find them on tripadvisor.
The spa was one of the best I have ever been to.We had as romantic massage package for my birthday and also before we left they were doing deals so both had a hot stones massage...wonderful.
Also do not bother paying Thomson holidays to use the VIP lounge at Cancun airport, worst lounge I have been in and a rip off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ScotlandTravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,242
    1,985
    617
    251
    155
See reviews for
555
3,951
52
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

my wife and i stayed oct 4-10th.AWESOME TRIP!! i have not one negative remark to say about this resort. the staff is so so very nice. the bartenders in the lobby are fast and fun. our room was nice but didnt spend much time in there. i read negative remarks about beach.. on our stay it was really clear and great. the food was really good at each place. so much variety. entertainment everynight at 9pm. dj and dancing in the courtyard was great for us becuause we like to dance. each pool was great. one to relax and other to drink and be more lively. on our stay it was not overly busy or crowded. we always found a sun bed covered or not. never waited to eat. i read reviews before trip about smells and seaweed. we did not have any of that at all. we went parasailing and it was amazing! well worth it. 100$ for two. we went on a excursion called xplor. zip lining, swimming in caves, canoeing, and driving four wheelers. had so much fun. its an all day event. food included in package.well worth it as well. 150$ for two.
This was the absolute best vacation ive had. it was our first trip as a married couple. celebrated our 1 yr anniversary on the oct 8th. i talked to concierge and they helped me suprise my wife with dozen roses, wine and chocolate covered strawberries.

Room Tip: we stayed in building 26. perfect for us. close to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robert y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Excellent hotel, the food was first class, cannot fault the service provided by the hard working team. Evening entertainment could be improved but the staff worked very hard, wildlife walking round the hotel made a difference and it was nice the surrounding area was left untouched to enable the wildlife to thrive. Plenty of places to chill out or join in the games if that's what you liked, Neil Thomson rep was very good and not pushy on excursions, the highlight of which was the dolphin swim...amazing..........if your going to this hotel you will be impressed!

Room Tip: Take small notes for tipping, try and get block 9 with sea view room 905 or 906
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonB2741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel overall is good. Good beach, we have found lots of shells there snorkelling, becomes to murky when stormy. You can take a catamaran and kayaks for free at the hotel dive shop. But they limit the use to 30 min at a time(.
Good buffet at the main restaurant. Rooms are clean but providing you leave a regular tip.
What we did not like was that 1) there are no discos(they are promoting Coco Bongo at Playa del Carmen for $65/person) at night. 2) They have special exchange rate of 11 pesos/$1US when buying bottled wine from the restaurant while the next door shop has the rate of 13 pesos/$1US. And noone told us that before we ordered the wine! Small money but I hate to be fooled! 3) they charge $5 for lost hotel key. Again small money but no other hotels I ever stayed in does this. 4) reception staff was not very friendly at all with minimum welcome info and not even Adios at departure.
So we liked our vacation but hardly will return to Ocean Maya Royal again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex30031975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Well I booked this a year in advance and became v worried by some of the bad reviews well all I can say is that the people that moan about this hotel r obviously people that shall never be pleased, the hotel was amazing,the grounds superb pretty and spotless, the food choice I think was very good steaks as u want them fresh seafood ,plus much more the alacartes were fab the Italian our fav as setting was lovely n food delicious , pool area great beach great especially feeding the fish! Rooms were good the entertainment staff worked so hard but so does everyone at this resort, we went as a couple and goto say it will be hard to beat this resort and are considering our honeymoon here, thank you all for a fab holiday x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hayleymurf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a fun time the week of October 4th. The food is good - no stomach issues. Our favorite restaurant was the Mexican. Really good and great service.

I snorkeled from the dive shop - see Serjio... it cost $39 and was worth the money. They take you out on a small sailboat, pulled by a jet ski. We snorkeled for 45 minutes, then we sailed back. There is also a lagoon that can be walked to along the beach. Highly recommend that too. The resort offers a walk to the lagoon also.

The beach is nice - no rocks. We spent a lot of time in the ocean by the pier and in the "quiet" pool.

It's worth the visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diherbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just returned from our 4th stay at the OMR and they improved again. More activities, information signs everywhere, reduced spa prices and more. A lot of staff members we know from our first visit are still working there and recognized us and remembered what we like, just amazing. In our opinion they all go out of their way to make your stay the best, from the gardeners, maids, bartenders and waiters to the entertainment team. We just love this place and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kentuckygus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,830 reviews
6.1 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#45 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#48 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,074 reviews
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,882 reviews
20.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing