We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveler rating
228
177
83
27
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
177
83
27
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mamitas beach front desk beach towels small hotel third floor lobby area ave noise quinta pdc jungle
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 553 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

We were just there for a transit night before heading to Cozumel.
The staff was very nice.
The hotel is clean and very well located - right on the 5th avenue and a block away from the beach.
Our room was facing the inner jungle so it was rather quiet: we could hear things going on from the reception. I would still recommend it for a short stay for the location and cleanliness.
Be aware that it is a good 20min walk to the ferry contrary to what you could believe just by looking at google map.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Adeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaMariposa, Director of Sales at Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear Ms. Adeline,

First of all thank you for choosing Posada Mariposa for your quick stay in Playa. We appreciate your comments very much and hope to have the privilege of having you with us again. Should you require any assistance do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
Sales Director
Hotel Posada Mariposa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is so charming. It feels very authentic and it's like you are stepping into a jungle. Our suite was right on 5th avenue and we could hear music and people, but nothing too bothersome. The hotel was clean and the staff was overall kind. They don't go out of the way but they will do what you ask of them. The discount at mamitas beach was nice and they gave us new beach towels everyday. The breakfast location across the street was good, quick, and service was awesome. We would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MonroeJE1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

Oldish hotel, very nice and friendly receptionist (annahi i think), she is passionate about providing all needed info's.
Breakfast is served in a very nice restaurant in front of the hotel..
Noise can be a bit loud at night but that s what you get if u want to stay on the 5th avenue.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank mister21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

I do not recommend this hotel; some staff are really nice, but there a man that have super bad customer service, we are not allowed to have visits in our room, even they aren't sleep in. And if you want to have visit, they have to pay, but this is the ridiculous thing, we try to pay and the gentleman of the front desk says "is not hours to have visits" and the manager says that is like a hospital, they have hours for visiting. Are you freaking kidding me? We were in Playa del Carmen on 5th avenue! They don't give us "permission" to have a visit, AGAIN, WE TRY TO PAY AND REGISTER OUR GUEST. This hotel is like grandma's house. The manager Aldo say to us, don't interact or have any "relationship" with nobody. At this time I'm laughing at, but a few days ago it almost ruined or vacations. I really don't recommend it, next time we will try an apartment, local says it's better for the almost same price.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

If you want to sleep, then this might not be a great option. We got a room facing the street and the pizzeria opposite decided to blast the tunes until 2am at night. I really didn't like Playa, and this was right in the middle of the nasty side of the town.
Short walk to the beach however, and the staff bent over backwards to make up for the terrible night.
Unfortunately, the noise wasn't the only problem. In our suite, only one room had air conditioning, making half the suite uninhabitable in the Yucatan heat.

Room Tip: Not on the street!
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaamil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews