We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it can possibly get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #30 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I had been looking into getting a fancier, more exclusive resort. We had checked the Sandals, but decided for the Blue Diamond instead as it is smaller and seemed even better. Our expectations were high, but they were blown away by everything we got there. First, the resort is GORGEOUS: mangroves, lagoons and cenote, manicured landscapes while maintaining the jungle feel, buildings are modern yet warm and the pool looks like it belongs in a magazine. The rooms are all amazing, we had a Palafitos suite right across from the pool and breakfast restaurant (personnally I think these are the best located suites, close to both restaurants and beach, except perhaps for the beach suites), on the upper floor with a huge rooftop balcony, great comfy bed and nespresso machine (we would ask for ristretto coffee and they would bring plenty for us).

The beach is great by Riviera Maya standards; you hit a few rocks a couple feet in, but then it only sand. You will never need to look for a chair; there's always plenty to be found, and someone will even set it up for you.

Our concierge was fantastic and would come to see us every day to make sure things were good and to let us know of things going on (unfortunately for the resort this employee no longer works there as he was an A1 employee). Service was exemplary all around (except for one morning where for some reason the bosses were trying to do the waiters jobs - and failed!), waiters were always spot on, especially at the ones at Ambar. Most nights we had the same waiter who really took good care of us, would bring us little extras (like a cheese platter) and one night even surprised us with a musician who came to our table and played a romantic song on his guitar (I wish I'd written this review before so I could remember his name!).

The food - the food!!! We are montrealers, so we are used to great food, and amazing restaurants. This was just as good - and sometimes even better - than good Montreal bistros. The duck magret was simply the best I've ever had, the salmon was a kind of perfect I didn't know existed, and the chicken pasta was surprisingly fantastic. The soups were absolutely perfect every night, I've rarely enjoyed soups this much. We thanked the chef and we let him know how much we enjoyed the food, and one evening he made us a little something special for our appreciation and gratitude. Breakfast was also very good, but the only time we were not impressed with food was at Ceviche; we were hoping for really good ceviche but it was underwhelming. The rest of the food at Ceviche was just normal resort food, nothing to rave about.

We went to workout twice (great gym) and also got spa treatments twice which were really good (we tried the Egyptian skin). You have a good walk to do go all the way to the lobby unless you take a golf cart ride; personnally I enjoy walking and it allowed me to get a bit of jogging before my workout.

The trip was not perfect, but issues were very few. Our A/C was leaking on our bed after day one and they came to "fix" it, but it didn't do much; we called a second time on a really hot day where it leaked again and finally a few employees came and REALLY fixed it properly, even repainting the patch. No issues after. The beach could really use a couple more umbrellas; everyone wanted one and there was never enough; the poor employees had to sometimes bring it down from the pool in order for us to have some shade. It's not a huge investment but will make people a lot more happier.

Also, I know that for most people free wifi everywhere is great news, but it also has its downsides; on the beach we had to tell people on two different occasions to take their loud calls elsewhere as they were bothering people (one was litteraly working ON the beach yelling at his assistant about a deal). We're on vacation people, we don't want to hear you work! My boyfriend and I never use our phones at the table as we find this to be very impolite to each other, but clearly most people don't have problems with ignoring each other at the table; everywhere, people were noses in their phones, barely talking to each other, even sometimes while eating. Even at night! You guys are in paradise and all you can think of doing is facebooking instead of cherishing this time you have and make things good with your significant other? Sad. So perhaps there shouldn't be wifi at Ambar, at the very least? People clearly need to disconnect, it will be very healthy for them...

Either way, this was absolutely fantastic, and we'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic, but if you want to walk the least amount to get everywhere you need, book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nefertiti42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

my boyfriend and I visited the Blue Diamond last year and have been dreaming about returning ever since...it's an incredible, luxurious, boutique hotel with gorgeous beach and facilities. Sure, there's only two restaurant locations on the property...but that never bothered us too much, we were too busy relaxing. As New Yorkers always on the go- it was the perfect break. thank you Blue Diamond!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's amazing how your first overall impression of a place begins to change the longer you're there. From the outset, there is a sense of refined elegance. The check in process is almost zen like. But then, reality sets in, which is not to say this is a run of the mill resort, it's just that the luster began fading quickly.

It started with arrival in our room to discover the air conditioning didn't work. No problem, we would be moved to another room in a matter of a few minutes. Of course there is no such thing as a few minutes at a resort, especially one this large. The grounds here are magnificent, and expansive, i.e. get ready to do some serious walking or bicycle riding if you need to visit the gym or the spa (both outstanding) or even further, the main reception area and boutique. By the way, if you do enjoy walking, keep an eye out on the path for golf carts and bike riders, some of whom are somewhat oblivious to the fact that "there's people walking here !"

And then there's the pool area and adjacent restaurant, both which seem good from far, but are, sadly, far from good. To be fair the restaurant is pretty good, especially for an all inclusive. It's just that after a few days, it's Club Med syndrome all over again, where everything starts to taste like everything else. Not their fault, just a fact of staying longer than a few days at a resort. And not just here but at high end resorts as well. In fact, at Las Ventanas in Cabo, arguably the best resort there, the food offerings are the weakest part of the experience.

The most disappointing part of the Blue Diamond was the pool area. It's loud, it's crowded, and if you happen to get a group of drinkers at the bar, chatting each other up, the peaceful whistlling of the wind and the sound of the ocean surf in the distance will just be wistful memories. Then again, if partying around the pool is your thing, you'll feel right at home here, especially toward the end of the week when a lot of people seem to come down for two or three night stays.

In the end. I wanted to like this place more, but too many little things take their toll over the course of a week. Unavailable bikes, staff who don't call back or show up when they're supposed to, room changes that are overlooked, etc. Value wise the Blue Diamond is an excellent choice, it's just that I wanted a little bit more ... every day.

Room Tip: If you can stay in a palafito overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Diamond Riviera for six nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon! The resort was absolutely beautiful, from the moment we drove through the Jurassic Park like doors, we were greeted with genuine kindness and hospitality by all the staff.

The resort itself is a stunner, the rooms are all spacious and have a very luxurious design to them, even within the most common rooms. If you're trying to decide which room, I would recommend staying in the cenote rooms, the upgrades will put you closer to the pool towards the end of the resort closest to the ocean but quality of the rooms will remain the same - all gorgeous! Additionally you have access to bicycles (upon request) and escorted rides on golf carts to take you around the resort.

The food was beyond our expectations - you'll find no buffet here! They have menus that change daily, offering a large variety of options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are there places to eat on resort - Ceviche Cha Cha Cha, Aquamarina, and Ambar. The Ambar restaurant is the only one with a dress code and is a nice choice for dinner on a fancy dress up night! For regular dinner I would recommend Aquamarina, the menu is great here and restaurant is on the ocean and near the pools. Ceviche is open for the afternoon and has great snacks/lunch choices that is more basic. I recommend the cheese sticks and wings were awesome!

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this resort, and although quiet during our stay, it was a lovely and romantic getaway. We rented a car and were able to do day trips to Cozumel, Tulum, and Playa del Carmen. (I would highly recommend Tulum - Mayan ruins!)
Coming back to Blue Diamond after our outings was wonderful, the room was always air conditioned and cleaned thoroughly everyday.

A special thank you to Javier for his highly thoughtful service at the pool bar, always surprising guests with funny coconut animal drinks and served with a big smile! Please be kind and tip well, it's amazing how the servers, bartenders, and staff were able to work under the heat with all black on all day, dealing with the different needs of guests.

Happy traveling!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Vallapa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in the spring of 2014. The resort is very clean and well maintained. Spacious rooms, awesome food, professional performances during dinner time in Ambar restaurant. Very friendly and attentive personnel. People at concierge desk are trying to read your mind and often successfully. The spa is awesome - very clean and well maintained. As many times as we were there we didn’t see more than a few people. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing place, if you don’t like crowds, crying kids, loud people with microphones in the pool, this is a place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This resort was amazing ,we stayed for 10 nights in a patio suite which has a plunge pool and jacuzzi ,the suite was beautifully furnished .i just want to say from the start that we had various little problems but the staff sorted these out immediately and efficiently,all the staff worked very hard to make your stay special and they definately succeeded. The staff make the holiday special from the reception staff and the manager Gabriella to the house maids, waiters ( David and cesar) ,they all work very hard
We did have a few issue,s but these were sorted out very efficiently and very quickly
Beach was very nice
We thought there was a good choice of food at both the aquamarine and Amber resturant and cooked to a high standard,I think you can find fault in anything and anyone but why bother looking when you stay at a hotel like this
Very short review but this was an amazing place with amazing staff and we had an amazing time,can't wait to go back

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited in the spring of 2014. I have been to Playa Del Carmen several times and this was the first visit to Blue Diamond. From what I understand, this used to be the Mandarin Oriental and now is Blue Diamond. I have nothing but great things to say about our trip. We had a great room (as large as a small home) that had a private pool as well as outdoor tub. We were treated very well during our stay and the food was excellent. Sitting at the pool or beach, we were catered to constantly and always with a smile. The resort also offers sailing and snorkeling which we tried and really enjoyed. We are huge fans of travelling for quick trips to Mexico to get away and have nothing but praise for Blue Diamond and Playa Del Carmen!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TG33139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,377 reviews
1 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,219 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,604 reviews
2.3 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#14 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $412 - $933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing