We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, Fantastic Food and Superior Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #41 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel, Fantastic Food and Superior Staff”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just spent 1 week at the Blue Diamond and had an amazing experience. If you want a quiet, relaxing vacation and to be treated like royalty then stay here. The resort is small and very private however it is spread out so the staff picks you up and drives you around in golf carts. You also have the option of getting a bicycle or walking. There are two restaurants on the property and the menu changes daily and the food is fantastic. You cannot miss the Diamond Poached Eggs for Breakfast, Amazing!! What truly makes this resort stand out is the personal attention from the staff. They know you by name, your food preferences and drinks. Rodrigo the manager is fantastic and greets you each day. Jesus, Cesar and Omar took care of everything. A must go. One note: This is a place to relax and recharge. If you are looking for entertainment and partying - this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bargainbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    288
    108
    47
    35
See reviews for
79
1,085
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from a 6 night trip for our honeymoon (booked through Jetsetter to get a great package for $2,300 inclusive). Here's what we liked and what we didn't like:

Pros:
--property is absolutely stunning with lush greenery for privacy and beautiful modern aesthetic
--our room was huge (bigger than our apartment at home) and very clean and private (rooms face away from one another so we kept our curtains open all day to enjoy the jungle view) with outdoor plunge pool and outdoor bathtub (which we never used for fear of mosquitos)
--food at both Aquamarina, Ceviche (poolside), and Ambar was good
--staff was very accommodating
--the free bicycle rental was fun to ride around the property
--concierge and travel agency Best Day were always helpful in booking activities
--free Catamaran sailing and sea kayaks to take out on the ocean
--pools and all common areas were always immaculately clean and well kept
--entire property was very quiet with no street noise or noise carrying from pool area or other rooms
--spa was humongous and very quiet with few other visitors, and you could use numerous pools and showers (indoor and outdoor) as you pleased
--resort is really all inclusive with few other charges (except spa services, which are quite pricey) so you don't have to carry money or worry about hidden costs

Cons:
--for us, the service was almost too intrusive and we aren't used to being waited on hand-and-foot, so we would have preferred a bit more private time since we were on our honeymoon
[for example, we asked not to have nightly turn down and left our "do not disturb" sign on, then the concierge called to ask why we didn't want it--we eventually resorted to leaving the sign on nearly all the time because the maid service was twice daily and we felt uncomfortable being in the room; also, staff tried to get us to take golf carts everywhere even though we repeatedly refused and told them numerous times that we preferred walking/biking]
--because the staff is so eager to drive you around the resort on golf carts, the concierge called every single day to ask when we were going to dinner so they could send a golf cart, even though we repeatedly told them we didn't need a ride
--sometimes there was a slow lack of communication between reception, housekeeping, maintenance, and concierge that led to them calling us multiple times with the same questions
--some things that were supposed to be included in our honeymoon and Jetsetter packages never happened, such as the free snorkeling trip (said they were waiting to hear from the Coast Guard about when it was good for snorkeling, but never got back to us, although they did offer to take us out privately at our convenience if we wanted); honeymoon couples' cocktail reception also never happened as advertised in honeymoon package
--some features weren't available such as "ice fountain" at spa too cool down between warm pools/showers
--felt a bit misled by resort's description of some features like "grocery/convenience store" that was really just a tiny shop that sold $20 sunscreen and Pringles (no other food)
--staff told us there was a coffee place called Cafe Brulee behind the reception area but it was literally just a self-serve Nespresso machine and some tiny stale cookies everyday
--while the food at the restaurants was good, we felt that both were too fancy and rich (especially Ambar) for everyday meals and would have really enjoyed a more casual option for dinner
--there is also no grab-and-go option for any meals or snacks, and we would have loved a place to get a quick continental breakfast since the sit down breakfast often took upwards of an hour and we had a tour scheduled at 8 a.m. one day but the restaurant didn't open until 7


Overall, we'd definitely recommend this place for honeymooners who want a quiet resort with good value, but we were bored after about day 4 and only left the resort once because we had already paid for the all-inclusive meals.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior patio suite with a plunge pool. It was very private, and they offered to upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank omoriala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

As in the other reviews, the resort ground is beautiful and the service impeccable!

The ala carte menu offers a good variety. Coming from NYC, I would say the food is decent but nothing mind-blowing. The portions are very generous though, and we usually couldn't finish our plate and left dinner much too stuffed.

We were there just after hurricane Ernesto, thus the beach was not exactly pristine. But that is Mother Nature's doing and nothing to do with the resort.

The complimentary bikes provided for use to go round the resort is great. Though we also use the golf cart service when we are lazy or too dressed for dinner. The bell boys arrive in a jiffy!

We stayed in both the junior patio suite and the patio suite. For the bigger suite, you not only get more space, you also get a separate private pool in addition to the plunge pool (which needs to be filled). The bathroom is much bigger (you get space for a ottoman in the bathroom) and you get Bvlgari toiletries!

All in all, faultless service from every staff makes the stay the most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ancyancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just got back from an amazing week at the Blue Diamond where we celebrated our one-year anniversary. From the moment the massive gates opened we were blown away with the beauty of the resort. Not surprising considering the property was a Mandarin Oriental resort before BlueBay bought it last year. We are well traveled but have never experienced such attentive and happy staff everywhere you turned. After 6 days, we felt like we got to know several of the staff well. And considering the hotel has a small number of rooms (under 130) they get to know you well. After a couple days, Omar and Gabriel knew what we wanted for breakfast before we sat down. Cesar never let a drink get below halfway and popped up at random times to bring a ceviche or little snack just when we needed one. And Omar C. was the best waiter at dinner;he really took the time to get to know us and made us feel like the most important VIPs all week long.

TripAdvisor reviewers have been a little all over the place regarding the food. First of all, its very good. The chefs get an A++ for coming up with high-quality, unique, creative dishes you would expect at a top restaurant anywhere. And there are plenty of choices. Now where I think the disagreement lies. We're from New Orleans so we know what a world-class restaurant tastes like. Sometimes the chefs hit gold; other times the food was simply good. There are just two restaurants (plus a third place for a light bite by the beach) but the food really impressed us and we always left more than satisfied. At dinner, each restaurant rotated so one was open every other night. One had a set menu, Ambar, and the other changed themes each night. Perhaps when the resort is busier both will be open.

Which brings us to the next point. The resort is so big and with so few rooms you feel you have it all to yourself. We love walking so it was about a 10-15 walk from most of the rooms down to the beach. I think we were the only ones that walked. Most people took advantage of the golf carts that passed every 2 minutes or rode bikes. The beachside casitas were ridiculous. We went into one but stayed further back in a patio junior suite. It really shouldnt be called "junior" because its larger than our first home.

Private plunge pool in a private backyard was a lot of fun. You have to call to have it filled but they came within 15 minutes and it filled in less than 10. Dual rain showers in the bathrooms. Large living rooms. It was beautiful.

We used the spa a couple times and were again blown away. Gorgeous fitness center with a great aromatherapy steam room. Indoor hydrotherapy pool was fun. And the masseuses were fantastic. Recommend you ask for the couples room which was stunning.

The concierge Victor was great at arranging everything we needed. They offer a pretty standard sales presentation to sell you membership in their vacation club. It was rainy so we did it. Upside -- we got a nice credit to use at the spa and saw all of the rooms during the tour; downside - pretty expensive and they indicated that prices are going to go up substantially from what we paid after the soft opening. Thats another thing. Apparently the resort is only in its soft opening and is planning to increase staffing and amenities (like adding a lagoon boat ride) but we didnt really notice a need for more staff.

And a special thanks to the general manager Rodrigo Ortiz. You can tell he really cares. We were hoping the only Ernesto we would meet was a bartender but unfortunately Hurricane Ernesto came our way. It made for about 24 hours of pretty vicious rain and wind. the GM took the time to brief us about what was going on and made a lot of quick decisions like keeping the spa open late, etc.... which made the time pass fast. At the end of the day, we extended the length of our meals, used the spa more than we typically would, and the hurricane was gone before we knew it.

Final thought -- theres not a lot to do here but relax. Great pools, great beach, you can ride bikes, use the spa, but thats about it unless you leave the resort. Its a place to eat, drink, relax.

One word of caution -- the free snorkeling trip is pretty do it yourself. The sites were beautiful but the random dude who picked us up on a boat that could have broken at any moment who didnt speak a word of english, who didnt have good gear to use left a little bit to be desired. The beauty of the sites made up for it, but if you have not snorkeled before or are not a good swimmer, perhaps stay away from this.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: if you can afford, beachside casitas are the way to go. the patio junior suites have everything you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N0LATravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I agree with all the positive reviews here.

1. Beautiful, BEAUTIFUL resort.
The way they maintain the nature, the way they appoint their rooms were simply the best. It was beautiful.

2. Great food.
I'm not sure if I agree that the food was on par with the 5 star restaurants in NYC, but still, it was great. I don't understand the complaints about the food in other reviews. Great food, great service, and great variety (I stayed for only 3 nights, so I guess if you stay for more than a week, it can be a little boring, but for me, it was good enough). I liked everything from breakfast and lunch at Aguamarina, snacks at Ceviche, and dinner at Ambar/Aguamarina.

3. Nice spa. The fitness facilities also looked great, but I never tried them.

4. Palafitos
I stayed at a Roof deck palafito, and it was great. Close to the beack/pool/food, beautiful rooms, great housekeeping, and awesome views of the river. The view from the roof deck is definitely worth mentioning too. I can see why air conditioning could be issue for some people, but for me, it was good enough.

5. SERVICE
Can't say enough about how great the service is. I loved everyone I met, and I cannot agree more about the previous reviews about the way the resort serve their guests.

6. BEAUTIFUL resort. Oops, did I already say that?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NY_Chr_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a very beautiful setting and is a great get away. We were with a group for a wedding with about 30 people, family and friends. The service was excellent and it could not have been more perfect for our group.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella C, Director de Recepción at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for this review, It was great to have all of you with us and be part of the this special event.
Thank you for having posted your experience with us and hope to see you soon in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Gabriella Cangiano
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I take about 4 vacations a year, so we have the opportunity to experience several resorts. First of all, this a perfect place for couples. It's very quite and peaceful. More importantly the Blue Diamond has the best service hands down. Everyone from the management to the maintenance personal were excellent. One day we got a little turned around and a maintenance gut noticed. He came over and asked what we were looking for then gave us ride. In all of my vacations I have never seen a staff that is so customer oriented. In my opinion the most important asset of any resort is their staff. This is the best staff/customer service we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sprig64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella C, Director de Recepción at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us, it is great to know that we fulfill your expectation and be sure we will share your comments with our staff.

Hope to see you back in the near future, it would be a pleasure to assist you again!!

My Best Regards,

Gabriella Cangiano
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
664 reviews
1.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,538 reviews
18.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,210 reviews
18.0 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
18.7 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing