We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #38 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

From the time we arrived to the moment we left, my girlfriend and I were continuously impressed with every amazing detail of this resort. The reviews and the pictures only begin to describe the perfection of this place. The grand yet simple elegance of the open-air lobby will immediately transport you to a serene far away world. Beyond you can call for a golf cart to take you around, use bicycles (we preferred to request for the length of our stay), or walk the winding paths though the resort covered by a shaded jungle canopy and beautiful landscaping. I'd recommend taking the time to check out every square inch of the resort as well as trying most everyhing on the menus - you will not be disappointed. Some of the little things that took our breath away ... the beauty of the spacious rooms (especially the open his/hers rainfall showers), the infinity pools, the modern and clean architecture/decor of the buildings and views throughout, the pristine beach, the live entertainment (especially the Mayan dance and reggae band), the interesting and different patio gardens, the meandering lagoon (Coco the crocodile can be seen around 4-5 near the Ambar restaurant) which runs the length of the property are just a few. Definitely a couples resort, this place afforded you privacy and 5-star attention at the same time. The staff was extremely professional and courteous, going to every length to make our stay unparalleled. After spending almost a week there, we felt like family and already miss them. Special thanks go to the two Cesars for attentively making sure our top-shelf drinks were always filled on the beach, to Roman the soft-spoken dinner waiter who always made us smile, to Jesus for making sure the umbrellas always provided us shade during breakfast, to Jose the kind and knowledgeable concierge, and to Omar, Fernando, and Prisciliano whose sincere attention was ever present and a wonderful compliment to the amazing food they always brought to us. It is evident the entire staff of this resort takes pride in their work and loves being there, and as a result, so did we! Without question, one of if not the best place I've ever stayed - the Blue Diamond was absolutely perfecto.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cs22203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for kind words and for mentioning those members of our team who made a difference and took a great part in creating an unforgettable vacation for you. We trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Everything we read about this place was accurate. We arrived with high expectations and Blue Diamond did not disappoint.

This is a mellow, couples-oriented place. Its not a loud, party place and not a family place... It seemed that all of the couples got the memo. Everyone was really peaceful and respectful of each other's privacy.

We were there for 8 days and the occupancy was less than 40%.... great for us. We would have mornings in the spa/gym and we had the whole complex to ourselves, except for the every attentive employees. Vitality Pool? Absolutely! Steam Room? Like nothing I have seen.

The restaurants and pool and beach areas were never full... we really lucked out... on our last day we could feel the nervous energy of some of the staff; a party of over 100 people were arriving for a wedding that would take place on the property two days later. While I am sure it was lovely, we were really happy to have such a calm, uncrowded experience while we were there.

We have been lucky enough to stay in some amazing hotels over the last 10+ years. Places where service is paramount and the rooms are incredible. I mention this only for context, Blue Diamond was one of the best if not the best place we have ever stayed, and we travel a lot!

I know its hard to compare a trip that I just returned from with past trips that I have loved that were taken 5-10-15 years ago... but even with that in mind, I would say Blue Diamond is up at the top of the list.

Quick example: we were married in Capri in Sept 2003. All along we had planned to return for our 10 year anniversary. We still have a little while to decide, but we both walked away from Blue Diamond thinking that we would rather spend our 10 year in Playa Del Carmen... no joke. This place is great.

Omar (all 4 of them), Jesus, Mariel... everyone was incredible. But the Ceviche/beach waiter Cesar.... he was amazing! So attentive without encroaching on our time there. I think that level of service is something innate.... I don't think it can be taught.

I could go on, but this review is already too long.

If relaxing, quiet, high service and comfort are criteria for your next trip, then you should visit Blue Diamond Riviera Maya.

Room Tip: What is not clear on their website is that this is a large, sprawling property. To go to the main po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chisaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

We appreciated the time that you have taken as well of your wonderful comments; it's a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable and met your expectations, and in particular our staff, I will be sure to pass it on to them. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back, hopefully in the near future.
kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We can not say enough good things about the Blue Diamond. From the time you enter the resort to the time you leave you feel whisked away. The resort, the rooms, the service, the food, the gym/spa, the beach all fantastic! We have never stayed anywhere with a layout like this... from the lobby to the beach it is a mile with rooms scattered all along the way. You can get around by beach cruisers, that they provide, or call a bellman to pick you up in a golf cart, which was always very quick. They have free yoga (which we enjoyed) a couple times a week as well as snorkeling (as the water was too rough). You can pick up a newsletter of the daily activities at the breakfast restaurant. They also had a band play durning lunch (about an hour and a half) at the pool a couple days - one Reggae and one Jazz, they were both excellent. If you are interested in any of the activities make sure you sign up upon arriving so they do not book up. The only one that was hard to get into was the sweat lodge.
We rented a car a couple of days and went to Tulum and Playa, both worthwhile. If you are intereted in exploring I would also suggest hitting a cenote or two (the concierges were great with recommendations both Omar and Jose). If you are going to rent a car it might be best just to rent at the airport and have it for your whole stay vs. renting from the hotel (as we had to go to their sister hotel down the road to sign up). If you are not renting a car I would suggest having the hotel provide transportation from the airport so you don't have to negotiate with the transport guys at the airport.
The only thing I could say negatives was that the bed was harder than we prefer. We find that to be pretty common on our travels to Mexico and that room service has a 20$ charge (however toward the end of our trip we found out that this may only be for certain hours - so ask)...neither would deter us from returning. We considered the Banyan Treen and the Viceroy but for the same price as just the rooms at those places we got food and drink (which were great). I am pretty sure that those places could not be that much (for the price difference) better than the Blue Diamond.
We had a great time and writing about it makes me wish I was there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Riberia suite which was great.. private, big with a separate sitting area on the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review, and for choosing to stay with us. We are committed to listen to our guests and be constantly trying to improve our services. We hope you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we booked a 4 night stay on jetsetter. this place is heaven. the staff is the kindest and most helpful we've ever met. the room (cenote suite) was breathtaking. the food was fantastic and the drinks were strong and good. this place is very romantic and very couples oriented. We got a great couples massage at the spa, enjoyed riding our bikes on the grounds, went kayaking and snorkeling and layed on the flawless beach. I don't have anything criticisms at all, we will definitely be back. it was PERFECT!

Room Tip: we stayed in a cenote junior suite and it was gorgeous with a beautiful view of the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCgirl885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted to know we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, hopefully in the near future.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Blue Diamond Riviera Maya for 7 nights between 4th October 2012 and 11th October 2012. This was our first visit to Mexico. We chose to stay in Playa del Carmen rather than Cancun and did not regret this decision. Having had a hustle-bustle holiday earlier in the year this holiday was booked with the view to chill and do very little. We’re pleased to say this is exactly what we got.

From the moment we arrived to the point we left, we had an amazing time and were stunned by the exceptionally high level of service from ALL the staff which was enhanced by the beauty of the hotel itself.

Architecture & Grounds – The buildings (Reception, Spa, Rooms, Restaurants, etc) are all very modern and contemporary and appear as if they have only been built a few weeks back. Everything is well maintained and you can see regular maintenance carried out from gardening to painting to the cleaning of the beach (which happens multiple times through the day). It is important to mention maintenance does not affect you or the ambience in any way.

Room – We first stayed in a Junior Patio Suite but then moved to a Patio Suite due to a slight mix up. Both rooms are great but the Patio Suite was huge and had an outdoor private plunge pool in addition to the outdoor bath tub. This was a very nice facility. Unlike other reviewers, we found the air-conditioning to be fine.

Food – We are both vegetarian and always worry about dining options when we go on holiday. By the second day of our stay all the staff knew what we did and did not eat. For breakfast, lunch and dinner we were given the choice of ordering off the menu or alternatives created by the chef and the restaurant staff, plus some personal requests. We never went hungry, in fact we probably put on a few extra pounds.

All-Inclusive – This was our first all inclusive holiday and being able to order off the menu rather than a buffet style was great. Plus the premium alcohol being included was brilliant. There was a large choice of drinks and the bar staff ensure you are never left with an empty glass. We suggest rather than ordering the same drinks off the menu, let the bar staff create a drink for you. It’s surprise and much more fun. The mini-bar in the room is topped up daily and there is ample choice of drinks. We found we didn’t touch the mini-bar too much as we tended to drink at the hotel bars and restaurants.

Adults only – With a choice of places to spend your day (by the beach, one of the numerous pools, by the cenote, spa, bar or your own room) not having any children running around was an added benefit and added to the overall serenity.

Staff and Service – From the first to the last point of contact the service from all the staff was exceptional. We had a little mix up with our original room category but this was sorted out and did not interrupt our holiday in any way. To mention all the staff would take too long and to be honest we couldn’t possibly remember all the names. But special credit to those we do remember are Rodelio, Victor, Zavier, Cesar, Gabriel (Chucho), Omar, Omar, Alexandra and the rest. We have to say we loved everyone but again special mention to Rodelio who bent over backwards to make sure we were happy and well fed.

Getting Around – The resort provide buggy’s that can be ordered to pick you up from anywhere on the resort. Good for when it is night time, too hot or when your feeling lazy. Plus you can reserve pedal bikes for your stay (at no extra cost) which is good fun as well.

Things to do - If you are looking for somewhere that is loud and lively with lots to do then this is not the place to stay. It is designed for R&R and is ideal if you are looking to get away from it all. We booked a one day tour of Coba and Talum to see some sights plus one evening we took a cab to 5th Avenue in Play del Carmen (200 pesos each way) and hit a few bars and a restaurant whilst we shopped there. Plus there is the Spa which is very modern and clean.

Complaints – So we don’t seem biased we figured we should put in a complaint as well as all the compliments. We once day order a buggy to take us to dinner and were told a buggy would be with us in 3 mins. We had to wait 4 mins. (Please note the sarcasm here. )

We’ve stayed in some amazing places throughout the world and would rate this amongst one of the best (if not the best) hotels we have stayed in. Until at Blue Diamond we always felt that with so many places to see and stay around the world you would never need to go back to the same place twice.

To all the staff we would again like to thank you again for making our stay truly amazing and we look forward to meeting with you again.

Jiten & Savita

Room Tip: Patio Suite was amazing with it's own private Plunge Pool in addition to the outdoor bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J17EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write your wonderful review, and for choosing to stay with us. It was great to read your review from beginning to end. Thank you very much for all the positive feedback and praise about our hotel, we pay special attention to detail, in particular our staff, I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to them. It is always important for us to hear all guest feedback as it allows us to continue to strive and exceed all of our guest’s expectations. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Blue Diamond Riviera Maya, hopefully in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband treated my mother and I to an amazing stay at this resort for our birthdays this year. It is a very peaceful and private resort with amazing personal service. This is not a large bustling hotel, it is quiet and tranquil. Nestled in the mangrove leading out to a beautiful private beach. Good quality linens and towels which were changed daily. The rooms are spacious and appointed with nice amenities such as a large walk in closet, flat screen TV, Ipod dock, dual shower and large bathroom vanity. Very clean, turn down service provided nightly. Private outdoor patio with chaise lounge chairs and table. The restaurant's food was very good, lots to choose from for an all inclusive. There was an up charge for wine and some spa services. A round of golf at a nearby course was included as well. The concierges were very helpful in setting up tee times and excursions to see the Mayan Ruins and to go to the Xplor park. The service staff was amazingly attentive. They called you by name and remembered your dining preferences. They did not pressure you for tips. While we were there we did not see any children at the resort. Moving around the resort was very easy, you could walk, ride a bicycle provided to you, or call a bellman to drive you in a golf cart. This resort is in a great location. It is 50 minutes away from Cancun, so if you are looking for exciting nightlife this is not the resort for you. It is 30 minutes from touring the Mayan Ruins in Tulum, 15 minutes away from the town of Playa Del Carmen which offers shopping, riding, and a public beach, as well as where you can take the ferry over to Cozumel. There are a couple of golf courses within minutes from the hotel, one of which is included in your stay. Leaving the resort requires some type of transportation, you cannot walk. So we rented a car, but there are shuttle busses and taxis available to you if you choose to leave the resort. I highly recommend this resort for anyone looking to get away, relax, and be pampered.

Room Tip: The rooms which state they have a private outdoor pool/tub. It is more like a hot tub without jets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Please allow me to express my sincere gratefulness for sharing with us this generous comments about our staff and our services. All of us at Blue Diamond are truly grateful for the honor you gave us to be host of your birthday. Thank you for your recommendations and we are looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've just returned from an amazing week at this resort, our main criteria for this trip was for a small resort, quiet, and quality. Blue Bay Diamond met this with ease, from when we first arrived and was greeted by a cold cloth and tasty drink to our fairwell hugs we had an amazing experience. Our room was well laid out and spacious, the terrace was semi-private with loungers, chairs, table and bath tub (ask for it filled early as there isn't any hot water). The 2 restaurants served food that was always hot, very tasty and plentiful, we'd read earlier that the portions were small but on a couple of occasions found that not to be the case for us. Our waiters paid attention to ever small detail even remembering after the first meal that I didn't enjoy cheese so prepared alternatives for the remaining week. Muchas Gracias to Gabriel, Manuel and the 2 Cesar's for looking after us, Cesar never allowed us to leave our deck chairs to fetch anything he always brought drinks and food before we even had to ask, Gabriel and Manuel provided a warm dining experience and ensured everything was perfect. When you're there you have to take in the Temazcal, it was an experience you'll not forget soon, we were surprised that it was in total 3 hours long, it felt much shorter. One afternoon there was a group of Mayan dancers that gave us a beautiful show, lot's of energy and very well done.
A couple of hints: if you're under 5'6" the bikes won't fit you, they're all full size male bikes, no step through for the ladies. Victor the "Quality control" person will warn you about all the time share salespeople you'll run into and the try to sell you a membership, you pay for nights and use them later. This was a bit of a low point for us as we'd very clearly stated we wanted nothing to do with any of that but got it anyway.
Something for the managers: plan the snorkelling trips for in the morning, having them at 2 p.m. is asking for cancellations, anyone who lives near an oceanm knows the waves always pickup later in the day and die down at sunset. On our trip all were cancelled and we were reeally looking forward to it. The private for hire ones were running but left early morning while the waves were still lower. Change the menu in the Ambar restaurant like you do in the aquamarine, the same menu three nights straight gets boring even with the great flavours.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pgpg5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you so much for posting a nice review for Blue Diamond. We appreciated the time that you have taken as well of doing constructive comments; we are committed to listen to our guests and be constantly trying to improve our services. We hope you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#61 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,669 reviews
18.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#37 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,328 reviews
18.0 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $383 - $970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing