We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and peaceful honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #49 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful honeymoon”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Diamond Riviera for six nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon! The resort was absolutely beautiful, from the moment we drove through the Jurassic Park like doors, we were greeted with genuine kindness and hospitality by all the staff.

The resort itself is a stunner, the rooms are all spacious and have a very luxurious design to them, even within the most common rooms. If you're trying to decide which room, I would recommend staying in the cenote rooms, the upgrades will put you closer to the pool towards the end of the resort closest to the ocean but quality of the rooms will remain the same - all gorgeous! Additionally you have access to bicycles (upon request) and escorted rides on golf carts to take you around the resort.

The food was beyond our expectations - you'll find no buffet here! They have menus that change daily, offering a large variety of options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are there places to eat on resort - Ceviche Cha Cha Cha, Aquamarina, and Ambar. The Ambar restaurant is the only one with a dress code and is a nice choice for dinner on a fancy dress up night! For regular dinner I would recommend Aquamarina, the menu is great here and restaurant is on the ocean and near the pools. Ceviche is open for the afternoon and has great snacks/lunch choices that is more basic. I recommend the cheese sticks and wings were awesome!

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this resort, and although quiet during our stay, it was a lovely and romantic getaway. We rented a car and were able to do day trips to Cozumel, Tulum, and Playa del Carmen. (I would highly recommend Tulum - Mayan ruins!)
Coming back to Blue Diamond after our outings was wonderful, the room was always air conditioned and cleaned thoroughly everyday.

A special thank you to Javier for his highly thoughtful service at the pool bar, always surprising guests with funny coconut animal drinks and served with a big smile! Please be kind and tip well, it's amazing how the servers, bartenders, and staff were able to work under the heat with all black on all day, dealing with the different needs of guests.

Happy traveling!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vallapa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    283
    105
    47
    35
See reviews for
76
1,030
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in the spring of 2014. The resort is very clean and well maintained. Spacious rooms, awesome food, professional performances during dinner time in Ambar restaurant. Very friendly and attentive personnel. People at concierge desk are trying to read your mind and often successfully. The spa is awesome - very clean and well maintained. As many times as we were there we didn’t see more than a few people. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing place, if you don’t like crowds, crying kids, loud people with microphones in the pool, this is a place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This resort was amazing ,we stayed for 10 nights in a patio suite which has a plunge pool and jacuzzi ,the suite was beautifully furnished .i just want to say from the start that we had various little problems but the staff sorted these out immediately and efficiently,all the staff worked very hard to make your stay special and they definately succeeded. The staff make the holiday special from the reception staff and the manager Gabriella to the house maids, waiters ( David and cesar) ,they all work very hard
We did have a few issue,s but these were sorted out very efficiently and very quickly
Beach was very nice
We thought there was a good choice of food at both the aquamarine and Amber resturant and cooked to a high standard,I think you can find fault in anything and anyone but why bother looking when you stay at a hotel like this
Very short review but this was an amazing place with amazing staff and we had an amazing time,can't wait to go back

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited in the spring of 2014. I have been to Playa Del Carmen several times and this was the first visit to Blue Diamond. From what I understand, this used to be the Mandarin Oriental and now is Blue Diamond. I have nothing but great things to say about our trip. We had a great room (as large as a small home) that had a private pool as well as outdoor tub. We were treated very well during our stay and the food was excellent. Sitting at the pool or beach, we were catered to constantly and always with a smile. The resort also offers sailing and snorkeling which we tried and really enjoyed. We are huge fans of travelling for quick trips to Mexico to get away and have nothing but praise for Blue Diamond and Playa Del Carmen!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TG33139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed six nights at the Blue Diamond and had a really great time! We arrived at noon, although the official check-in is 3pm. After 15 min our room was ready and the hotel staff apologized multiple times, that we had to wait at all and that the it was not completely cooled down, as they only keep the air conditioning running in occupied rooms. We didn't mind at all, we don't like the US style inside freezing temperatures anyway.
We had one of the upper floor Laguna villas. The rooms are HUGE. Kingsize bed, sitting area, private outside balcony, huge bathroom with two separate showers and outdoor tub. Unless mentioned in other comments on this hotel, we could fill it ours erode, which we quite frequently did. We even arrived one night from dinner and found it already filled for us from the housekeeping staff.
The resort is really big. It is 1 mile from the lobby to the beach. On our first day we booked some of the free bikes at the concierge office, which has been our mode of transportation the entire seven days. Yes, the bikes could be newer, but they are ok for their purpose: they get you easily to and from the beach. We always walked to dinner bad back, but it took us only five minutes. Actually, we enjoyed that a lot, as you generally don't exercise that much during resort vacation.
The beach was not as nice as in Tulum, but compared to all the other hotels in the area (we walked appr one hour in every direction) it is by far the nicest.
Generally, the service was to our expectations. As in every place we stay, there are some people, that performed better than others. Our favorite waiter at the Aguamarine restaurant was Claudio. We really enjoyed talking to him. In general, we preferred the Aguamarine restaurant over the Ambar. It's atmosphere is nicer and you can watch the ocean while eating. For dinner they gave recurring menus: Mexican, BBQ, French. The Ambar Restaurant is more posh. They have the same menu all the time although they also have daily specials. The food was really nice, especially the tuna steak. We went there twice for dinner. In general, after having spent several days in various cities in Mexico, we really appreciated the high standard of food. We could eat anything without feeling sick or having problems: fruit, salat, seafood..

Really the only flaw we could see was tipping: after having read so much about it on tripadvisor, we specifically asked the concierge on our arrival day about it. He said it was not expected, as it was an all inclusive resort, but welcome in case of great performance at the end of the trip. We tried to do it that way, but as most of the guests seemed to tip all the time, we kind of felt obliged to do the same. We settled on a compromise and only tipped housekeeping once at the beginning, as well as the people, that have served us most and best during our stay only once.

A great plus of the hotel is the fact, that you can rent a katamaran and kayaks for free every day.

Overall, we had a really great time and would always go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannheim681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was a great resort choice for our destination wedding and honeymoon. We were impressed from our check in, through out the stay and our check out. The grounds were so beautiful, lush greenery at every turn. The beach are was nice and well maintained, perfect for relaxing or for long strolls. The all inclusive dining was most appreciated, no buffets and the food was outstanding! There were super healthy options as well as options for calorie splurging. The staff was friendly and most attentive. We also really appreciated the spacious patio room and the tranquil of the Blue Diamond offers. We enjoyed the Spa and the spa services!

We did request bikes at beginning of our stay which was helpful; we were able to bike ride to the restaurants and beach area.

If you are looking for a quality, quite and romantic getaway, I highly recommend the Blue Diamond.

Room Tip: We had the option to upgrade to the Palifitos room over the Patio Villa Laguna; after viewing both r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was the best resort I have ever been to. The pictures on the website are actually accurate. The rooms and facilities really do look that nice! We went in June which is evidently a low-travel time so much of the time we felt like we were almost alone, which is what we were looking for. The food was outstanding! No same-food-laid-out-every-day buffets here. Each meal is prepared professionally and deliciously and it tastes better than it looks. EVERYTHING! And the staff were wonderful, too! They weren't just courteous because it was their job. They actually enjoyed where they worked and took pride in what they did. We had several conversations with staff members, from the concierge, to the bartender and wait staff, to the guys working on the beach and they were all impressive. Special shout-out to Javier who works the bar by the beach. That guy is definitely a master at his craft! He never lets your glass go empty with his encyclopedic mind of drinks, each of them seemingly made just for you individually, and he's wonderfully fun to visit with while he does it. Gotta visit Javier! When you go, prepare to eat and drink like kings and to enjoy your stay. I would love to return someday!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,081 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
18.0 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing