We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #49 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the Ocean Maya Royal September 20 - October 6th. Food at the resort was great. All the restaurants were easy to get into, no line-ups ever. Favorite was the Japanese restaurant.
Rooms were decent. Didn't have any bug problems. Staff actually came to spray one morning so that was probably why. Shower did leak onto the floor, but nothing major. I ordered room service on evening as I was wiped after a full days excursion. They told me 45 minutes and my food came in like 10 mins! I was impressed with that!
The entertainment staff were fantastic. Omar, Uriel, Jess and Suzanne were my favorites. :) At the breakfast buffet we always sat in Alfredo's section. He has a great sense of humor and personality. Always made us smile. Jessica at the dinner buffet always made us feel welcome. Everywhere you went, the staff would always say hello and were very warm and welcoming.
Pools are nice. Most mornings you had to put your towels out on the chairs (thankfully my father got up nice and early for this). :) Pool bar drinks were good as well. And Roberto did the henna tattoos one day for us, really good job. Daily entertainment was good and evening entertainment was very good as well.
Would I go back? I would say yes - but only as a couple as the majority of travellers at this resort are couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am really happy to read such a wonderfull experience. We apreciate very much all your positive comments, specially all the mentions of our staff, I will make sure I tell them how important they were for you in order to have a great vacation.

We hope you come back very soon with us!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,187
    1,957
    612
    251
    154
See reviews for
549
3,888
50
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a truly amazing and relazxing time here in April 2012. The staff could not do more to make our stay even more amazing! We had a lobster meal on the beach courtesy of the hotel! Evening entertainment is very tame but if your just looking to relax with some background music and chilled atmosphere then this is the place for you! The beach is very simple but the sea is very blue! 5 mins walk to the left is a beautiful lagoon that is a must to visit!
The maids very friendly and even did my washing for me and hung it out to dry so obviously we looked after them in return. Fridge filled daily and the one day it wasnt we rang reception and some one came and filled it in around 10 mins!
Awesome place and we will be returning as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We had a room near the Mexican restaurant near the pool. Great location for the pool , sea and main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aims0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you had such an amazing and relaxing time, this all about being in holidays. Thank you so much for the special complements to the maids. It is also great that you got to enjoy our lobster dinner at the beach, is a great and romantic experience.

We hope you come back soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wife and i stayed for 14 nights in April this year. It is just a 4 star so do not expect anything more. The rooms are spacious and clean. The grounds are beautiful and the wildlife a joy- watch where you are walking as there are lizards around every corner!!. We had a problem with airconditioning, it did take 4 hot sticky nights for staff to realise that it was broke but eventually moved to new room.
The buffet dinner and breakfasts were good, however, if you enjoy good food, service and surroundings eat in the themed restuarants Italian, Japaneese and Mexican, unlike other all inclusives we have stayed you are not limited to one visit per stay. Beach is disappointing, may have been the time of year but generally sea rough and not turquoise blue - big problem with seaweed, cleaned up everyday but they were fighting a loosing battle. A 15 minute walk down the beach will take you to paradise. Pools generally busy and "noisey", the Americans seem to like that sort of thing, and not much shade. The hotel is a little isolated and certainly do not expect to walk from reception to the local town.
If you do arrange for private tours make sure the tour company can access the hotel as its almost a taxi trip from reception to the main gate!!
We enjoyed our time at the hotel and had no real complaints.

Room Tip: Most rooms will overlook the gardens perimeter blocks are better for wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonahcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that dispite some details you did have a great vacation. I would like to apologyze for any incovenience occured during your holiday, as the non working A/A. Conditions of the beach will always depend on the season, but as you mention, we keep cleaning it everyday. About booking tours, it is always advisable to book them with your representative on site for your own safety, this is why we will not give access to the Hotel to any transportation without the oficial papers.

We hope you come back soon with us!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just got back from 11 nights at the Ocean Maya Royale and what a fantastic time we had the place is exactly what it shows on the brochures and on the web. Th hotel is immaculately maintained the food was excellent and the staff couldnt do enough for you we going again next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simonh2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I would like to congratulate you once again for your recent honeymoon and I would like also to say how happy I am to read the you had such a wonderful time with us.

We will be waiting for you for your first wedding anniversary.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colgate, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from 7 nites at OMR. After reading a few negative reviews, we were kind of nervous not knowing what to expect.............The NEGATIVE NELLIES will never be satisfied anywhere they go, so ignore them.. This place rocks! Actually the cleanest resort we have stayed at.(Been to Jamaica 9 times, Cabo twice, Punta Cana 3, St Lucia once.) The food is amazing and very good and fresh at all restaurants and at all times of the days.. The Drinks are awesome, and not watered down. (Actually saw one bartender break the seal on the Absolute). The people are soo friendly, and will always say hello. The room was very clean, and most comfortable, as the AC and the shower worked wonderfully..
The other guests we met were alot of fun, no matter where they were from. and we made some good friends. We enjoyed the entire vacation and really hated to leave.. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to read that despite coming a little worried for some bad reviews you had such a wonderful time and you got to experience our great resort. Thank you so much for all the good comments.

We hope to see you back real soon!!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived to a lovely warm welcome, this hotel has eveything you need, the grounds are immaculately kept, the wild life is amazing from Raccoons,cotties,iguana;s and more, 4 restautants to choose from 3 of which are al-acart Mexican, Italian, Japanese, and a Buffet restaurant , the food is of a high standard. 2 very clean pools, one for activitys and the other more peaceful not forgetting the beach is on your doorstep also..It will cost you 200 pesos in a taxi to Playa del carmen approx £10 or you can walk the 1km drive-way to the main road and catch the local bus for 15 -20 pesos, just over a £1. We travelled to Playa del carmen ,went to walmart and booked our trips there and saved a few qiud, rather than booking through the rep. The staff are all helpful, happy and smiling, Would definatly return .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 603, it was central to pool/beach and hotel bar/ lobbie, short distance to all res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I would also like to thank you for such great comments made about the service, the food and the cleaning of the Hotel. We are really pleased to read that you had an amazing time with us.

We hope to see you very soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

After readingsny reviews on here we were a bit worried about our pending holiday! But after being dropped off by the coach we were greated in the very spacious an beautiful reception with a welcome drink an our bags were taken to our to our room where we were very happy to have a bottle of champagne on ice chilling for us. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, with wildlife such as cotes, lizards and raccoons tame around the complex.

ROOMS- very spacious, huge kingsize bed. Lovely big balcony, big plasma tv and walk in shower. Room very clean and made up daily, mini bar stocked daily also.

FOOD - So much choice, even with just the buffet you would not get fed up as they have different theme nights through the week. Every night steak/ chicken or seafood could be cooked fresh whilst you wait. We had steak a few nights and they were beautiful, we would pay good money at home for them. Then there are the 3 restaraunts, Mexican/ japanise/ Italian. The japanise was the nicest in our oppinion as it was very fresh an the meals were always hot, they also do show cooking which is a great experience and the food is gorgeous. The only complaint and bad meal we had on this holiday was in the Italian, the food was only just warm which put us off going again, though we did and it was lovely- we must have just been unlucky on one occasion! You don't book the restaraunts, there can be up to a 20 min wait, but we didn't see that as a problem, we just sat and had a drink. You can go to them as many times as you like.
If you want a snack at 3am you can get a selection of yummy food from the lobby bar.

DRINKS- The bar staff work so hard to please, they have an extensive cocktail list, but if there is not one on there you like they will make it! The beer is not that great, but the wine an spirits are ok, all local stuff. Coffee & tea available all day & night from lobby bar or the coffee shop, my favorite was baileys latte!

ENTERTAINMENT- The team were great, always trying to get you involved with different activities but not pushy at all. They do different shows an get outside artists in which is good, got slightly repetitive on some nights. The pool side party nights were our favorite. More variation needed though. A night into the town broke it up a little for us.
It was only £20 return into playa and food & drink are very cheap if you shop around for a happy hour!

STAFF - I have saved the best untill last, the staff truly make this holiday, they work so so hard and nothing is to much effort for them. There are to many examples to put on here. We were brought drinks regularly on the beach and at night to our table. Our waitress Imelda worked from so early in the morning to late at night and still had a smile and drink for us.


We loved this place and would definatley go back, if you want a chilled relaxing holiday with beautiful surroundings, be pampered and nice food it's the place to be :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank hwalker262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I really apreciate that despite some reviews you came to visit us and gave us the chance to pump you for your holidays. Thank you for such a wonderfull review.

We hope to see you soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.2 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,703 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#48 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,981 reviews
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing