We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as immaculate as the pictures!”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #48 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2011

My husband and I came to rest and we certianly did. We didn't find our King bed uncomfrtable at all. Slept like babies. They weren't "heavenly" but they were cozy enough. We upgraded to Privilege bands and it was worth every penny of the extr a$280 USD for the week. We never rushed for a beach chair, never worried about reservations at restaurants and (almost) never got our own drinks at the bar. We wanted to be extremely lazy and we were! We have 2 small kids who didn't join us (thus we rested) and the place is becoming Adults Only come May 1, 2011. That was part of its allure for us as we didn't want to worry about ours or other people's kids and we didn't. I wouldn't advise it for kids as the programming is geared to adults. Another alluring feature was the size - small, intimate, extremely freindly staff. We weren't giong for a Spring Break crowd and this was no the place for it - no disco, no real nightlife. We were asleep early anyway as we're not real booze-hounds and my husband won't dance. Don't get me worng - there was entertainment - some great that wrapped up by 10:30 pm so like I said, no late nights for us.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Privilege. Just relax.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dancing_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you had such a great holiday with us and we hope that you come back very soon!.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,655)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Maya Royale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,589 - 4,595 of 6,655 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed at ocean maya for the 1st part of our honey moon , and we had a great time!
We had a really nice room, very modern, jaccuzzi on the patio, bathrobes and flipflops, the whole 9 yards , we were very impressed!

The food was amazing, no complaints at all there , the beach was really nice but a little windy, the red flags were up for the 5 days we stayed there..
Twice we walked about a 15 MIN up the beach to a natural cenote! its sooo cool,, fresh water gets pushed out in the ocean at this spot so its kind of like a small river coming through the sand thats crystal clear, and about 9 feet deep, so u can swim in it, and try swimming against it! sooo neat..

The locations perfect , $10.00 cab to 5th ave. we went to blue parrott down town for the 15th time, cant get enough of that night club!..
the grounds are very well kept, and theres no elevators! thats a major bonus cuz who wants to take elevators in a highrise, when you have a spot with tonnes of 3 story high villas! was perfect!
The only complaint was its not 24 HR, so we came back from the bars at about 3 AM, and not a sole was around, everything was all closed up.. we tipytoed back to the room, and a security guard even escorted us worrying we would wake someone up I guess LOL
But Honestly, this place is very great, friendly staff, great vibes here!

Room Tip: get ground floor jaccuzi if possbile
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meech09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I would like to thank you also for choosing our Hotel to spend such a special time with us, Honeymoon!!!. We are very pleased to know that you have anjoyed your time here with us.

We hope to see you back here for your first anniversay!.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We left some items in one of ours rooms and Luis Castillo ( Guest service manager ) made everything possible to found them and send it at home!!! Unbelievable, isn't??

Room Tip: Take one in front of the beach!!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbereijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Where to begin.... I'll start with the negative.... NONE!!!
Now for the positive. My girlfriend and I arrived to be met with cold drinks while we checked in. Since we checked in at 10am they put away our bags and pointed us in the direction of the pool. At the pool we met the two barkeeps. David and Aber (sp). They worked their butts off to keep the drinks full and both were very polite young men.
After leaving the pool we checked into a beautiful, modern, clean room. During our stay we were welcomed one night to a yummy tray of deserts and on another night we found a bottle of red wine and strawberrys.
As for the food.... We can't say enough about the Japanese restaurant. We ate there 3 times. Once we enjoyed hibachi and the other times had the most professional and nice waiter one could ask for. Thank you Hector!
Now for the grounds. Clean, clean, clean and very beautiful!!! These men and women work around the clock to keep this place spotless! Even the lobby bar bathroom was spotless.
The entertainment was also tons of fun! From the entertainment crew that got us in the pool to play volleyball to the crew that put on the night show. Thank you for a fun time full of great memories.
If you want a smaller resort where you are not a number but a person, you need to stay at the Ocean maya. Every employee greeted us with a warm smile and a sincere hola as we crossed paths. The level of hospitality was amazing. We will return to Mexico next year for vacation. And we can't imagine staying anywhere else.
Thank you staff at the Ocean maya royale. You are all amazing people!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank geomm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear Guest,

We really thank you for a great review. It is very special when a guest remember so many names from our staff, that means that all the hard work they put everyday is worth it. Please, be sure that I will be telling each of them how special they hava made your holidays.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

My husband and I just came back from Ocean Maya Royale a few weeks ago. We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites and it was fabulous. We had no complaints about the room except for the bed was a bit uncomfortable. I've never really been to a hotel where the bed wasn't though, so it's not really a complaint. The resort was so beautiful. We never got sick of it! Palm trees everywhere, awesome landscaping, just gorgeous.

The staff was excellent everywhere in the buffet areas and at the bars. We had privilege wristbands so we got all of the top shelf liquors and drinks so that was definitely a plus. I'm a beer girl and pretty much all they had was Corona Extra on tap except for at the Japanese restaurant they had a light beer. Not sure if it was Modelo or just Corona light but that was my favorite. I would have preferred a light beer everywhere we went, but hey, it was what they had, it was good and I drank all sorts of other drinks as well. The Japanese restaurant was delicious, Mexican was good, and the Italian restaurant was delicious but for some reason that one was very slow at bringing out our food. It may have just been our waiter at the time or time of night or something, but it took forever. Good food there though as well.

If you go to this resort, it is definitely worth it to upgrade to a privilege room if possible, because you are entitled to free room service and you get to sit in a special area even in the buffets, where a waiter gets your drinks and anything you would like to order from the menu. It is great. If you don't have a privilege room, you can upgrade to a privilege wristband for $20 more a day. I definitely think it's worth it!

The buffet food was decent, better than some other places I have been to. But the food at the El Charro(Snack area) for lunch wasn't the greatest. I preferred breakfast and lunch in La Hacienda much better.

The only complaint I have from our experience is the smell of sewage outside in one or two areas of the resort. It was kind of gross but there are ways to bypass so you don't have to smell it.

Besides a few flaws, I thought it was a beautiful resort and no place is perfect. We had an awesome time and it is a great place to just relax and enjoy the beautiful weather, which was perfect by the way. The ocean was a hop, skip, and a jump away from our resort too so it wasn't a long walk at all to the beautiful beach and ocean.

Not much night life at all, but always something going on in the theatre whether it be karaoke or a mini play or mariachi band. The music would usually stop before midnight though, so after that we would just drink near the lobby and talk with new people until 2 when the bar closed. Then we would go back to our room and drink, go to bed, or use the hot tub on our patio. The vendors came and sold stuff a couple nights a week which is nice too. You can barter with them just like you would in town. They never came into the resort during the day though and cannot bug you on the beach which was really nice.

All in all, it was a really good vacation and we had an awesome time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Privilege, Well worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelaW43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for such a good review, I am sure that it will be a great help for future guests. Also thank you for booking our Privilege program, which gives you that little extra to spoilt yourself during your vacation. Also, please note that we will take under consideration the points that needs improving and work on them.

We hope to see you very soon!

Kind regards

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband and I went to Ocean Maya in March 2011, and had the most wonderful time. The staff were friendly, the a la cartes were very good, and we didn't have a limit to how many times we could eat at any of them.
Its true about reserving pool loungers very early in the morning, and both pools were fantastic. The beach was OK, we aren't beach lovers but the staff did work hard at keeping it clean. In fact, the whole resort was immaculate. They work very hard at doing so.
This isn't a party resort, though the staff did try hard at entertaining the younger crowd by taking them out on the town, and ensuring they made it back to their hotel safe and sound (this was impressive, as the staff was back to work 1st thing in the morning).
I would definately go back to Ocean Maya in a heart beat. Its was truely an amazing vacation, and a trip to be remembered.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SheepyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for writng your opinion on tripadvisor. Thank you also for the nice words about our resort and the staff. It is a pleasure for us to make your holidays a memorable time!.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This hotel was amazing, we all had a great time we all wish we were still there, if you a a beach person this isnt the place for you. The water was rough and dirty, but the pool was great... Food is great the mexican restaurant is to die for so its a MUST try!!!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank johana-g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you posting you review on tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
21.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
19.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $168 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing