We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best LIVE music, beachside ! Lotsa Blues and yum BBQ ribs ! To boot !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wah Wah Beach Bar

Wah Wah Beach Bar
Ranked #72 of 1,242 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wah Wah Beach Bar\Restaurant\Club is located right in front of the Caribbean Sea, on one of the nicest stretches of beach in Playa del Carmen. With the biggest grass roof and sandy floors, you cannot miss us! We offer a great selection on our Menu which includes Brick Oven Pizza, in house roasted Ribs, Chicken and Sausage, Fresh Seafood, Stuffed Hamburgers, Wings, Sandwiches, Salads and so much more. Wah Wah Beach Bar is fast becoming famous for their 130 peso ($8.20 USD), all you can eat Pig Roast Buffet on Sundays. We are a live music venue with bands playing every Thursday through Sunday, shows start at 7 pm. (Wah Wah is home of The Nasty Bstards Band!!!) *COCKTAIL AND BEER BUCKET SPECIALS DAILY2 X 1 Pizza Free Beach ChairsFree showersFree WiFiVery Kid Friendly (and kids menu)
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best LIVE music, beachside ! Lotsa Blues and yum BBQ ribs ! To boot !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Discovered this place upon opening over one year ago. Have been back several times in 3 visits for Procer and The Nasty B-tards. WED is Procer. Aaaaaaaaawsome Geeetar. Nasty B-tards as well is, on THU and SAT. All danceable. Quite ! Discovered their BBQ ribs this year ! Yum ! Prolly been here 12 times in 3 visits over a one year plus visit ! Get here !! XO, Elle ~

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleHettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    156
    39
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA Wis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited Wah Wah's 2 times on vacation did there Sunday buffet it was excellent and the price was nice. Great food had chicken wings 1 night husband had a burger it nice and big. They have bands that play there and they are right on the ocean tables outside to sit at and if you get to hot hit the ocean. We loved it there, stop by and see for yourself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cozyUSAWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST BEACH BAR IN PLAYA...BY FAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were recently in Play del Carmen for the months of February and March. We spent the majority of our time on the beach at Wah Wahs. Simply because it is the best. The food was great...we had nearly everything on the menu. The chicken natchoes were our favorite! the best meal that we had in Playa was the Sunday all you can eat pig roast buffet at Wah Wahs. What a great and delicious spread of food it was. Ernesto and Roberto were great servers on the wonderful wide white sandy beach. The atmosphere was always great with the live music in the afternoons with cold $2.00 Sol Draft Beers. Free beach chairs were a plus and very clean restrooms as well. Dont't miss the best Beach Bar in Playa!!! JJ the owner and his staff will make sure that your stay was as good as ours was..we will definitely be back. Thanks Dan and Alice, Scottsdale, Az

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Az_Iguana_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“onion rings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

service was good we had onion rings my husband loved them !!!! music was a little loud hard to talk, but nice atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday on the beach all you can eat BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

There is really nothing more that can be said. Went for the BBQ. Stayed all afternoon. Great staff attentive and not pushy. The Chef served BBQ himself. Very pleasant man. Great music and vibe. As another reviewer mentioned and I will second The Wah Wah Beach Club has THE CLEANEST BATHROOMS ON THE BEACH. Possibly in all of PDC. The manager came around to ensure every table enjoyed themselves. A nice touch. Obviously has worked in the industry elsewhere and brought those elements to the beach. A great combination. If you are in Playa for a day a week, or a month you owe it to yourself to check out Wah Wah Beach Club.

Oh yeah. One more thing. Free wifi. ;)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Still_Waters406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wah Wah Beach Bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Wah Wah Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing