We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great at all”
Review of Casa Melissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Melissa
Ranked #21 of 173 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great at all”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week for 5 nights and the experience wasn't that great at all. Although the location is good (right by the beach and on 5th ave in PDC) but other than that nothing was good. First, there is no Wifi in the hotel room as its only in the public area which actually is right by the front desk. For two days we did not have our room cleaned and they gave us the same bed sheet for 5 nights. Things became worse when our bathroom tub clogged and we had to remind them atleast 4-5 times to fix it plus we ran out of toilet paper in our toilet!!! YUCK So you can very well imagine the type of service and value you get here. The BIGGEST problem we faced was that nobody speaks English here. I would highly recommend anyone planning to stay at this place to think twice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aj060281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    72
    14
    6
    10
See reviews for
53
88
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place is a few minutes walk to the beach and the ferry dock to Cozumel and it is situated right in the town center, which makes it a perfect place to get around places in playa itself. We booked a room with a great deal from Orbitz for 1 night and really liked the clean, modernly designed, spacious room provided to us. Our room has a great view of the sandy beach, the pool however the noise can be a little unbearable. Wifi is available at the lobby only. The staffs told us sometimes they band at the bars could play till 2am, I hope you all are not light sleepers. While we were there, the band stopped playing at 11pm on Sunday, lucky us.

Room Tip: make sure u got a room that is further from the music scene if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelneat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Two steps from the beach - our room also had a beautiful ocean view!

Air conditioner and fan worked great, the staff was helpful and friendly, and the place was always spotless. The pool is small, but who needs it with the beach right there! Location is great - middle of the action but not at all loud at night.

We would definitely stay there again - highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We photograph many weddings in the Riviera Maya and needed a place to stay overnight after our event. I found Casa Melissa on a search online and booked because it was within our price range. I didn't expect too much because it was such a great value. But I was totally mistaken. It was recently remodeled so the hotel was modern, clean and friendly. The rooms were very spacious. It's steps away from the Quinta Avenida and there are traditional taco carts right in front for a taste of some authentic food. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: If you have a rental car, there is a parking lot nearby. You will have to walk a little with your l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancun Studios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed there with 3 other friends and we loved it. We were greeted by a an awesome polite young lady named Karla. The room was clean. We got clean towels when needed the location was great. The hotel would close at night but they had a security guard who would let you in. He was very friendly and courteous. Domingo was his name I believe. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Rooms are very small, but the location is great. Better for singles than couples, as there is not much room to move around.

Get for one night, if traveling through..

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms if they have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennybelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel opened up about 3 or 4 months ago, so everything looks pretty clean and new. We loved the location of the hotel, it was not even a half of a block from the beach (we could see it from our room) and about a half a block from 5th Ave (the main street with the shops and restaurants). The staff for the most part was very friendly and accommodating. We had to check out of the hotel by noon but our bus didn't leave until midnight and they let us keep our luggage at the hotel so that we didn't have to drag it around. The area of the hotel was pretty quiet too. You could hear some noise outside in the evening but not a whole lot. The only thing that we were disappointed with was that when we booked the reservation on Expedia, it said that we would have a King size bed. When we got there they gave us a room with two doubles and because of the fact that it was Holy Week, they didn't have any other rooms available. Oh, the other thing is that one of the days that we were there, they forgot to clean our room and since we didn't get back until late in the evening, the cleaning staff had already left. However, they did bring up clean towels and new bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. The pool was not much, but we knew that when we reserved the hotel. Overall, it was a great place and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torilizber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#97 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#95 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#128 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melissa

Property: Casa Melissa
Address: Ave. Juarez, entre 1ra y 5ta Norte | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Melissa 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Melissa has a privilege location right in the hearth of the famous 5th avenue of Playa del Carmen in the Riviera Maya. Casa Melissa offer spectacular ocean views from every room, ideal for those seeking for intimate yet moderate lodging in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Casa Melissa was fully renovated in 2011 and new building was added to extend hotel inventory to 32 rooms which are all connected to the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Melissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Melissa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing