We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #49 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here Jan 2-9. We have stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe and the Grand Palladium, both in the Mayan Riviera. The Ocean Maya is significantly smaller but everything they have is on par with other 4-5 star resorts of this nature in the area. Of course there are fewer restaurants and bars, but we found in the larger resorts we frequented the same ones over and over anyway. Everything is close by - a walk from the beach to the reception is 10 mins at the very most - therefore pretty much any room location leaves you convenient to everything, and no golf carts or trains to wait for. The pool areas run along the beach, similar to the Bahia, which is lovely and convenient. You can walk for miles in either direction along the shore, keep in mind that past hurricanes have wreaked havoc on beaches in this area and some resorts are definately having difficulty maintaining their beach - therefore some areas for swimming are better than others. The Ocean Maya is further along in their restoration than others and have done a commendable job in building the boardwalk and protecting two separate swimming areas. Food quality is excellent at both the a la cartes and the buffets - buffets definately better than the Palladium. Although there are only 3 a la cartes, the menu on each are quite extensive, so going back 2 or 3 times still leaves lots of choices. Very large pools and lots of choice of different areas along the beach to relax. Adults only is a bonus.

Room Tip: We had rooms on both the first and second floors and both have advantages - depends on whether you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank fairday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that after staying in two otehr resorts at the Riviera Maya, your were very happy with your stay. Thank you for the good coments about the food, our cooking team works really hard everyday.

We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,306 - 4,312 of 6,782 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

We are currently at the resort, and I am in a wheelchair due to injuries from a fall. The first day I didn't see a step down in the lobby and fell, breaking 2 bones in my hand and badly spraining my ankle. We hadn't even got our room yet! The hotal dr is excellent and the hospital in Playa del Carmen better than home. The resort is barely wheelchair friendly as you cannot access the beach (especially the privilege area which we paid for) and the ramps are very steep and difficult to push up.

Management did send a card and plate of cookies to our room! Staff have been helpful, just so very difficult to have to spend a lot of time in your room because you can't get around.

So if you come here watch out for steps not well marked!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cdnbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are really sorry if your holiday was not so good due to the fall that you had en you arrived to the Hotel. We would like to add to your comments that all our steps are clearly marked and that we are a Hotel prepaired for people with wheel chairs, we have ramps that give you acces to all the main areas and also we do have rooms specially design to fit a wheel chair. We would also like to point out that not only we sent you a letter to the room, but we did a follow up. Courtesy calls were made and even the entertainment team offer to help you geting to the Privilege beach everyday, but we understood that you were also confortable by the beach close to our Italian Restaurant. Our guest service manager also spoke to you and you let him know that you were very happy with the way the staff was being so good to you. We really hope that despite this incident you manage to make the best out of your holiday.

We wish you the best recovery for you foot and hand

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a great time at the OMR (adults only) property for our week stay in early December. WE had a lovely room that was super close to the beach in building 37. There was a jacuzzi on the patio, nice patio furniture, a white leather furniture set in the room as well as a king size bed. I believe we got these upgrades due to the Orbitz package we booked. Nice perk! There was also sparkling wine and treats in our room upon arrival.

We booked a dinner under the full moon out on the beach complete w/ our own waiter! Highly recommend this ..very romantic and fun! We had a super waiter. Wish I could remember his first name. He works also at the Mexican Restarant at night. Steak, Shrimp, great service, yummy desserts, appetizers etc...well worth it for a special night. Inquire at Guest services each menu level has a price.

The beach as we all know is "different" and is not the fault of the OMR just mother nature taking back via Hurricane a few years ago. They lost 30' of beach front and I can imagine at one time it was an outstanding stretch of beach. They did a super job with what they had to work with

take a quick walk to your left down to Tres Rio's...gorgeous river system on the mangroves that meets the ocean. Refreshing, beautiful and a wonderful spot for photo opportunites.

We walked to the right one day down the beach for about 45 minutes and yes you have to walk up over a golf course etc for a few steps and then back down...but no worries...nice to get a good walk in. Even tho we are huge beach people and this in not anyway as nice as say the beach at the Catalonia Royal Tulum or say Punta cana we did still enjoy our time on the beach reading and people watching and napping each day. Ahhh vacation can't beat it. We did feel the saggy , old fashioned beach loungers in the area where we laid each day just off the activities pool really really really need to be upgraded. It was like you were laying right on the plastic. Ouch. And I think they should have a few more of the little tables so your stuff, kindles, books, sunglasses are not sitting right in the sand.

Did a nice side trip for a day to Isla Mujeres via the hotel and it was a full long day but well worth it. Nice sail on a catamaran, snorkeling, lunch, shopping in isla etc...

catch a collectivo out on the highway for $2.00 a person to PDC but you have to walk out to the road from the lobby. There is a shuttle that runs from 10 till 2 that you book at the guest services one day in advance. It's free but the time was not worth it to me to give up my beach and sun time. A taxi will run you about $15.00 to PDC the bellman can summon one for you as they are waiting out at the security gate.

the staff was lovely. Our maid was spot on each day. All toiletries refilled and towels etc...the water soda fridge guy did a great job each day and we would leave a little tip and request more beer instead of say tonic water and we always got it. There was in our fridge orange soda, coke, sprite, diet coke, tonic water, and 2 different juices, beer and water. SCORE!!!

xaiver at the pool bar is hands down this properties best waiter. He could run the bar taking care of 6 people at a time seriously all the time with a smile and he had a way of keeping guests under control when they had too much to drink or bringing a smile out of newbies etc..he is great. Drinks were good...yes, the are going to offer the bottom of the line stuff but polietly request the other level you are entiteled you and you will get it. You will only get the stuff on the cube shelf that says privelege if you have paid for privelige. And we didn't see anything on that shelf that was really, really worth paying for. We found lots on our level that we liked. The bartenders that filled in for Xaxier while he was on break or off for the day just didn't have his level of bartending and it wasn't the same vibe.

The lobby bar is where it's at in the evening as well as the little courtyard outside the lobby. Lots of people playing cards, on their computers and smart phones etc...just winding down and socializing. They staff does put on a show and they do have a coco bongo's trip for a fee etc...but we were always too tired to partake. We really enjoyed the talented sax player that played there most nights.

you can order off the menu while sitting at the lobby bar after 11 p.m. if you got in late and the restaraunts were closed etc...simple menu, burgers, sandwiches etc..

most of the food was really good. Not exceptional but good. We wished the mexican night at the buffet on the thursday nigth were more "mexican" we wished there were more choices. Mashed Potatoes to me are not mexican. lol

loved the italian. The japense was fun at our show table. mexican by the beach was good. Loved the ordering off the menu.

during the day we never managed to venture to the main buffet to see what they had we just made our way to the Mexican restarunt by the beach that was a buffet at lunchtime. There was a gal that was chef while we were there and she was always busy keeping the variety going fresh fish, burgers, beef, chicken etc...loved the guac and pico. They had ice cream that everyone seemed to enjoy. Self serve cones.

Loved the Sparkling wine. It was free flowing at all bars and also at breakfast with mimosa's.

the grounds are lovely, lovely, lovely. Colorful, and well taken care of.

We liked that our room was way down by the beach because during the day that is where we like to be and at night it was a pretty lit walk to the lobby.

We felt the young gal that served at hostess at breakfast and in the lunch buffet could probably use a lesson in smiling. The one with the long hair pulled back in a pony tail I don't think we saw her smile at Anyone in the 7 days we were there. She would just point to where we were to be seated and never friendly, never a HOla or welcome or how is your vacation. I don't know if she was shy or snobby but either way..she needs more training. One day she pointed to a section where she wanted us to go and we asked nicely if we could sit in a section where our favorite waiter was...she seemed almost huffy that we messed with her routine. Sorry but he was good to us and we were good to him with the tips. After all we are the customer we should be able to have the waither we wanted.

The lobby bartenders meh! they also need a lesson in friendlness. not once in one week stay of us being up there each and every night did they say hello, how is your stay, how are you ...nothing...nothing nothing. They wouldn't even say "how may I help you" they would just stand there and wait for you to say what you wanted"...for me the "little details" of customer service are what makes a resort whether it's big or small and it's these little details that get the repeat customers. They need to work on this area imo. And yes for the record we did tip them.

There were two gals at the front guest services desk that we really enjoyed. Sussana and Judith both are in training and will do well for this resort. There was also a friendly gal from Germany that was in training that did a good job for us when we had questions etc..

We find that this resort after recently being converted to to adults only has soooo much potential and to me it falls in the little details. We had a great stay we totally felt we got our money's worth but had we spent top dollar on this resort we might have felt like we got gypped. We originally were going to the Catalonia Royal tulum but got a better price on this so we thought we would give it a try. As I said we did have a great time and there was lots about it that we did like but it's not "quite' where it needs to be if they are going to cater to adults only.

There is a nice book exchange at the towel hut. The bathrooms everywhere on the property were clean and well maintaned. Bathrooms close to the beach which we like. The E team did a great job of getting people that were interested in the games and contests involved at the big pool. We didn't participate but we did enjoy watching them from the beach. They had a fun variety of games each day and they also had a texas hold 'em tourney every few days that was popular as well as showing you how to make drinks etc...at the tables set up. they get an "a" for effort.

Room Tip: Pay for it in advance. There are only a few true ocean view rooms. If this is important pay for it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank needtovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. Thank you also for giving us so many details about the property and our staff. We will be taking under consideration all the points that you have mentioned that will need some atention, like the training of the staff. It was a great review and very helpful for all our future customers.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

we stayed here for 2 weeks from 26th dec, 2011, rooms are small but adequate with shower only. Food very good in buffet and a la carte very good when you can get in, no reservations required but sometimes too busy to get in. The grounds are immaculate and well maintained. The best thing about this resort are the staff they are wonderful and will always try their best to accomodate you. New Years eve was wonderful, they had an ice bar out in the courtyard and food was amazing, would return here for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesleyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you had a great time here with us. Thank you for all the complements to the property, but also to the staff. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy our New years Party, a lot of work and effort were put into this day.

We hope you return back soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Are you thinking about Cancun for February or March? Usually I wait till I get home before I write my review but for all of you who are thinking about booking holidays consider the Ocean Maya Royal in Cancun. Let me start with the check in, perfect! Then one thing this year that I must comment on, the grounds; plants and trees fantastic! Well manicured and they have signs near all the gardens about the natural flora and fauna and how they are preserving the natural habitat. The animals, there are Iguanas, there are these sort of Racoon like critters but they are out during the day not at night, they have a brown bear kind of face and a long stripped tail wonderful to watch. Let me tell you about the rooms, LARGE two double beds, beautifully decorated and the washroom are lovely. Those of you who follow my reviews or know me know that I am picky about the washroom situation. These washrooms ticked all the boxes! Separate water closet, great sink, great shower head and all honed limestone, enough said. I know you are now thinking “what about the food” well friends GREAT, yes GREAT describes the food. The restaurants, Italian, Japanese, and Mexican plus the BUFFET! The Italian was by far my favourite. But the Japanese and the buffet were great too! If you don’t like the food here you are just plain way to picky! But most noteworthy is the staff, yes I just said the most noteworthy is the staff! From the check in, to the bars, to the restaurants, and the maids friendly yes friendly and helpful and they all really wanted to know how you are doing and how they can make your stay better! “The Now Jade” you have some competition!

Room Tip: Choose villa 25 for quiet backing on to a forest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank StLuciaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am really happy to read the you had such a great time here with us. Thank you for all the comments about the property, but specially the food. I am glad you liked the decoration of our rooms, they have all benn newly renovated.

We hope you come back soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were at this resort from Dec 15 to 19. We did not dot he "premium" deal.

The resort is clean, landscaping is gorgeous, and the staff is very friendly. We've stayed at a few "budget" all-inclusives, and this was by far the best of the bunch in terms of drinks.
The rooms are clean, new and comfortable. We were initially booked in a double-double by mistake and those beds seemed more comfortable than the King bed, where we eventually transferred to.

There really aren't that many activities to do here at night, so if you are a "night owl" type, you might find this place boring. The only bar that's open late night is the one in the lobby. It's not a huge resort, but during a high season, it might take a while to get your drinks. They work really fast, tho! They do have good tequilas, vodkas and gins, and will pour them if you ask. Otherwise you get the generic bottom shelf kind.

We didn't try any of the specialty restaurants. The Buffet dinner/lunch is OK. Nothing special. Surprisingly bad Mexican food on "Mexican Night"... The cooked-to-order seafood section is your best bet. A lot of the dishes were over-seasoned in my opinion, but then it could just be me...Also, there is no food option after midnight, so if you plan to drink up with your friends at night, don't count on late night Pizza or anything!

The beach is pretty sad. It's really small part of the resort. So if you are expecting miles and miles of white sand beach, you will be disappointed. The sand is really smooth, but as people have said, the currents make the water look really muddy - it's not dirty, just muddy. It seems to clear up every now and then, and for us, it cleared up on our last day. The beach is a tiny section of the oceanfront. Most of it is that boardwalk like structure. There are lots of sands and shady areas - just not wave crushing, shell collecting, swim-able type.

The gym has two rickety treadmills, couple of elpticals and a stair master. Also so free weights and weight training machines. Nothing to write home about. If you are a runner, and not a fan of beach running, just run from the Dive house up to the resort gates...that's about 0.9 miles (I had Garmin). Do a little loop inside the resort and you'll get a mile out and a mile back.

I recommend this place for a short R&R, but won't recommend for anything over a week, unless you are a type that's happy to sit on a lounger and read all day.

We rented a car (Erica's fantasitc) and went out to Akumal to swim with the Turtles and Tulum. It seemed like while there were many tours to the Eco Parks, there were none that did Tulum and Akumal in one day. Renting a car for a day turned out to be the best thing we did. Cheap Turtle swim tour in Akumal, delicious dinner at a taqueira in Playa del Carmen for pennies, and we did this without speaking any Spanish, other than "Margarita Por Favor".

Room Tip: Stay away from Villa #21 (i think). It's near a sewer main.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for the complements about the Hotel, we are happy to read that overall you did have a good time.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The resort was so clean and the grounds were immaculate . Service was good. Food looked like it belonged in a food magazine but taste was not so great. This really was the only thing not perfect . We did have a blast and we will go back . Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oralynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a great time despite a little disapointment with the food, but we will be working on it for out future customers.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#62 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,762 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#42 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,579 reviews
1.0 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#99 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,823 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#67 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $181 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing