We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little place!!”
Review of Coffee Stop

Coffee Stop
Ranked #95 of 1,287 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: We're a small independent coffee shop selling Mexican coffee. The beans are from Chiapas and toasted and blended here in Playa. We have light food to accompany your hot or cold coffees and teas. From filled bagels and croissants to light salads and delicious cakes and cookies. Sanctuary just a block and half from the busy 5th Avenue and right in the centre of town. You can pop in for your coffee fix and a chat or grab one and run. We have a delivery service too if you need us! Free wi-fi and a smile. Hope to see you soon!
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great little place!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Wonderful coffee and great bagels! Why would you even think about going to 5th Avenue and getting your coffee from one of the so called 'Big-boys'?!
Paul makes you feel very welcome and is great for a chat while he's making you a fresh coffee. Met some nice locals in there too and found out some really useful information on Playa and the surrounding area.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hennster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    35
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Absolutely, positively, the best coffee shop in Playa. Paul and Felix are the definition of hospitality and the coffee and cake are perfect. You have to "Stop" in here and meet the locals and enjoy a coffee with friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CordeliaCale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Happily addicted”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I've found a true happiness in my daily commute to Coffee Stop, before and after my scuba diving trips. Paul the owner is genuinely nice and helpful, and his coffee is easily one of the best in my long years of caffeine addiction. The Argentinian cookies are also great, they compliment the coffee perfectly. This place is now a big part of my motivation to come back to Playa. The only downside is that the shop is too small to avoid interacting with every customer inside it, including the rude and obnoxious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank localhost8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic service & food”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

A great coffee shop a block away from the madness of 5th Ave. Excellent coffee, chocolate frappes & CAKE! Clean toilets, free wi fi & owner speaks both english & spanish. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for sweets and coffee”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I always have a great experience when I visit and I try to explore the menu. Thus far, I can say I haven't been disappointed. I've had the coffee and definitely enjoyed it; the chocolate cake is out of this world and Paulie is very accommodating when I ask for a glass of cold milk to accompany it.
He's always up for a chat and the service is phenomenal.
I enjoy the place so much that the wife and I make it a point to go back and say hi and continue to explore their menu.
Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeGeesSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Stop also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coffee Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing