We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Location and Great Value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Melissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Melissa
Ranked #14 of 175 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location and Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just got back for 10 FANTASTIC days in Playa and Casa Melissa. Usually we do 5 days all- inclusive and 5 in a smaller hotel. This trip we did all 10 here. Great hotel, very clean and always smelled fresh in our ocean view room #254. Yes the beds were hard, but doable. The room was spacious. Our refrigerator worked wonderfully, it has a little freezer compartment that held a 2 1/2 gal zip loc bag full of ice. Our room had a safe, although friends in the lower lever did not. There is a coffee maker in the room, note you will only get 1 packet of coffee, they will charge you .70 for any others upon request, no more are left. We are picky coffee drinkers anyway, so we had brought our own coffee with a french press, which worked perfect warming the water thru the mr. coffee. Our A/c worked so good the 1st night was like a meat locker. The reviews about the TP is true they leave no extra, so I would get additional rolls from the cart or desk. The pool while we were there did lose sun at around 3:15, so if you want more sun, just move to the beach. The beach bar just north called WahWah was great, had great music and a fabulous Pig roast on Sundays. The bar just north of WahWah was cheaper and you could still hear the band.
Every one at the hotel was very friendly, Victor was the best!!
This hotel is right across the street from the local park, where cultural events /shows were always happening.
I highly recommend this hotel, for$$ it is well worth it. Nothing fancy, but new and clean, with a friendly staff.
Suggestions to the hotel: add the additional roll of TP so a quest doesn't run out, make sure to always leave clean wash clothes, 1 for EACH guest in the room, and the addition of a trash can in the room would be nice, the quart size can in the bathroom is WAY too small.

Room Tip: Ocean view was on the 2nd floor with a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnicerocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    69
    14
    4
    9
See reviews for
51
85
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmer City, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I have been to the Riviera Maya area 7 times and we have always stayed at all-inclusive resorts. We wanted to try a non all-inclusive hotel this time so we could try out some of the hundreds of restaurants in Playa Del Carmen and hopefully save some money. I've been looking for 2 or 3 years for a downtown hotel that was close to the beach, clean, safe and affordable. While searching Trip Advisor and Expedia, I found Casa Melissa. It is hidden on a side street between the shops, so it isn't noticeable. It is beautiful inside and I highly recommend it. Of course, everyone has different tastes.

If you read the other reviews of Casa Melissa they all say basically the same thing and most are true. We stayed in room 354 and it is considered ocean front and faces east. Some rooms are ocean view and face either north or south. Our room was located in a newly built addition as everything looked nearly brand new. We had a huge palm tree blocking our view of the ocean, but we decided to live with it since we won't be in the room much anyway. I believe our room was the only one with a tree directly in front of it. You should also know that there is a grassy, weedy lot between the hotel and the beach that is definitely an eyesore. I was told by a local businessman that it is owned by a man who refuses to clean it up.

We had a coffee maker, but you supply your own water, filters and coffee. We had a small safe and a hair dryer that I wasn't expecting after reading other reviews. Maybe the older rooms don't have the safe and hair dryer, but our room did. It also had a refrigerator that looked brand new and kept our drinks ice cold and did not leak as someone else had experienced. There were 6 electrical outlets in the room, plus another one outside on the deck. Lighting was also very good in the room. We could sit on our deck and still get the WiFi signal which was very convenient. Sometimes we got WiFi in the room, but don't expect that.The hotel also has an elevator if you don't like using stairs. We also didn't notice any odors while in our room.

The hotel will supply you with nice beach towels if you give them a deposit. I believe we gave them $40US for two towels and we would exchange them for fresh ones every day at the front desk. We purchased our own drinking water at the OXXO store just up the street. Despite what one reviewer said, the hotel does not refill your water bottles with purified water. I asked and the receptionist said they did not do that. The maid left toilet paper when our roll got low despite what one traveler reported. Our sheets, blankets and bath towels were new and clean, although I did see a couple rust spots on one towel. The water pressure is weak and even stopped once for a little bit while my wife was showering. I suppose there was too much demand all at once, but it came right back on. We struggled to take a hot shower as did one other guest that I talked to. We finally figured out the problem. The knob is backwards from what we are used to, so If you come here, try turning the knob both directions and give it plenty of time for the hot water to get there. The shower was slow to drain, but we just lived with it. Our room was cleaned and the beds were made every day. The floors in the hotel were swept and mopped regularly. The staff was courteous and spoke English well enough to communicate with us.

The beach is only a few steps from the entrance of Casa Melissa and my wife and I went to Wah Wah beach club nearly every day. It is the closest beach club to Casa Melissa and the beach chairs are free, but they appreciate it if you purchase something to eat or drink. The other beach clubs charge to use their chairs. The Wah Wah beach club is the source of the loud music you hear while staying at Casa Melissa. They have live bands on a regular basis in the evenings from 7 until 10. It can be a bit loud on the deck, but with the door closed we could shut out most of the music.

I did not know what to expect before I arrived at Casa Melissa, but I was very impressed. It is every bit as nice as most of the hotels in the USA and I will probably go there again, although I've spotted some other hotels I might like to try too. I've tried to answer some of the questions that I had before going there. I hope this review helps someone, as I personally rely heavily on reviews.

Room Tip: Avoid room 354 because of the tree and stay on the third floor for the best view of the Caribbean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C0RNUC0PIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is my second time in Casa Melissa hotel first time was last year for my honeymoon and we enjoy very much that's why we come back this year.
The hotel is nice simple on a very good location with nice view.
The rooms is big enough, the bathrooms also nice but smell very very bad.
The staff is friendly but last year was a girl there under the name Carla she was the best.
There is not wifi on the rooms that's a bit sad because you have to go to lobby all the time.
The pool is very small but you have the sea so it's not necessary to use it.
Generally we enjoy so much here in casa melissa hotel so if we come back in playa del carmen
this is for us the best option.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panosaeolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked an "ocean view" studio room but were dissapointed that this was a side facing room overlooking the main walkway to the sea front and a noisy (in daytime) park. There is only a small (2 ft) balcony and you can see the sea if you walk out and look left. Apparently the rooms obverlooking the pool and beach (which is beyond fenced off wasteland) are "Ocean Facing". Buyer beware!
As described by others, the hotel is in a central location and as such is in a downtown setting which gives rise to security concerns. The rooms do not have a safe for passports, valuables etc and reception cannot help. The room doors have a basic simple key access and in the evening/overnight there appears to be only one person on reception and is often away from the desk showing people to rooms etc.
Our room was quite large and clean with the exception of the toilet that had a permenant third world toilet smell.
Air Conditioning was very effective. The only problem is that it is very noisy and the fan switches on and off overnight,
We had a coffee maker in the room with one sachet of coffee and one polystyrene mug. There are no hotel catering facilities but plenty of cafes offering breakfast nearby. Ther is a cafe next door that was always open at 07:00 until very late.

Room Tip: Get an ocean facing room. These overlook the sea and have a good sized balcony that you can relax in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

this hotel is very nice choice if you can find a room for a good price. we booked the room for a good price though the hotel seach portals, but we wanted to extend the stay another night while we were there, but becasue it crossed into a period they considered "high season" they wanted 4 times the price we paid originally per night. needless to say we didnt decide to stay the extra night.

The hotel is located really close to the beach, maybe 20 metres from the door just across the small square to the sand. A few minutes more walk anbd you reach the ferry port to reach the island of cozumel. The ADO bus station is just around the corner (there are 2 bus stations so check which staion you arrive - the alternate bus station is about 10 - 15 minute walk with heavy luggage). if you need to go and buy some water/beer etc, walk up the hill (a couple of minutes past the big tourist shop on the corner) and visit the oxxo (small local supermarket) and get the water / breakfast cakes for half the price found in the tourist shops.

The hotel is really quite nice and looks quite fancy (from our budget concious price point) but the pool is rather quite small and unappealing when you have such a nice beach nearby. the wifi struggeld to reach inside our room on the third floor which we found annyoing since the router was rather close meaning we spent some time sat on the stairs. The room itself was large, with a huge wardrobe and dome in the ceiling. this was matched by the massive bed. seriously the bed was huge! not the most sturdy, as it was quite creaky, but we were happy to have so much space. the bathroom was ok, nothing too special. As we had an ocean facing room we also got a view over the square from our small balcony, which is quite loud when everyone is outside having a good time (there is a bar next door but didnt disturb us much). The only real dissapointment was the small fridge which was a bit leaky when turned on making a small puddle of water in the room.

We only spent a few nights here, but we really wanted to extend the stay, but unfortunately due to "high season" (somehow somewhere between christmas and new years it changed) we couldnt. Highly recommended if you want a nice beach / partying holiday if you can get a room for the good price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was in the hotel with my family past week. We had a pleasant stay overall. The hotel was clean, very well located close to the 5th avenue, bus station and ferry station.

One thing they can improve are the towels, some of them have stains, we asked for a replacement and we got it kindly. The pool is very small but the rooms are big with refrigerator inside of the room.

I'd be glad to come back to Casa Melissa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Himer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ok, every country is different, so understanding who is supposedly serving you goes a long way in making your stay enjoyable. Casa Melissa is newish hotel, it has maintences issues, ie sliding doors that don't slide that well, toilets that don't refill etc that can occur in every hotel. The catch is what you do about it. At the Casa Mellisa the staffs approach is there is no problem if you don't raise it. So raise it. Secondly don't expect it to be fixed to your standard or within your time frame (here is the catch) unless you tell them exactly how you want it fixed and when. Example: The sliding door to the balcony does not lock (we see this as security and safety issues, small children) can you fix it please? This means to the staff whenever you feel like it. If you add politely this is not acceptable and we want to change rooms now, then they will move you. Our first room had this issue and few others and we were upgraded to a better room. Once in, unless you specifically ask and tell them exactly what you want you will be left alone.

Some thing to note bed linen gets musty if left for extended periods. If your room has not been used in while ask for fresh linen or it will take on the typical tropical musty smell which can be a bit unpleasant and a bit overwhelming, especially during the wet season.

Generally always Check the toilet, hot water, aircon, fans, remote controls, door locks, linen before whoever shows you to your room, so things can be addressed then and there on the spot. Beds are comfortable but firm.

If anything remember this and you will be fine. Ask and you will receive( be specific).

Water
If you want water as non is provided an oXXo is 150 metres west which is cheaper than the big souvenir shops, however once you have empty bottle ask at reception if they can refill it free of charge, which they do.

The enterance from the street is small so keep an eye open.

The pool comprises of two 4 x 3 metre by. 80cm deep plunge pools joined by a 20m lap lane 1.32m deep. Great for kids. If you want towels for the pool ask at reception.

Food.
If you want cheap burittos tacos etc head west to the park vendors sell from carts for 30 pesos for big buritto without the hard sell of 5th Ave.

There is no food or beverage service at the hotel.

If your on a budget to get from playa del carman to Cancun by shuttle bus IE white mini van will cost you 30 pesos, expect to pay for an additional seat if you have alot of luggage. Shuttle buses are great, cheap and safe alternatives to coaches and expensive tours if you're a little independent.

Enjoy.

The rest is covered in other reviews.

All the best

Room Tip: Ask for an el Grande room. 253 has issues and is a standard room 251 is a good room though sliding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#123 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#126 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#94 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melissa

Property: Casa Melissa
Address: Ave. Juarez, entre 1ra y 5ta Norte | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Melissa 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Melissa has a privilege location right in the hearth of the famous 5th avenue of Playa del Carmen in the Riviera Maya. Casa Melissa offer spectacular ocean views from every room, ideal for those seeking for intimate yet moderate lodging in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Casa Melissa was fully renovated in 2011 and new building was added to extend hotel inventory to 32 rooms which are all connected to the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Melissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Melissa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing